11 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Laredo?
In short
A auto repair shop in Laredo, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Laredo Public Health Department charges $200 per tire business per year; $200.00 per mobile road-service unit for the tire business registration. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tire Business Registrationonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $200 per tire business per year; $200.00 per mobile road-service unit | 1 year, due by June 1 each year (section 15-64(a)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Spray Paint Booth Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office | $180 per booth | per booth; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 12-81 | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Business Registration | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residentialonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $400 per application, plus $10.00 to TCEQ | application expires 1 year from filing (section 31-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per application; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 28-50 | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit and Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per project; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 7-2 | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy) | City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per inspection visit (City Code § 12-82) | 2026-10-09 |
| Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)only if it applies to you | City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division | $60 per year | 12 months (section 21-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Laredo?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a auto repair shop in Laredo, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Laredo?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Laredo, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, City of Laredo Public Health Department, City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office, City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Laredo Building Development Services DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: New Business Registration, Sign Permit, Commercial Building Permit and Plan Review1120 San Bernardo Avenue, Laredo, TX 78040www.cityoflaredo.com
- City of Laredo Public Health DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Tire Business Registration, On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residential2600 Cedar Avenue, Laredo, TX · (956) 795-4900www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/health-department
- City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits OfficeIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy), Spray Paint Booth Permit1413 Houston Street, Laredo, TX · (956) 794-1633www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/fire-department/fire-permits
- City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)1102 Bob Bullock Loop, Laredo, TX 78043 · (956) 727-6414alarms.cityoflaredo.com
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Laredo that other businesses do not?
2 of the 2 permits particular to a auto repair shop here apply to no other business type we cover in Laredo: Tire Business Registration and Spray Paint Booth Permit.
Tire Business Registration
Under Laredo Code section 15-60, every tire business and mobile tire repair road-service unit with a permanent establishment in the city must hold an annual permit from the Health Department. Section 15-64 sets $200.00 a year whatever the number of employees, $200.00 for each mobile road-service unit and $10.00 to replace a registration, due by June 1 each year. The registration and inspection report must be posted at the premises, and tire disposal manifests kept for three years (section 15-62). The Health Department's Permits and Fees page lists the same $200.00 fees and says tire shops must be signed off by the building and zoning officials. An auto-repair shop that does not sell or service tyres is outside this registration.
Spray Paint Booth Permit
Laredo Code section 12-81 Exhibit A lists spray paint booths under the Fire Department's permits at $180.00 per booth (fee schedule last amended by Ord. No. 2024-O-211, 28 October 2024). It applies to body shops and other auto-repair businesses that operate a spray booth; a mechanical repair shop without a paint booth has no booth permit. Exhibit A also lists operating without a permit at the permit fee plus 150 percent of the permit fee.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Laredo, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Laredo permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Laredo?
The closest match is a childcare centre, which shares 0 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Tire Business Registration and Spray Paint Booth Permit. A childcare centre needs Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit), Public Health Safety (Environmental) Inspection — Child Care and Child Care License, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 0 | 2 | 7 |
| Retail stores | 6 | 0 | 2 | 6 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 15-64, Fees (tire business registration program)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Public Health Department — Environmental Health Permits and FeesCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Public Health Department — New Fee ScheduleCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Code of Ordinances Chapter 12, Article IV, Fire Prevention Fees (sections 12-81 to 12-83; Ord. No. 2024-O-211, 28 October 2024)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Fire Department — Permits OfficeCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
