19 published records
Business licenses and permits in Frisco, Texas
Collin County, with part of the city in Denton County. Frisco does not band food permits by turnover the way Dallas, Fort Worth and San Antonio do — it charges by establishment type and risk level, so a low-turnover full-service restaurant can pay considerably more here than in a city that prices on sales. Development Services issues building, occupancy, health and licensing permits from one consolidated schedule; Public Works charges separately for the water-side permits.
What are you opening in Frisco?
- RestaurantsFull-service restaurants carry the densest permit load of any small business: food, fire, occupancy, waste, and usually alcohol.See the full permit list
- Coffee shopsCafés are permitted as food service establishments even where no cooking happens, and the plan review step catches most operators by surprise.See the full permit list
- Retail storesRetail is the lightest common permit load, but the sales tax permit and the certificate of occupancy are non-negotiable in every jurisdiction.See the full permit list
- Salons and barbersPersonal care is licensed at state board level as well as locally, so the shop license and the practitioner licenses are separate obligations.See the full permit list
- Food trucksMobile food is the one category with no certificate of occupancy — but it gains a commissary agreement, and the unit itself is inspected rather than the premises.See the full permit list
- Fitness studiosPrepaid memberships trigger state registration and often a surety bond, which catches operators who budgeted only for the fit-out.See the full permit list
- Childcare centresThe heaviest permit load of any small business: state agency licensing, per-person background checks, and a stricter fire standard than ordinary commercial use.See the full permit list
- Contractors and tradesLicensed at state board level rather than locally, and the only common category with no premises permits at all — the bond is usually the long pole.See the full permit list
- Auto repair shopsOrdinary commercial permitting plus an environmental layer: waste oil, solvents and stormwater are each registered separately.See the full permit list
- Veterinary clinicsA state facility permit, controlled substances registration at both state and federal level, and a medical waste manifest — none of which a general business license covers.See the full permit list
Permits that apply to every type of business in Frisco
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Frisco Development Services | $100 per certificate | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of business name, ownership or use | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Frisco Development Services | $75–$150 banner or other sign type | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of Frisco Development Services | $50 to issue the permit, plus $0.04 per gross square foot for an all-inclusive commercial permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Frisco Development Services | 60% of the Table 1-A value: $23.50 to $500 of valuation; $23.50 + $3.05 per $100 to $2,000; $69.25 + $14 per $1,000 to $25,000; $391.25 + $10.10 per $1,000 to $50,000; $643.75 + $7 per $1,000 to $100,000; $993.75 + $5 per $1,000 to $500,000; $3,233.75 + $4.75 per $1,000 to $1,000,000; $5,608.75 + $3.15 per $1,000 above that | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Frisco Development Services | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
What do these permits involve in Frisco?
Certificate of Occupancy
$100 on a change of business name, ownership or use — so a rebrand costs the same as a change of owner. A non-conforming use certificate is $25, which is the cheaper route where the use predates the current zoning and is being documented rather than changed. A temporary building permit is $50 and a structure move permit $50.
Sign Permit
$75 for a banner and $150 for any other sign type requiring a permit — Frisco charges a single flat rate rather than banding by area the way Arlington and Waco do, which makes a large ground sign markedly cheaper here. A temporary outdoor sales event is $100 and a tent permit $75.
Commercial Electrical Permit
$50 to issue, $10 for a supplemental permit, and $0.04 a gross square foot for the all-inclusive commercial permit against $0.03 residential. Individual items are charged where the all-inclusive route is not used: appliances at $4.75 each, temporary services $23.50, miscellaneous apparatus $18.20, and motors from $4.75 up to 1 HP to $24.60 for 10 to 50 HP. An electrical building meter release is $45.
Commercial Building Permit
Frisco charges 60% of the Table 1-A value rather than the full table, which is easy to miss and makes the city meaningfully cheaper than the raw table suggests — a $1,000,000 project computes to about $5,609 on the table and about $3,365 after the discount. On top sits a $300 non-refundable application fee, and inspections outside normal business hours are $150. Commercial reinspection is $75 against $50 residential, and each plan revision review is $50 an hour.
Demolition Permit
$50 — the cheapest demolition permit of the Texas cities covered here, against $100 in Pasadena and $200 a building in Arlington. A reroof permit is $150, fences $75, and retaining or screening walls $150 per wall with subdivision retaining walls at $300.
Sources
Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Permit, Inspection and Miscellaneous Consolidated Fee Schedule, updated 7 October 2025City of Frisco Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Who issues business permits in Frisco?
Permitting in Frisco is split across 4 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.
Frisco issuing agencies
- City of Frisco Development ServicesBuilding permits · Certificates of occupancy · Electrical, plumbing and mechanical permits · Sign permits · Short-term rental and multi-family licensing8 permits
- City of Frisco Environmental Health ServicesFood establishment permits · Grocery and daycare food permits · Temporary event food permits · Commercial pool and interactive water feature permits7 permits
- City of Frisco Public Works DepartmentBackflow testing · Oil, grease and grit interceptor permits · Liquid waste hauler permits · Water meters and fire hydrant meters · Right-of-way network node permits3 permits
- Frisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention OfficeFire alarm and sprinkler permits · Underground fire main permits · Hood suppression system permits · Storage tank, fireworks and access control permits1 permit
Other Texas jurisdictions we cover
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
