13 permits · verified 2026-10-09
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Laredo?
In short
A fitness studio in Laredo, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Laredo Building Development Services Department charges $25 per ride, per year for the amusement ride permit. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amusement Ride Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | $25 per ride, per year | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Public or Semipublic Swimming Pool Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $200 per pool, per year | 1 year from issuance (section 15-140(a)) | 2026-10-09 |
| BYOB Venue Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | $150 per location, per year | 1 year (section 5-18(a)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Health Spa Certificate of Registration | Texas Secretary of State | $100 per location, per year | annual | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Laredo
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Business Registration | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | not stated in the codified schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residentialonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Public Health Department | $400 per application, plus $10.00 to TCEQ | application expires 1 year from filing (section 31-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per application; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 28-50 | 2026-10-09 |
| Commercial Building Permit and Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Laredo Building Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per project; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 7-2 | 2026-10-09 |
| Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy) | City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office | Varies — formula on the Laredo page | per inspection visit (City Code § 12-82) | 2026-10-09 |
| Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)only if it applies to you | City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division | $60 per year | 12 months (section 21-81(b)) | 2026-10-09 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Laredo?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a fitness studio in Laredo, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all.
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Laredo?
Permits for a fitness studio in Laredo, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, City of Laredo Public Health Department, City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office, City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Laredo Building Development Services DepartmentIssues 5 permits on this page, including Amusement Ride Permit, New Business Registration, Sign Permit1120 San Bernardo Avenue, Laredo, TX 78040www.cityoflaredo.com
- City of Laredo Public Health DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Public or Semipublic Swimming Pool Permit, On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residential2600 Cedar Avenue, Laredo, TX · (956) 795-4900www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/health-department
- City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy)1413 Houston Street, Laredo, TX · (956) 794-1633www.cityoflaredo.com/departments/fire-department/fire-permits
- City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)1102 Bob Bullock Loop, Laredo, TX 78043 · (956) 727-6414alarms.cityoflaredo.com
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA), Health Spa Certificate of Registrationwww.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a fitness studio need in Laredo that other businesses do not?
2 of the 4 permits particular to a fitness studio here apply to no other business type we cover in Laredo: Public or Semipublic Swimming Pool Permit and Health Spa Certificate of Registration.
Amusement Ride Permit
$25 a year for each ride, non-refundable, renewed annually — so the cost scales with the number of rides rather than the size of the operation. Filed with the building services department together with the ride's most recent inspection certificate. A separate provision licenses amusement redemption machines at $1,050 per machine per year, with a further $1,050 to release each machine sealed for operating unlicensed; that is a different regime from rides and far more expensive per unit.
Public or Semipublic Swimming Pool Permit
Under Laredo Code section 15-136, every public and semipublic swimming pool must hold a permit from the health director, and each pool counts as a separate permit. Section 15-139(a) sets $200.00 per pool, issued after application and a satisfactory inspection, with $10.00 for a duplicate; the permit expires one year after issuance (section 15-140) and is renewed by annual application (section 15-141). The Health Department's fee schedule and Permits and Fees page list the same $200.00. A fitness studio without a pool or spa has no pool permit.
Health Spa Certificate of Registration
Texas law is direct about this: a person may not operate a health spa, or sell a health spa membership, without a certificate of registration. A health spa is defined as a business selling memberships that provide instruction in, or use of facilities for, a physical exercise programme — so an ordinary gym or studio selling memberships is inside the definition. Each location needs its own certificate and the fee is $100, original or renewal, effective for one year. The fee is rarely the real cost. Security must be provided for each location, and the amount is set by the total amount paid for PREPAID memberships at that location, not by how many members you have: $20,000 of security up to $20,000 of prepaid memberships, then $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, $40,000 and $45,000 in steps, reaching $50,000 once prepaid memberships pass $45,000. Two exemptions matter and are worth checking before you post a bond. A facility that does not require memberships longer than 31 days, does not charge an initiation fee and does not take recurring debits can be exempt. So can an established operator with more than $50,000 in assets per location, at least five years of stable ownership and no closure-related complaints, applying on Form 3006. Separately exempt from registration altogether: tax-exempt organisations, member-owned private clubs, businesses teaching only dance or aerobics, those providing only physical rehabilitation, entities operating under a state license, and school activities under the Education Code.
Shared with other businesses in Laredo
- BYOB Venue Permit — City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, $150 per location, per year, 1 year (section 5-18(a)). Also required for salons and barbers and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Laredo, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Laredo permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Laredo?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 2 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Public or Semipublic Swimming Pool Permit and Health Spa Certificate of Registration. A retail store needs Food Establishment License (Retail Food Operation Permit), Street Vendor's Permit (public streets, outside the Central Business District), Mobile Vendor License and Vending Permit, which a fitness studio does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 6 | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 3 | 0 | 4 | 3 |
| Restaurants | 7 | 0 | 4 | 7 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 4 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Laredo Code of Ordinances Chapter 18, Licenses, Permits and Miscellaneous Business RegulationsCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- Laredo Code of Ordinances section 15-139, Permit fees for public, semipublic, and private swimming pool/spaCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Public Health Department — Environmental Health Permits and FeesCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- City of Laredo Public Health Department — New Fee ScheduleCity of Laredo · primary source · retrieved 2026-10-09
- Frequently Asked Questions for Health Spas — Texas Secretary of StateTexas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
