32 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Grand Prairie?
In short
A restaurant in Grand Prairie, TX has 14 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 18 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections charges $100 average for the change of occupancy. 15 of the 32 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a restaurant in Grand Prairie
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Parking Lot Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $100 new or repair | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| On-Site Sewage Facility Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | $200 submitted with the application | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Health Permit | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | $250–$500 per year, by establishment type | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Sprinkler System Permitonly if it applies to you | Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention | $50–$300 by number of sprinkler heads | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression Permit | Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention | $75 per system | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Address Changeonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | $50 per request | one-time, per request | 2026-08-24 |
| Liquid Waste Hauler Permit | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | $200 per truck, per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Re-Roof Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | 1% of the value of the work, minimum $150 | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Irrigation System Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $100 per system | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | $50–$250 per booth for a single event, or for recurring events | tied to a permitted special event | 2026-08-24 |
| Specific Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Grease Interceptor Requirement | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | No fee | service frequency set by regulation approved 14 August 2007 | 2026-08-24 |
| Mobile Food Unit — State License Required | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | No fee | issued by Texas DSHS, not by the city | 2026-08-24 |
| Special Event Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | $30 per event, plus a $250 deposit | per event | 2026-08-24 |
| Floodplain Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | $300–$500 by site acreage | one year from the date the permit is released | 2026-08-24 |
| Backflow Prevention Device Testing and Registration | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | $35 annual fee, per device | annual, per device | 2026-08-24 |
| Concept Plan | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | $700 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Plat Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | $500 plus the greater of $20 per lot or $20 per acre, not to exceed $10,500 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Itinerant Food Vendor Permit | City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality | $200 per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)only if it applies to you | Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission | $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal | every 2 years | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change of Occupancy | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $100 average | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| New Commercial Building Permit | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Grand Prairie page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Remodel and Addition Permit | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Grand Prairie page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department | Varies — formula on the Grand Prairie page | grandfathered off-premise signs renew annually at $105 | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Plan Review Fee | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | Varies — formula on the Grand Prairie page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections | $60 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Alarm System Permitonly if it applies to you | Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention | Varies — formula on the Grand Prairie page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Grand Prairie?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 32 records listed for a restaurant in Grand Prairie, TX, 14 apply to every business of this type and 18 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 14 that always apply, 7 carry a flat fee, coming to $670.00. That is a floor, not a total. 15 of the 32 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Food Establishment Health Permit: $250–$500 per year, by establishment type
Fire Sprinkler System Permit: $50–$300 by number of sprinkler heads
Zoning Application: $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000
Commercial Re-Roof Permit: 1% of the value of the work, minimum $150
Temporary Food Establishment Permit: $50–$250 per booth for a single event, or for recurring events
Specific Use Permit: $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000
Floodplain Permit: $300–$500 by site acreage
Concept Plan: $700 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000
Plat Application: $500 plus the greater of $20 per lot or $20 per acre, not to exceed $10,500
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB): $2,650–$5,300 per two-year period; $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Grand Prairie permits page and the TX state page.
Is Grand Prairie expensive for a restaurant?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Grand Prairie sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Demolition Permit: Grand Prairie charges $50. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 here to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Demolition Permit varies by $150 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Grand Prairie?
Permits for a restaurant in Grand Prairie, TX come from 7 separate offices: City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections, City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention, City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsIssues 9 permits on this page, including Change of Occupancy, Commercial Parking Lot Permit, New Commercial Building Permit(972) 237-8230www.gptx.org/Departments/Building-Inspections
- City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental QualityIssues 8 permits on this page, including On-Site Sewage Facility Permit, Food Establishment Health Permit, Liquid Waste Hauler PermitCity Hall, 300 W. Main Street, 2nd Floor, Grand Prairie, TX 75050 · 972-237-8055www.gptx.org/Departments/Public-Health-and-Environmental-Quality/Environmental-Quality/Permits-Policies/Food-Service-Permits
- Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire PreventionIssues 3 permits on this page: Fire Sprinkler System Permit, Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression Permit, Fire Alarm System Permitwww.gptx.org/Departments/Fire
- City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development DepartmentIssues 8 permits on this page, including Commercial Address Change, Zoning Application, Specific Use Permitwww.gptx.org/Departments/Planning-and-Development
- Texas Alcoholic Beverage CommissionIssues 1 permit on this page: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)www.tabc.texas.gov
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a restaurant need in Grand Prairie that other businesses do not?
1 of the 21 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Grand Prairie: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB).
Commercial Parking Lot Permit
$100 whether the lot is new or being repaired — a flat fee rather than an area or valuation calculation, which makes Grand Prairie markedly cheaper than cities that price resurfacing by the square yard. A commercial driveway approach is a further $100, against $20 residential.
On-Site Sewage Facility Permit
$200 submitted with the application. Relevant only where the site is not on city sewer. The department is explicit that its enforcement route runs through legal notices to achieve compliance over time, with potential enforcement action if a system owner is unresponsive — so an inherited failing system is a live liability rather than a paper one.
Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression Permit
$75 for a Type I commercial kitchen vent-hood extinguishing system — the one over a cooking line that produces grease-laden vapour. A spray booth and a clean agent system are also $75 each. For a restaurant fit-out this sits alongside the building-side mechanical permit rather than replacing it.
Special Event Permit
TWO FIGURES ARE PUBLISHED FOR THIS PERMIT AND THEY DO NOT AGREE. Article 22 of the Unified Development Code, last updated 2 September 2025, sets $30 plus a $250 deposit held against clean-up and restoration of the site, and a further $15 if an electrical permit is needed. The Office of Emergency Management, which actually issues the permit, publishes $40 for a one-time special event of no more than four events in a year and $400 for a recurring one above that. The adopted code and the issuing office are describing the same permit differently, so ask which applies before budgeting an event series — the recurring figure is more than ten times the code one.
Floodplain Permit
$300 for 3 to 20 acres and $500 above 20 acres. Note the term: Sec. 22.2.22 expires a floodplain permit one year after release, so a development that stalls needs it re-issued rather than extended.
Concept Plan
$700 plus $40 an acre. This one is easy to miss in sequencing: Sec. 22.2.1 requires a concept plan for ALL new development BEFORE rezoning, clearing, preliminary engineering work or any preliminary or final plat. It is the first cheque a developer writes in Grand Prairie, not a later step.
Mixed Beverage Permit (MB)
Read directly from the TABC two-year licensing fee schedule: Mixed Beverage Permit (MB) $5,300 original, $2,650 renewal, charged on a two-year cycle. A Wine and Malt Beverage Retailer's Permit (BG) is $1,900 if you do not need spirits. Note a widely-cited competitor lists $6,006 for this permit, which does not appear in the TABC schedule.
Shared with other businesses in Grand Prairie
- Food Establishment Health Permit — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, $250–$500 per year, by establishment type, one year. Also required for coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Fire Sprinkler System Permit — Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $50–$300 by number of sprinkler heads, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Commercial Address Change — City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, $50 per request, one-time, per request. Also required for retail stores, coffee shops, salons and barbers and auto repair shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Liquid Waste Hauler Permit — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, $200 per truck, per year, one year. Also required for auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Zoning Application — City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000, one-time, per application. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Commercial Re-Roof Permit — City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections, 1% of the value of the work, minimum $150, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Irrigation System Permit — City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections, $100 per system, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Temporary Food Establishment Permit — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, $50–$250 per booth for a single event, or for recurring events, tied to a permitted special event. Also required for coffee shops, food trucks and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Specific Use Permit — City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000, one-time, per application. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
- Grease Interceptor Requirement — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, No fee, service frequency set by regulation approved 14 August 2007. Also required for coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Mobile Food Unit — State License Required — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, No fee, issued by Texas DSHS, not by the city. Also required for food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Backflow Prevention Device Testing and Registration — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, $35 annual fee, per device, annual, per device. Also required for coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, salons and barbers, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Plat Application — City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, $500 plus the greater of $20 per lot or $20 per acre, not to exceed $10,500, one-time, per application. Also required for retail stores and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Itinerant Food Vendor Permit — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, $200 per year, one year. Also required for food trucks and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Grand Prairie permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Grand Prairie?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 16 of these permits. A restaurant also needs Commercial Kitchen Hood Suppression Permit, Liquid Waste Hauler Permit, Grease Interceptor Requirement and 2 more. A retail store needs Hazardous Materials Permit, Auto Related Business Permit, Swimming Pool and Spa Permit and 2 more, which a restaurant does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a restaurant | Only a restaurant needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 21 | 16 | 5 | 5 |
| Contractors and trades | 13 | 10 | 11 | 3 |
| Auto repair shops | 11 | 8 | 13 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 7 | 14 | 0 |
| Fitness studios | 9 | 7 | 14 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 5 | 4 | 17 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 6 | 4 | 17 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 2 | 19 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 19 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, fitness studios page, auto repair shops page, retail stores page, contractors and trades page, veterinary clinics page and food trucks page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Grand Prairie permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Unified Development Code Article 22: Fee Schedule, last updated 2 September 2025City of Grand Prairie Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Food Service PermitsCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Fire Department Permit, Review, and Inspection FeesCity of Grand Prairie Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Two-Year Licensing Fees — TABCTexas Alcoholic Beverage Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
