21 published records
Business licenses and permits in Laredo, Texas
Laredo runs a single new-business registration (its fee is printed differently in City Code § 18-23, Ordinance 2024-O-107 and the City's January 2026 application form, so no amount is shown here) that is the gate everything else passes through: zoning, building, right-of-way, the environmental engineer, historic preservation, the health department and the fire department each have to approve before a certificate of occupancy issues. That makes the $50 misleading as a budget figure — it is the price of starting the process, not of completing it. Street and lot vending is priced by whose land you stand on, $100 on your own and $500 on someone else's, which is the widest own-property premium in this dataset. Laredo's fees are codified in Chapter 18 rather than published as a departmental schedule, and the city website is at cityoflaredo.com, not laredotx.gov.
What are you opening in Laredo?
- RestaurantsFull-service restaurants carry the densest permit load of any small business: food, fire, occupancy, waste, and usually alcohol.See the full permit list
- Coffee shopsCafés are permitted as food service establishments even where no cooking happens, and the plan review step catches most operators by surprise.See the full permit list
- Retail storesRetail is the lightest common permit load, but the sales tax permit and the certificate of occupancy are non-negotiable in every jurisdiction.See the full permit list
- Salons and barbersPersonal care is licensed at state board level as well as locally, so the shop license and the practitioner licenses are separate obligations.See the full permit list
- Food trucksMobile food is the one category with no certificate of occupancy — but it gains a commissary agreement, and the unit itself is inspected rather than the premises.See the full permit list
- Fitness studiosPrepaid memberships trigger state registration and often a surety bond, which catches operators who budgeted only for the fit-out.See the full permit list
- Childcare centresThe heaviest permit load of any small business: state agency licensing, per-person background checks, and a stricter fire standard than ordinary commercial use.See the full permit list
- Contractors and tradesLicensed at state board level rather than locally, and the only common category with no premises permits at all — the bond is usually the long pole.See the full permit list
- Auto repair shopsOrdinary commercial permitting plus an environmental layer: waste oil, solvents and stormwater are each registered separately.See the full permit list
- Veterinary clinicsA state facility permit, controlled substances registration at both state and federal level, and a medical waste manifest — none of which a general business license covers.See the full permit list
Permits that apply to every type of business in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Business Registration | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Three City of Laredo documents state different amounts for this application, so no single figure is given. Laredo Code section 18-23 (Ord. No. 2012-O-154), as codified on Municode through Ord. No. 2026-O-92, reads $50.00, and $50.00 for a change of name. Ordinance 2024-O-107, posted on the City's website, rewrites section 18-23 as $100.00 for a business under 2,000 square feet or $200.00 for one over 2,001 square feet, $50.00 for a change of name, $200.00 for a temporary certificate of occupancy and $20.00 for each copy of a certificate. The Building Development Services Business Application form (updated 01/2026) and the department's Permit Applications page list a $200.00 Building Inspection Division fee and a $150.00 technology fee, citing Ordinance 2024-O-127, with the Fire Department inspection fee shown as to be determined. | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residentialonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $400 per application, plus $10.00 to TCEQ | application expires 1 year from filing (section 31-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Under Laredo Code section 28-50, a review fee per application of $20.00 (general, attached or banner), $30.00 (freestanding), $50.00 (animated) or $10.00 (reface), plus a permit fee of $0.55 per square foot (general) or $0.75 per square foot (animated sign or electronic message display), or a flat $30.00 to reface. Feather banners are $20.00 per location a year, and a special-event sign fee is $75.00 per event, per location. | per application; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 28-50 | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit and Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | By total valuation under Laredo Code section 7-2 (IBC section 109.2 as amended): $1,000.00 and less, no fee unless an inspection is required, then $50.00 per inspection; $1,001.00 to $50,000.00, $50.00 for the first $1,000.00 plus $4.00 for each additional thousand or fraction; $50,001.00 to $100,000.00, $260.00 for the first $50,000.00 plus $3.00 per additional thousand; $100,001.00 to $500,000.00, $360.00 for the first $100,000.00 plus $2.00 per additional thousand; $500,001.00 to $1,000,000.00, $1,160.00 for the first $500,000.00 plus $1.00 per additional thousand; over $1,000,000.00, $1,660.00 for the first $1,000,000.00 plus $0.50 per additional thousand. A plan-checking fee of one-half of the building permit fee is paid when plans are submitted; a new workflow instance is $200.00, $300.00 or $400.00 by original valuation; the third resubmittal is $200.00 and the fourth $300.00; expedited review is $1,250.00. | per project; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 7-2 | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy) | City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office | Under Laredo Code section 12-82, businesses that receive a satisfactory evaluation on the primary visit are not required to pay fire inspection fees; the fees are imposed on businesses that need a secondary or further inspection. Where a fee applies, section 12-81 Exhibit A lists: fire inspection $75.00; assembly occupancies $75.00 (under 300 occupant load), $125.00 (300 to 500) or $175.00 (over 500); daycare or similar $50.00 (licensed for up to 12 children) or $75.00 (over 12); beer and wine permit inspection $125.00. Exhibit A and section 12-82 set different charges for repeat visits, so no repeat-visit figure is shown. | per inspection visit (City Code § 12-82) | 2026-10-09 |
| Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)only if it applies to you | City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division | $60 per year | 12 months (section 21-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
What do these permits involve in Laredo?
New Business Registration
Laredo Code section 18-23, the City's posted Ordinance 2024-O-107 and the City's 2026 Business Application form each give a different fee for this application (the fee line sets out what each says), so no amount is shown. The process itself is consistent across them: under section 18-22 every new business must be reviewed and approved by the building development services department's zoning, building and right-of-way divisions, by the environmental engineer, by the planning department's historic preservation division, by the health department and by the fire department for fire code compliance, and only after all of them have signed off does a certificate of occupancy issue. The Building Development Services Permit Applications page says the Business Application is for move-in-ready locations only and is not for construction, alterations or remodelling, which go through a building permit.
On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residential
Laredo Code section 31-81(a) sets the on-site sewage facility application fee at $400.00 for any system other than a single-family dwelling ($200.00), payable to the City through the Health Department on application, non-refundable, with the application expiring a year after filing. Section 15-90 adds $10.00 for each permit to the credit of the TCEQ water resources management account. The Health Department's Permits and Fees page lists $400.00 payable to the City at application and $10.00 payable by check only to TCEQ for all non-residential systems. A business connected to the city sewer has no septic permit.
Sign Permit
Laredo Code section 28-22 requires a permit or written authorization from the building official before any sign other than an exempt one is erected, altered or refaced, including temporary signs and feather banners, and the official decides within fifteen business days. A sign permit is issued only to a person licensed and insured in the city (section 28-22(c)), so the installer, not the business, normally applies. Fees are from section 28-50 (Ord. No. 2017-O-044); the Building Development Services Permit Applications page repeats the $30 freestanding and $20 attached review fees and the $0.55 per square foot permit fee and says an active registration is required.
Commercial Building Permit and Plan Review
Laredo Code section 7-27 makes it unlawful to construct or alter any building without a permit from Building Development Services, and section 7-21 requires the contractor doing the work to hold a City registration. The valuation fee and plan-checking fees are from section 7-2 as last codified (Ord. No. 2025-O-149). Ordinance 2026-O-188, on the 21 September 2026 council agenda and posted in the City's Municode ordinance bank, amends other parts of section 7-2 and restates the commercial valuation table with the same figures. The Building Development Services Permit Applications page says projects needing two or more simultaneous department reviews go through the Avolve electronic plan review system, that an active general contractor registration is required for permit issuance, and that the Business Application is not used for construction or remodelling. Separate mechanical, electrical and plumbing permits are pulled by the licensed trades.
Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy)
Laredo Code section 18-22 requires the Fire Department to review every new business for fire code compliance before a certificate of occupancy issues, and the Building Development Services Permit Applications page says every certificate of occupancy and letter of completion requires a building final inspection and a fire inspection. Amounts are from section 12-81 Exhibit A (last amended by Ord. No. 2024-O-211), read together with section 12-82, which charges them only when a business does not pass on the first visit. The City's 2026 Business Application form shows the Fire Department inspection fee as to be determined under Ordinance 2007-O-036. The Fire Department Permits Office is at 1413 Houston Street.
Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)
Under Laredo Code section 21-79(a), operating an alarm system without a permit from the tax department is an offence. Section 21-81 sets the non-residential permit at $60.00 a year, non-refundable and valid twelve months, with renewals billed automatically thirty days before expiry; outstanding false-alarm fees must be paid before a permit is issued or renewed. Under section 21-82, the first three false burglary alarms in a permit year carry no charge, the fourth and fifth are $50.00 each, the sixth and seventh $75.00 each and the eighth and later $100.00 each. The Alarm Enforcement Division's FAQ gives the same $60.00 non-residential fee and registration at alarms.cityoflaredo.com. A business without a monitored alarm has no alarm permit.
Sources
Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Laredo Code of Ordinances Chapter 18, Licenses, Permits and Miscellaneous Business Regulations — Article V, Regulation for New Business Registration (Ord. No. 2012-O-154, 17 September 2012)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- Laredo Code of Ordinances Chapter 18, Licenses, Permits and Miscellaneous Business RegulationsCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- City of Laredo Ordinance 2024-O-107, amending Chapter 18, Article V (Certificates of Occupancy) and section 18-23 feesCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Building Development Services — Business Application Form (form updated 01/2026)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Building Development Services — Permit Applications/RequirementsCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 31-81, On-site sewage facilities feesCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 15-90, Fees and collection of fees (on-site sewage facilities)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Public Health Department — Environmental Health Permits and FeesCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Public Health Department — New Fee ScheduleCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 28-50, Permit fees (signs; Ord. No. 2017-O-044)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 7-2, Building code amendments — schedule of permit fees (Ord. No. 2025-O-149, 2 September 2025)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Ordinance 2026-O-188 (21 September 2026 council agenda), building, trade and zoning fee amendments — Municode ordinance bankCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Code of Ordinances Chapter 7, Article II, Registration of General Contractors and SubcontractorsCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Code of Ordinances Chapter 12, Article IV, Fire Prevention Fees (sections 12-81 to 12-83; Ord. No. 2024-O-211, 28 October 2024)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Fire Department — Permits OfficeCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 21-81, Fee for permit; duration; renewal (alarm systems)City of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division — Frequently Asked QuestionsCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
Who issues business permits in Laredo?
Permitting in Laredo is split across 5 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.
Laredo issuing agencies
- City of Laredo Building Development Services DepartmentNew business registration · Certificates of occupancy · Mobile vendor licenses · Amusement ride permits · Zoning, building and right-of-way review8 permits
- City of Laredo Public Health DepartmentFood establishment licenses and temporary food permits · Food handler certificates · Child-care environmental inspections · Public and semipublic swimming pool permits · Tire business registration · On-site sewage facility permits · Street vendor permits8 permits
- City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits OfficeFire inspections for new businesses and certificates of occupancy · Vent hood extinguishing system plan review · Spray paint booth permits3 permits
- City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement DivisionAlarm system permits · False alarm service charges1 permit
- City of Laredo Planning and Zoning DepartmentSpecial use permits · Zone changes · Conditional use permits1 permit
Other Texas jurisdictions we cover
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
