15 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Laredo?
In short
A retail store in Laredo, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Laredo Building Development Services Department charges $25 per ride, per year for the amusement ride permit. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amusement Ride Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | $25 per ride, per year | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit) | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $129–$386.50 per year, by gross annual food sales | 1 year, expiring 15 August (section 13-40(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Street Vendor's Permit (public streets, outside the Central Business District)only if it applies to you | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $100 per year, plus $20.00 vendor picture ID | 1 year (section 28-106(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Mobile Vendor License | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | $50 per application | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Vending Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | $100–$500 per permit, by whose property | 6 weeks, one renewal | 2026-08-25 |
| BYOB Venue Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | $150 per location, per year | 1 year (section 5-18(a)) | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Business Registration | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residentialonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $400 per application, plus $10.00 to TCEQ | application expires 1 year from filing (section 31-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per application; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 28-50 | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit and Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per project; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 7-2 | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy) | City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per inspection visit (City Code § 12-82) | 2026-10-09 |
| Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)only if it applies to you | City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division | $60 per year | 12 months (section 21-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Laredo?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a retail store in Laredo, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit): $129–$386.50 per year, by gross annual food sales
Vending Permit: $100–$500 per permit, by whose property
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Laredo?
Permits for a retail store in Laredo, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, City of Laredo Public Health Department, City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office, City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Laredo Building Development Services DepartmentIssues 7 permits on this page, including Amusement Ride Permit, New Business Registration, Mobile Vendor License1120 San Bernardo Avenue, Laredo, TX 78040www.cityoflaredo.com
- City of Laredo Public Health DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit), Street Vendor's Permit (public streets, outside the Central Business District), On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residential2600 Cedar Avenue, Laredo, TX · (956) 795-4900www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/health-department
- City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy)1413 Houston Street, Laredo, TX · (956) 794-1633www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/fire-department/fire-permits
- City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)1102 Bob Bullock Loop, Laredo, TX 78043 · (956) 727-6414alarms.cityoflaredo.com
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Laredo that other businesses do not?
1 of the 6 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Laredo: Mobile Vendor License.
Mobile Vendor License
$50 to apply. The application itself is the substantial part: vehicle registration and VIN, proof of vehicle insurance, proof of commercial general liability insurance, a signed indemnity holding the city harmless, and a fire inspection report where the fire marshal deems one applicable. Under City Code § 18-34 this license covers mobile vendors of goods other than food; food sales from a vehicle fall under the Health Department's rules and, since 1 July 2026, the state's mobile food unit permit. Adopted in 2021, the most recent of the Chapter 18 provisions recorded here.
BYOB Venue Permit
Under Laredo Code sections 5-11 and 5-12, an establishment that is not licensed by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission and lets patrons bring their own alcohol onto the premises, or dispenses alcohol free of charge after 10:00 p.m., needs a BYOB venue permit from Building Development Services for each location; restaurants, private clubs, theatres and residences are excluded. Section 5-14 sets a $150.00 non-refundable fee and requires a criminal background check on owners and managers, a security plan meeting the Police Chief's minimum standards, scale drawings showing where alcohol may be consumed, and commercial general liability insurance of $500,000 per occurrence and $1,000,000 aggregate. The permit runs one year, and a renewal filed outside the 90-to-45-day window is treated as a new application (section 5-18).
Shared with other businesses in Laredo
- Amusement Ride Permit — City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, $25 per ride, per year, 1 year. Also required for fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit) — City of Laredo Public Health Department, $129–$386.50 per year, by gross annual food sales, 1 year, expiring 15 August (section 13-40(b)). Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Street Vendor's Permit (public streets, outside the Central Business District) — City of Laredo Public Health Department, $100 per year, plus $20.00 vendor picture ID, 1 year (section 28-106(b)). Also required for food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Vending Permit — City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, $100–$500 per permit, by whose property, 6 weeks, one renewal. Also required for food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Laredo, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Laredo permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Laredo?
The closest match is a food truck, which shares 2 of these permits. A retail store also needs Amusement Ride Permit, Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit), Mobile Vendor License and BYOB Venue Permit. A food truck needs Mobile Food Vendor Permit (State), which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food trucks | 3 | 2 | 4 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 2 | 4 | 2 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 2 | 4 | 5 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 5 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 1 | 5 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 6 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 6 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page, restaurants page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Laredo Code of Ordinances Chapter 18, Licenses, Permits and Miscellaneous Business RegulationsCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 5-14, Permit application (BYOB venues; Ord. No. 2022-O-121, 1 August 2022)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
