Commercial Compliance Hub

17 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Killeen?

In short

A restaurant in Killeen, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Killeen Development Services charges $100 per structure for the commercial demolition permit. 7 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Killeen

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Killeen Development Services$100 per structurenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Lawn Irrigation Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Killeen Development Services$75 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Re-Roof Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Killeen Development Services$0.03 per square foot, minimum $50not stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Flood Plain Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Killeen Development Services$300 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
After Hours Inspectiononly if it applies to youCity of Killeen Development Services$200 for the first two hours, then $145 per hour or fraction of an hourper inspection2026-08-24
On-Premises Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Killeen Development Services$80–$120 individual or group signnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Landscape Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Killeen Development Services$220 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Food Dealer's PermitCity of Killeen Development Services$125 per permit, per yearone year2026-08-24
Tent Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Killeen Development Services$75 per permitper event2026-08-24
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to youTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission$2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewalevery 2 years2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Killeen

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Trade PermitCity of Killeen Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Killeen pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Remodel and Repair PermitCity of Killeen Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Killeen pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Killeen Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Killeen pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Killeen Development Services$90 per issuancedoes not expire; a partial or temporary certificate runs 30 days2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Killeen?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a restaurant in Killeen, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $215.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Re-Roof Permit: $0.03 per square foot, minimum $50

After Hours Inspection: $200 for the first two hours, then $145 per hour or fraction of an hour

On-Premises Sign Permit: $80–$120 individual or group sign

Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Killeen permits page and the TX state page.

Is Killeen expensive for a restaurant?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Killeen sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Killeen charges $90. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 4 charge less and 17 charge more.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Killeen?

Permits for a restaurant in Killeen, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Killeen Development Services, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Killeen that other businesses do not?

1 of the 10 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Killeen: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).

Food Dealer's Permit

$125 a year, with a $45 late fee, charged by Killeen Development Services. Read this alongside the county: Bell County Public Health separately permits retail food establishments across Bell County, priced by employee count from $300 for one to six employees up to $650 for 201 or more. Neither document references the other and the city publishes no environmental health page explaining how they relate, so confirm with both before budgeting for only one. On the evidence published, a Killeen restaurant should expect to hold the county health permit as well as this city permit.

Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)

Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.

Shared with other businesses in Killeen

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Killeen, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Killeen permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Killeen?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 9 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Mixed Beverage Permit (MB). A retail store needs Solar Panel Permit, Mobile Home Park License, Short-Term Rental Permit and 4 more, which a restaurant does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Killeen, TX, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Retail stores16917
Contractors and trades10644
Coffee shops4460
Fitness studios7463
Auto repair shops2280
Food trucks2191
Salons and barbers2191
Veterinary clinics2191
Childcare centres10101

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page, retail stores page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Killeen permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Development Services permit fees — Adopted Annual Budget, effective 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026City of Killeen · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.