Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Frisco?

In short

A coffee shop in Frisco, TX has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Frisco Development Services charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 5 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Frisco

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Limited Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Frisco Environmental Health Services$200 per yearone year2026-08-24
Temporary Event Food Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Frisco Environmental Health Services$52 per event, 14-day maximum14 days maximum2026-08-24
Backflow Test FeeCity of Frisco Public Works Department$40 per testnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Food Establishment PermitCity of Frisco Environmental Health Services$300–$773 per year, by risk levelone year2026-08-24
Food Establishment Variance Requestonly if it applies to youCity of Frisco Environmental Health Services$200 for the first hour, then $50 per hourone-time, per application2026-08-24
Oil, Grease and Grit Interceptor PermitCity of Frisco Public Works Department$25 per year, owner or operatornot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Fire PermitFrisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention OfficeNo feenot stated in the published material2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Frisco

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Frisco Development Services$100 per certificatedoes not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of business name, ownership or use2026-08-24
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Frisco Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Frisco pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Electrical PermitCity of Frisco Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Frisco pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Frisco Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Frisco pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Frisco Development Services$50 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Frisco?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a coffee shop in Frisco, TX, 8 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $165.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Permit: $300–$773 per year, by risk level

Food Establishment Variance Request: $200 for the first hour, then $50 per hour

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Frisco permits page and the TX state page.

Is Frisco expensive for a coffee shop?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Frisco sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Frisco charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.

Demolition Permit: Frisco charges $50. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Temporary Event Food Permit: Frisco charges $52. Across 4 jurisdictions it runs from $30 in Fair Oaks Ranch to $52 in Hays County, with a median of $46. 2 charge less and 1 charges exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Frisco?

Permits for a coffee shop in Frisco, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Frisco Development Services, City of Frisco Environmental Health Services, City of Frisco Public Works Department, Frisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Frisco that other businesses do not?

Temporary Event Food Permit

$52 for an event of up to 14 days, with a $75 late fee — the late fee is larger than the permit, so applying late costs more than the permit itself. A seasonal food establishment running up to 30 days is $150 instead.

Food Establishment Variance Request

$200 covering the first hour of review and $50 an hour after that — an open-ended charge rather than a fixed one, which matters for a complex process like sous-vide or fermentation where the review is not quick. Plan revision review is charged the same way at $50 an hour.

Shared with other businesses in Frisco

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Frisco, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Frisco permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Frisco?

The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 7 of these permits. A restaurant needs Mixed Beverage Permit (MB), which a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Frisco, TX, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants8701
Auto repair shops3340
Retail stores10525
Veterinary clinics3251
Fitness studios4252
Food trucks2161
Salons and barbers2161
Childcare centres3162
Contractors and trades2072

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, auto repair shops page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Frisco permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Permit, Inspection and Miscellaneous Consolidated Fee Schedule, updated 7 October 2025City of Frisco Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.