Commercial Compliance Hub

10 permits · verified 2026-10-09

What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Laredo?

In short

A veterinary clinic in Laredo, TX has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Laredo Public Health Department charges $400 per application, plus $10.00 to TCEQ for the on-site sewage facility (septic) permit — non-residential. 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Laredo

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027only if it applies to youTexas Department of Licensing and RegulationNo feenot yet in effect — rules being written2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Laredo

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
New Business RegistrationCity of Laredo Building Development Services DepartmentVaries — formula on the Laredo pagenot stated in the codified schedule2026-08-25
On-Site Sewage Facility (Septic) Permit — Non-Residentialonly if it applies to youCity of Laredo Public Health Department$400 per application, plus $10.00 to TCEQapplication expires 1 year from filing (section 31-81(b))2026-10-09
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Laredo Building Development Services DepartmentVaries — formula on the Laredo pageper application; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 28-502026-10-09
Commercial Building Permit and Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youCity of Laredo Building Development Services DepartmentVaries — formula on the Laredo pageper project; the validity period is not stated in City Code § 7-22026-10-09
Fire Inspection (new business and certificate of occupancy)City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits OfficeVaries — formula on the Laredo pageper inspection visit (City Code § 12-82)2026-10-09
Alarm System Permit (Non-Residential)only if it applies to youCity of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division$60 per year12 months (section 21-81(b))2026-10-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Laredo?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Laredo, TX, 3 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $0.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all.

The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Laredo?

Permits for a veterinary clinic in Laredo, TX come from 7 separate offices: City of Laredo Building Development Services Department, City of Laredo Public Health Department, City of Laredo Fire Department, Permits Office, City of Laredo Alarm Enforcement Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a veterinary clinic need in Laredo that other businesses do not?

1 of the 1 permit particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Laredo: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027.

Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027

Texas does not currently register veterinary FACILITIES - only individual veterinarians are licensed. SB2155 gave the Board that authority for the first time, and rules are being written for a September 2027 effective date. There is nothing to file today, but a practice opening now should expect this obligation to arrive. Whether mobile and house-call practices fall in scope is still undecided.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Laredo, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Laredo permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Laredo?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027. A auto repair shop needs Tire Business Registration and Spray Paint Booth Permit, which a veterinary clinic does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Laredo, TX, compared with a veterinary clinic
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a veterinary clinicOnly a veterinary clinic needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops2012
Childcare centres3013
Coffee shops4014
Contractors and trades2012
Fitness studios4014
Food trucks3013
Restaurants7017
Retail stores6016
Salons and barbers2012

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Laredo permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Texas Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersTexas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners / TDLR · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.