33 published records
Business licenses and permits in Grand Prairie, Texas
Mostly Dallas County, with parts of the city in Tarrant, Ellis and Johnson counties. Grand Prairie runs its own Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality out of City Hall and issues food permits itself, so a restaurant here files with the city rather than with whichever county it happens to sit in. Construction, zoning, sign and fire fees are all set in Article 22 of the Unified Development Code, so each of those carries a code section rather than a departmental price list; the health fees sit separately with the department.
What are you opening in Grand Prairie?
- RestaurantsFull-service restaurants carry the densest permit load of any small business: food, fire, occupancy, waste, and usually alcohol.See the full permit list
- Coffee shopsCafés are permitted as food service establishments even where no cooking happens, and the plan review step catches most operators by surprise.See the full permit list
- Retail storesRetail is the lightest common permit load, but the sales tax permit and the certificate of occupancy are non-negotiable in every jurisdiction.See the full permit list
- Salons and barbersPersonal care is licensed at state board level as well as locally, so the shop license and the practitioner licenses are separate obligations.See the full permit list
- Food trucksMobile food is the one category with no certificate of occupancy — but it gains a commissary agreement, and the unit itself is inspected rather than the premises.See the full permit list
- Fitness studiosPrepaid memberships trigger state registration and often a surety bond, which catches operators who budgeted only for the fit-out.See the full permit list
- Childcare centresThe heaviest permit load of any small business: state agency licensing, per-person background checks, and a stricter fire standard than ordinary commercial use.See the full permit list
- Contractors and tradesLicensed at state board level rather than locally, and the only common category with no premises permits at all — the bond is usually the long pole.See the full permit list
- Auto repair shopsOrdinary commercial permitting plus an environmental layer: waste oil, solvents and stormwater are each registered separately.See the full permit list
- Veterinary clinicsA state facility permit, controlled substances registration at both state and federal level, and a medical waste manifest — none of which a general business license covers.See the full permit list
Permits that apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change of Occupancy | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $100 average | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| New Commercial Building Permit | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $0.28 per sq ft finished, or $0.14 per sq ft for a shell building | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Remodel and Addition Permit | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $0.28 per square foot | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | $75 up to 50 sq ft; above 50 sq ft $100 plus $0.10 per sq ft; add $50 if lighted | grandfathered off-premise signs renew annually at $105 | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | 45% of the building permit fee | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $60 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Alarm System Permitonly if it applies to you | Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention | $50–$400 by number of devices | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
What do these permits involve in Grand Prairie?
Change of Occupancy
The schedule prints $100 and labels it "average", which is unusual candour in a fee table — treat it as the expected figure rather than a fixed one and confirm for your specific occupancy. Clean and Show, for utilities released so a space can be prepared or shown without occupancy, is $30 — the cheapest of any city covered here. A zoning verification or similar records request is $25 for each additional item requested under Sec. 22.2.9.
New Commercial Building Permit
Area-based rather than valuation-based, which makes it easy to estimate from a floor plan alone: $0.28 a square foot for finished commercial space and $0.14 for a shell. An interior finish-out is charged at the finished rate of $0.28. The new building permit fee is genuinely all-in — Sec. 22.2.19 states it covers building, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, fire protection systems and concrete work shown on the submitted plans, so the separate trade fees do not stack on a new build. Work done after the final inspection needs its own permits. Starting before the permit issues doubles every fee under Sec. 22.2.20.
Commercial Remodel and Addition Permit
$0.28 a square foot for remodels, additions and rehabilitation of commercial, non-dwelling structures — the same rate as new finished construction, so Grand Prairie draws no discount for working inside an existing shell. Unlike a new building permit, a remodel does not automatically include the trades: mechanical is $50, plumbing $60 and electrical $60 under Sec. 22.2.16.
Demolition Permit
$50. A house moving permit is the same $50, a temporary building permit $50, and a tank permit to install or remove is $25. Miscellaneous work not covered by another building permit carries a $20 minimum.
Sign Permit
$75 for a sign up to 50 sq ft, or $100 plus $0.10 a square foot above that, with $50 added if the sign is lit. A balloon sign is $50 and a unified signage plan $300. The enforcement side is unusually sharp: violating the sign provisions is a misdemeanour carrying a fine up to $200, but for PORTABLE signs the fine is $500 to $1,000 and the property is barred from displaying a portable sign for a year after conviction — and if the lessor is the one in violation, the lessor is barred from operating in the city for a year.
Commercial Plan Review Fee
45% on top of the building permit fee — the highest plan review rate of any city in this dataset, against 35% in Arlington, 25% in Waco and 18% in McAllen. On a 5,000 sq ft finished commercial fit-out that is roughly $1,400 in permit fee plus $630 in review. Refunds are narrow: Sec. 22.2.18 allows up to 80% back only where no work has commenced and the request comes within 180 days, and nothing under $50 is refundable at all.
Commercial Electrical Permit
$60 flat — no device counting, no service-size banding, which makes Grand Prairie among the simplest Texas cities to price electrical work in. Plumbing is also $60 and mechanical $50. These apply to work outside a new building permit; on a new build Sec. 22.2.19 folds them into the building permit fee. Re-inspection of structural, electrical, plumbing or mechanical work is $50.
Fire Alarm System Permit
$50 for 1-10 devices, $75 for 11-25, $150 for 26-99, $200 for 100-199 and $400 at 200 or more. Other fire detection systems are a flat $50. As with sprinklers, the count is what drives the fee, so the estimate comes off the device schedule rather than the construction budget.
Sources
Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Unified Development Code Article 22: Fee Schedule, last updated 2 September 2025City of Grand Prairie Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Fire Department Permit, Review, and Inspection FeesCity of Grand Prairie Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Who issues business permits in Grand Prairie?
Permitting in Grand Prairie is split across 4 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.
Grand Prairie issuing agencies
- City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental QualityHealth permits for food establishments · Temporary food establishment permits · Itinerant food vendor permits · Grease interceptor requirements · Special event and alcohol permits11 permits
- City of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsBuilding permits · Change of occupancy · Electrical, plumbing and mechanical permits · Demolition and parking lot permits10 permits
- City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development DepartmentZoning applications and specific use permits · Concept plans · Platting · Sign permits · Special event permits · Floodplain permits8 permits
- Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire PreventionFire sprinkler and alarm system permits · Commercial kitchen hood suppression · Hazardous materials and flammable liquids permits · Fire protection system inspection4 permits
Other Texas jurisdictions we cover
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
