15 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Killeen?
In short
A contractor or trade in Killeen, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Killeen Development Services charges $100 per structure for the commercial demolition permit. 5 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Killeen
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $100 per structure | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Lawn Irrigation Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $75 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Re-Roof Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $0.03 per square foot, minimum $50 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Solar Panel Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $100 base fee plus $5 per panel, with plan review at $335 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Flood Plain Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $300 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| After Hours Inspectiononly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $200 for the first two hours, then $145 per hour or fraction of an hour | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Landscape Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Killeen Development Services | $220 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Construction Registration | City of Killeen Development Services | $80 per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Billboard Permit | City of Killeen Development Services | $375 per permit | annual registration of $60 per sign thereafter | 2026-08-24 |
| Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $110 non-refundable application | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Killeen
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Trade Permit | City of Killeen Development Services | Varies — formula on the Killeen page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Killeen Development Services | Varies — formula on the Killeen page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Killeen Development Services | $90 per issuance | does not expire; a partial or temporary certificate runs 30 days | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Killeen?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a contractor or trade in Killeen, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $545.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Re-Roof Permit: $0.03 per square foot, minimum $50
Solar Panel Permit: $100 base fee plus $5 per panel, with plan review at $335
After Hours Inspection: $200 for the first two hours, then $145 per hour or fraction of an hour
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Killeen permits page and the TX state page.
Is Killeen expensive for a contractor or trade?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Killeen sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Killeen charges $90. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 4 charge less and 17 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Killeen?
Permits for a contractor or trade in Killeen, TX come from 3 separate offices: City of Killeen Development Services, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Killeen Development ServicesIssues 12 permits on this page, including Commercial Demolition Permit, Lawn Irrigation Permit, Re-Roof Permit(254) 501-7762www.killeentexas.gov/207/Permit-Applications-Forms-Reports-Refund
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Electrical Contractor License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
What does a contractor or trade need in Killeen that other businesses do not?
2 of the 10 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Killeen: Construction Registration and Electrical Contractor License.
Commercial Demolition Permit
$100 per structure commercial, against $70 residential. Flat regardless of size or height, unlike San Antonio and Abilene which band demolition by storeys.
Re-Roof Permit
Three cents a square foot with a $50 floor. On a 20,000 sq ft commercial roof that is $600 — cheaper than Grand Prairie's 1% of work value but dearer than Abilene's flat $200 per roof structure.
After Hours Inspection
$200 covers the first two hours and each further hour or part of one is $145 — one of the steepest hourly after-hours rates in this dataset, against Pasadena's $70 for each hour past the first three. Worth comparing against closing for a morning.
Construction Registration
$80 a year to register as a contractor with the city. Cheap against Pasadena's $75 initial plus $75 annual with a $300,000 insurance requirement, and against Fort Worth's $168.75. A Construction Board of Appeals request is $275.
Electrical Contractor License
Texas licenses no general contractor - there is no statewide builder license. Individual trades are licensed instead: electrical, plumbing and HVAC, each under its own programme. The $110 is the application fee. Published renewal figures conflict between $110 and $165 depending on license subtype, so no renewal amount is recorded until a reviewer confirms which applies.
Shared with other businesses in Killeen
- Lawn Irrigation Permit — City of Killeen Development Services, $75 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Solar Panel Permit — City of Killeen Development Services, $100 base fee plus $5 per panel, with plan review at $335, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Flood Plain Permit — City of Killeen Development Services, $300 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Commercial Landscape Permit — City of Killeen Development Services, $220 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Billboard Permit — City of Killeen Development Services, $375 per permit, annual registration of $60 per sign thereafter. Also required for retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Killeen, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Killeen permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Killeen?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 8 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Construction Registration and Electrical Contractor License. A retail store needs Mobile Home Park License, Short-Term Rental Permit, Donation Container Permit and 5 more, which a contractor or trade does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a contractor or trade | Only a contractor or trade needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 16 | 8 | 2 | 8 |
| Restaurants | 10 | 6 | 4 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 7 | 4 | 6 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 2 | 1 | 9 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 1 | 9 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 1 | 0 | 10 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 10 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 10 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 10 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Killeen permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Development Services permit fees — Adopted Annual Budget, effective 1 October 2025 to 30 September 2026City of Killeen · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Apply for a New Electrical Contractor License - TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
