9 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in El Paso?
In short
A salon or barber in El Paso, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department charges $110 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 3 of the 9 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a salon or barber in El Paso
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Operational Permitonly if it applies to you | El Paso Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office | $125–$205 per license, by hazard | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | $78 per license period | two years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in El Paso
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the El Paso page | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the El Paso page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | $110 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | $115 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in El Paso?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 9 records listed for a salon or barber in El Paso, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $188.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 9 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Operational Permit: $125–$205 per license, by hazard
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the El Paso permits page and the TX state page.
Is El Paso expensive for a salon or barber?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — El Paso sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: El Paso charges $110. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 11 charge less and 10 charge more.
Demolition Permit: El Paso charges $115. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 3 charge less and 2 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in El Paso?
Permits for a salon or barber in El Paso, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department, El Paso Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of El Paso Planning and Inspections DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Commercial Plan Review, Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Demolition Permit811 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901 · (915) 212-0104www.elpasotexas.gov/planning-and-inspections
- El Paso Fire Department, Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Operational Permit416 N Stanton Street, El Paso, TX 79901www.elpasotexas.gov/fire-department
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a salon or barber need in El Paso that other businesses do not?
1 of the 2 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in El Paso: Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License.
Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License
Establishment licenses are valid for two years from the date of issue, so the $78 is a two-year cost rather than an annual one — worth halving before you compare it with a yearly permit elsewhere. The fee applies to standard and specialty establishments; a mini-establishment license is $70. It covers full-service, mobile and specialty establishments, and applies to licenses expiring on or after 1 September 2023. Individual practitioners are licensed separately from the establishment, so a salon needs both its own license and a license for each operator working in it.
Shared with other businesses in El Paso
- Fire Operational Permit — El Paso Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office, $125–$205 per license, by hazard, not stated in the published schedule. Also required for auto repair shops, coffee shops, contractors and trades, fitness studios, restaurants and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in El Paso, TX; what each one involves is set out on the El Paso permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in El Paso?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License. A auto repair shop needs nothing here that a salon or barber does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a salon or barber | Only a salon or barber needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 1 | 1 | 5 |
| Retail stores | 8 | 1 | 1 | 7 |
| Restaurants | 9 | 1 | 1 | 8 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the El Paso permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Barbering and Cosmetology Fee Changes — TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
