Commercial Compliance Hub

Grand Prairie

City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality

In short

City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality issues 11 permits we publish for Grand Prairie, last verified 2026-08-24. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.

What this agency issues

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Auto Related Business PermitCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$250–$300 inspection fee, by business typenot stated in the published material2026-08-24
On-Site Sewage Facility Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$200 submitted with the applicationnot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Swimming Pool and Spa PermitCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$200 per year, for each pool and spaone year2026-08-24
Food Establishment Health PermitCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$250–$500 per year, by establishment typeone year2026-08-24
Liquid Waste Hauler PermitCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$200 per truck, per yearone year2026-08-24
Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$50–$250 per booth for a single event, or for recurring eventstied to a permitted special event2026-08-24
Grease Interceptor RequirementCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental QualityNo feeservice frequency set by regulation approved 14 August 20072026-08-24
Ice Cream Pushcart Vendor PermitCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$130 per yearone year2026-08-24
Mobile Food Unit — State License RequiredCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental QualityNo feeissued by Texas DSHS, not by the city2026-08-24
Backflow Prevention Device Testing and RegistrationCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$35 annual fee, per deviceannual, per device2026-08-24
Itinerant Food Vendor PermitCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$200 per yearone year2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

About each permit

Auto Related Business Permit

$250 to inspect a regular auto related business and $300 for an automotive salvage yard, with a $25 permit application fee on top and a further $50 where a salvage yard holds bulk storage. Grand Prairie regulates auto businesses through its health department rather than through code compliance, which is unusual and easy to miss when costing a body shop or tyre operation. A Solid Waste Verification Form is part of the application.

On-Site Sewage Facility Permit

$200 submitted with the application. Relevant only where the site is not on city sewer. The department is explicit that its enforcement route runs through legal notices to achieve compliance over time, with potential enforcement action if a system owner is unresponsive — so an inherited failing system is a live liability rather than a paper one.

Swimming Pool and Spa Permit

$200 a year for EACH swimming pool and spa, so a hotel with both pays $400. Building a new pool or remodelling one is $300 for the initial permit application, on top of the $100 building-side pool permit in Article 22 of the UDC — two separate departments, two separate charges, and the UDC one is easy to budget for while forgetting this. A change of owner is $100, a duplicate permit $15, and renewing late adds $50. Fees fall due after the application is processed rather than on submission.

Food Establishment Health Permit

$500 a year to renew a full service establishment, $300 for a convenience store, and $250 for other types — which the city defines to include food preparation trucks and additional permits, so a second permit at the same site is $250 rather than a repeat of the full rate. Opening costs more than renewing: a new establishment or an extensive remodel is $200, and taking over an existing one is $150 for the change of owner. A duplicate or replacement permit is $25. The permit issues once the facility is complete and in compliance with both city and state rules. One outlier worth knowing if you are opening a venue rather than a restaurant: a dance floor permit is $1,000, the single largest health charge Grand Prairie levies.

Liquid Waste Hauler Permit

$200 for each truck, with trip ticket books at $25 including tax. The department permits roughly 100 vehicles a year. This is how a restaurant's grease interceptor is actually emptied in Grand Prairie, so the cost reaches the operator through the hauler's price rather than directly — but it is worth asking to see the permit. Frisco charges $250 per hauler and Mesquite $150 per truck for the same thing.

Temporary Food Establishment Permit

$50 per booth for a single event, non-refundable, or $250 for recurring events — so a trader doing five or more dated events is better off on the recurring permit. Booths run by a non-profit, or by a business in conjunction with an event promoting the City of Grand Prairie, pay NO permit fee at all, but must still apply and meet every other requirement. Applications are reviewed alongside the special event permit they attach to, and payment is made in person at City Hall, 300 W. Main Street, 2nd Floor. Allow 24 to 48 hours for processing. Failing to comply with the guidelines can bring a citation, revocation of permits and closure of the food service operation.

Grease Interceptor Requirement

Not a permit with a fee, but a requirement worth costing at design stage. Food establishments offering high-fat menu items — meat and dairy, soups and stews, gravies and sauces, bakery items and salads — must have a grease interceptor, and the city requires EVERY plumbing fixture in each food preparation and utensil washing area to drain through it. Sizing follows the International Plumbing Code, calculated on the total flow rate of the three-compartment sinks, prep sinks and automatic dishwashers in the facility, so the interceptor is sized off the kitchen design rather than off the seat count. Service frequency is fixed by regulations the city approved on 14 August 2007. The city publishes no fee for the requirement itself.

Ice Cream Pushcart Vendor Permit

$130 a year. Grand Prairie prices the ice cream pushcart below the general itinerant vendor permit at $200, which is unusual — most cities in this dataset fold pushcarts into the mobile unit rate. Note that a pushcart is a mobile food unit for the purposes of HB 2844, so a state DSHS license is required alongside this city permit from 1 July 2026.

Mobile Food Unit — State License Required

Grand Prairie states the position more plainly than any other city in this dataset, so it is worth quoting closely. From 1 July 2026, under HB 2844 (2025), every mobile food unit operator must hold a license issued by Texas DSHS to operate anywhere in the state. The rules reach operators at temporary events, farmers markets and flea markets, not just those trading from a fixed pitch. Permits issued by local jurisdictions BEFORE that date are no longer valid for operation on or after it. Operating without a state license is a citable offence. Vendors must still comply with all state and local law, including fire codes, location restrictions and zoning. The city no longer sells a mobile food permit, which is why no fee appears here — apply to DSHS.

Backflow Prevention Device Testing and Registration

Two audiences pay here and it is worth separating them. The DEVICE OWNER pays $35 a year per device, plus $100 for the installation inspection — and the department notes it performs the initial test on every new commercial domestic backflow assembly itself, at that same $100. A new installation also needs a $60 plumbing permit. The TESTER pays $100 to register and $25 for the approved inspection book, and must supply a current gauge calibration report along with their backflow assembly tester license. Re-inspecting a failed device is $50.

Itinerant Food Vendor Permit

$200 a year for a food vendor without a fixed permanent premises. Paid in person at City Hall. Distinct from the $250 other-types health permit and from the state mobile food unit license that HB 2844 now requires — a vendor may need more than one of these, so confirm which applies to the operation before assuming one covers it.

Contact

Jurisdiction
Grand Prairie
Phone
972-237-8055

Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.

Sources

Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Food Service PermitsCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. Health Permits — Food Establishments FeesCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Other offices serving Grand Prairie

The full permit list for this jurisdiction

Industry permit lists that include this agency

Texas jurisdictions

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.