6 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Laredo?
In short
A contractor or trade in Laredo, TX has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Laredo Building Development Services Department charges $60 per year for the general contractor and subcontractor registration. 2 of the 6 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General Contractor and Subcontractor Registration | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | $60 per year | 1 year, renewed on or before the anniversary date (section 7-25) | 2026-10-09 |
| Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $110 non-refundable application | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Business Registration | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit and Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per project; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 7-2 | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Laredo?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 6 records listed for a contractor or trade in Laredo, TX, 2 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $60.00. That is a floor, not a total. 2 of the 6 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all.
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Laredo?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Laredo, TX come from 3 separate offices: City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Laredo Building Development Services DepartmentIssues 3 permits on this page: New Business Registration, Commercial Building Permit and Plan Review, General Contractor and Subcontractor Registration1120 San Bernardo Avenue, Laredo, TX 78040www.cityoflaredo.com
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Electrical Contractor License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
What does a contractor or trade need in Laredo that other businesses do not?
2 of the 2 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Laredo: General Contractor and Subcontractor Registration and Electrical Contractor License.
General Contractor and Subcontractor Registration
Under Laredo Code section 7-21, every general building contractor and subcontractor, including mechanical, electrical, plumbing, framing, concrete, masonry and roofing trades, must have an approved registration on file with Building Development Services before doing construction, alteration or remodelling work in the city. Section 7-28 sets an annual administrative fee of $60.00, from which licensed electricians and plumbers are exempt. The application must include a criminal history background check from the Laredo Police Department, which carries its own fee, and section 7-29 requires commercial general liability insurance of at least $300,000 per occurrence and $300,000 general aggregate. Registration runs one year (section 7-25).
Electrical Contractor License
Texas licenses no general contractor - there is no statewide builder license. Individual trades are licensed instead: electrical, plumbing and HVAC, each under its own programme. The $110 is the application fee. Published renewal figures conflict between $110 and $165 depending on license subtype, so no renewal amount is recorded until a reviewer confirms which applies.
The other 2 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Laredo, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Laredo permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Laredo?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs General Contractor and Subcontractor Registration and Electrical Contractor License. A auto repair shop needs Tire Business Registration and Spray Paint Booth Permit, which a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 0 | 2 | 7 |
| Retail stores | 6 | 0 | 2 | 6 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Laredo Code of Ordinances Chapter 7, Article II, Registration of General Contractors and SubcontractorsCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Building Development Services — Permit Applications/RequirementsCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Apply for a New Electrical Contractor License - TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
