Commercial Compliance Hub

22 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Grand Prairie?

In short

A auto repair shop in Grand Prairie, TX has 9 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 13 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections charges $100 average for the change of occupancy. 11 of the 22 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Grand Prairie

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Hazardous Materials Permitonly if it applies to youGrand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention$250 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Parking Lot Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections$100 new or repairnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Auto Related Business PermitCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$250–$300 inspection fee, by business typenot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Commercial Fence Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections1% of the value of the fence, minimum $50not stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Fire Sprinkler System Permitonly if it applies to youGrand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention$50–$300 by number of sprinkler headsnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Address Changeonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department$50 per requestone-time, per request2026-08-24
Liquid Waste Hauler PermitCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$200 per truck, per yearone year2026-08-24
Zoning Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department$1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000one-time, per application2026-08-24
Commercial Re-Roof Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections1% of the value of the work, minimum $150not stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Specific Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department$1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000one-time, per application2026-08-24
Backflow Prevention Device Testing and RegistrationCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality$35 annual fee, per deviceannual, per device2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Change of OccupancyCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections$100 averagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
New Commercial Building PermitCity of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Remodel and Addition PermitCity of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections$50 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Grand Prairie Planning and Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagegrandfathered off-premise signs renew annually at $1052026-08-24
Commercial Plan Review FeeCity of Grand Prairie Building InspectionsVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Commercial Electrical PermitCity of Grand Prairie Building Inspections$60 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Fire Alarm System Permitonly if it applies to youGrand Prairie Fire Department, Fire PreventionVaries — formula on the Grand Prairie pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Grand Prairie?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 22 records listed for a auto repair shop in Grand Prairie, TX, 9 apply to every business of this type and 13 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 9 that always apply, 5 carry a flat fee, coming to $395.00. That is a floor, not a total. 11 of the 22 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Auto Related Business Permit: $250–$300 inspection fee, by business type

Commercial Fence Permit: 1% of the value of the fence, minimum $50

Fire Sprinkler System Permit: $50–$300 by number of sprinkler heads

Zoning Application: $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000

Commercial Re-Roof Permit: 1% of the value of the work, minimum $150

Specific Use Permit: $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Grand Prairie permits page and the TX state page.

Is Grand Prairie expensive for a auto repair shop?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Grand Prairie sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Demolition Permit: Grand Prairie charges $50. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 here to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Demolition Permit varies by $150 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Grand Prairie?

Permits for a auto repair shop in Grand Prairie, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections, Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention, City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a auto repair shop need in Grand Prairie that other businesses do not?

Commercial Fence Permit

1% of the fence value with a $50 floor. A subdivision screening fence or retaining wall is also 1%, on the value of the fence or wall. A residential fence is a flat $25.

Liquid Waste Hauler Permit

$200 for each truck, with trip ticket books at $25 including tax. The department permits roughly 100 vehicles a year. This is how a restaurant's grease interceptor is actually emptied in Grand Prairie, so the cost reaches the operator through the hauler's price rather than directly — but it is worth asking to see the permit. Frisco charges $250 per hauler and Mesquite $150 per truck for the same thing.

Shared with other businesses in Grand Prairie

  • Hazardous Materials Permit — Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $250 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Commercial Parking Lot Permit — City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections, $100 new or repair, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Auto Related Business Permit — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, $250–$300 inspection fee, by business type, not stated in the published material. Also required for retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Fire Sprinkler System Permit — Grand Prairie Fire Department, Fire Prevention, $50–$300 by number of sprinkler heads, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Commercial Address Change — City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, $50 per request, one-time, per request. Also required for retail stores, restaurants, coffee shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Zoning Application — City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Commercial Re-Roof Permit — City of Grand Prairie Building Inspections, 1% of the value of the work, minimum $150, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
  • Specific Use Permit — City of Grand Prairie Planning and Development Department, $1,000 plus $40 per acre, not to exceed $11,000, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, childcare centres and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the veterinary clinics page.
  • Backflow Prevention Device Testing and Registration — City of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality, $35 annual fee, per device, annual, per device. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, veterinary clinics and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 8 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Grand Prairie, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Grand Prairie permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Grand Prairie?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 10 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Liquid Waste Hauler Permit. A retail store needs On-Site Sewage Facility Permit, Swimming Pool and Spa Permit, Food Establishment Health Permit and 8 more, which a auto repair shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Grand Prairie, TX, compared with a auto repair shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a auto repair shopOnly a auto repair shop needsOnly it needs
Retail stores2110111
Contractors and trades13746
Fitness studios9564
Restaurants218313
Veterinary clinics5382
Childcare centres3291
Salons and barbers3291
Coffee shops7295
Food trucks60116

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page, restaurants page, fitness studios page, coffee shops page, contractors and trades page and veterinary clinics page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Grand Prairie permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Unified Development Code Article 22: Fee Schedule, last updated 2 September 2025City of Grand Prairie Planning Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. Food Service PermitsCity of Grand Prairie Department of Public Health and Environmental Quality · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.