15 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Lubbock?
In short
A contractor or trade in Lubbock, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 11 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety charges $75 per permit for the grit interceptor and oil/water separator permit. 11 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Lubbock
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Food Processing Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Environmental Health | $135–$205 per year, by floor area | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Grit Interceptor and Oil/Water Separator Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety | $75 per permit | per permit | 2026-08-24 |
| Contractor Registration | City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety | $0–$65 per year | 1 year, running 1 January to 31 December | 2026-08-24 |
| Flammable Liquid and LPG Tank Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office | $50–$300 per tank, install or removal | per permit | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Operational Permit and Occupant Load Signonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office | $30–$2,000 per permit, by type | per permit or per event | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning and Platting Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Planning Department | $50–$1,500 per application, by type | per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Public Infrastructure Plan Review, Testing and Inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Engineering Services | Plan review is the greater of a $100 minimum or the unit rate — $0.25 per linear foot of water pipe, $0.30 per linear foot of sewer pipe, $0.50 per linear foot of curb. Testing and inspection is a $200 administration fee plus $0.65 per linear foot of water pipe, $0.95 per linear foot of sewer pipe or $0.65 per square yard of pavement | per project | 2026-08-24 |
| Drainage, Grading and Cut-and-Fill Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Engineering Services | $25–$3,500 per review, by type and acreage | per review | 2026-08-24 |
| Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $110 non-refundable application | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lubbock
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Lubbock page | per permit; an expired permit renews at 50% of the original fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Lubbock page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Mechanical, Plumbing and Electrical Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety | Varies — formula on the Lubbock page | per permit | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Protection System Plan Review | City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Lubbock page | per review | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Lubbock?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a contractor or trade in Lubbock, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 11 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
11 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Processing Permit: $135–$205 per year, by floor area
Contractor Registration: $0–$65 per year
Flammable Liquid and LPG Tank Permit: $50–$300 per tank, install or removal
Fire Operational Permit and Occupant Load Sign: $30–$2,000 per permit, by type
Zoning and Platting Application: $50–$1,500 per application, by type
Public Infrastructure Plan Review, Testing and Inspection: Plan review is the greater of a $100 minimum or the unit rate — $0.25 per linear foot of water pipe, $0.30 per linear foot of sewer pipe, $0.50 per linear foot of curb. Testing and inspection is a $200 administration fee plus $0.65 per linear foot of water pipe, $0.95 per linear foot of sewer pipe or $0.65 per square yard of pavement
Drainage, Grading and Cut-and-Fill Review: $25–$3,500 per review, by type and acreage
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lubbock permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Lubbock?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Lubbock, TX come from 7 separate offices: City of Lubbock Environmental Health, City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety, City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office, City of Lubbock Planning Department, City of Lubbock Engineering Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Lubbock Environmental HealthIssues 1 permit on this page: Food Processing Permit1902 Texas Avenue, Lubbock, TX · 806-775-3000www.mylubbock.us/188/Environmental-Health
- City of Lubbock Department of Building SafetyIssues 5 permits on this page, including Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Mechanical, Plumbing and Electrical Permit1314 Avenue K, 1st Floor Annex, Lubbock, TX 79401www.mylubbock.us/923/Permits
- City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Protection System Plan Review, Flammable Liquid and LPG Tank Permit, Fire Operational Permit and Occupant Load Sign1515 E Ursuline Street, Lubbock, TX 79403www.mylubbock.us/589/Fire-Department-Permits
- City of Lubbock Planning DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning and Platting Application1625 13th Street, Lubbock, TX 79401www.mylubbock.us/636/Fee-Schedule
- City of Lubbock Engineering ServicesIssues 2 permits on this page: Public Infrastructure Plan Review, Testing and Inspection, Drainage, Grading and Cut-and-Fill Review1625 13th Street, Lubbock, TX 79401www.mylubbock.us/279/Engineering-Services
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Electrical Contractor License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
What does a contractor or trade need in Lubbock that other businesses do not?
1 of the 9 permits particular to a contractor or trade here applies to no other business type we cover in Lubbock: Electrical Contractor License.
Flammable Liquid and LPG Tank Permit
$300 per tank to install or remove a flammable or combustible liquid tank, and $50 per tank for LPG. The flammable liquid rate doubled in the October 2025 revision, from $150. It is charged per tank both ways, so decommissioning a three-tank forecourt is $900 — a real closing cost that is easy to leave out of an exit budget. An auto repair shop with a waste oil tank meets this on the way in and on the way out.
Electrical Contractor License
Texas licenses no general contractor - there is no statewide builder license. Individual trades are licensed instead: electrical, plumbing and HVAC, each under its own programme. The $110 is the application fee. Published renewal figures conflict between $110 and $165 depending on license subtype, so no renewal amount is recorded until a reviewer confirms which applies.
Shared with other businesses in Lubbock
- Food Processing Permit — City of Lubbock Environmental Health, $135–$205 per year, by floor area, not stated in the published material. Also required for retail stores and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Grit Interceptor and Oil/Water Separator Permit — City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety, $75 per permit, per permit. Also required for auto repair shops, restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Contractor Registration — City of Lubbock Department of Building Safety, $0–$65 per year, 1 year, running 1 January to 31 December. Also required for auto repair shops, restaurants, retail stores and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Fire Operational Permit and Occupant Load Sign — City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office, $30–$2,000 per permit, by type, per permit or per event. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Zoning and Platting Application — City of Lubbock Planning Department, $50–$1,500 per application, by type, per application. Also required for auto repair shops, restaurants, retail stores, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Public Infrastructure Plan Review, Testing and Inspection — City of Lubbock Engineering Services, Plan review is the greater of a $100 minimum or the unit rate — $0.25 per linear foot of water pipe, $0.30 per linear foot of sewer pipe, $0.50 per linear foot of curb. Testing and inspection is a $200 administration fee plus $0.65 per linear foot of water pipe, $0.95 per linear foot of sewer pipe or $0.65 per square yard of pavement, per project. Also required for retail stores and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Drainage, Grading and Cut-and-Fill Review — City of Lubbock Engineering Services, $25–$3,500 per review, by type and acreage, per review. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lubbock, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Lubbock permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Lubbock?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 7 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Grit Interceptor and Oil/Water Separator Permit and Electrical Contractor License. A retail store needs Food Establishment Permit, Temporary Food Permit and Sample Permit, which a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 10 | 7 | 2 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 5 | 4 | 0 |
| Restaurants | 11 | 7 | 2 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 7 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 5 | 2 | 7 | 3 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 8 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 8 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 8 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 9 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, coffee shops page, fitness studios page, veterinary clinics page and retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lubbock permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office Fee Schedule, revised 1 October 2025City of Lubbock Fire Marshal's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Apply for a New Electrical Contractor License - TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
