10 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Frisco?
In short
A childcare centre in Frisco, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 4 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Frisco Development Services charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in Frisco
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daycare Food Operating Permit | City of Frisco Environmental Health Services | $300 per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Permit | Frisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention Office | No fee | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Child Care License | Texas Health and Human Services | $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Frisco
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Frisco Development Services | $100 per certificate | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of business name, ownership or use | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Frisco Development Services | Varies — formula on the Frisco page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Frisco Development Services | Varies — formula on the Frisco page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Frisco Development Services | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Frisco?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 10 records listed for a childcare centre in Frisco, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 4 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $400.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 10 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Frisco permits page and the TX state page.
Is Frisco expensive for a childcare centre?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Frisco sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Frisco charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Demolition Permit: Frisco charges $50. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Frisco?
Permits for a childcare centre in Frisco, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Frisco Development Services, City of Frisco Environmental Health Services, Frisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Frisco Development ServicesIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit, Commercial Building Permit, Demolition PermitGeorge A. Purefoy Municipal Center, 6101 Frisco Square Blvd, 3rd Floor, Frisco, TX 75034 · 972-292-5300www.friscotexas.gov/1647/Apply-for-Commercial-Permits
- City of Frisco Environmental Health ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Daycare Food Operating Permitwww.friscotexas.gov/1751/Apply-for-Food-Establishment-Permits
- Frisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Permit8601 Gary Burns Drive, Frisco, TX 75034 · 972-292-6320www.friscotexas.gov/337/Fire-Prevention-Office
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
- Texas Health and Human ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licensewww.hhs.texas.gov
What does a childcare centre need in Frisco that other businesses do not?
2 of the 3 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Frisco: Daycare Food Operating Permit and Child Care License.
Daycare Food Operating Permit
$300 a year for a daycare's annual food operating permit — the same as the lowest restaurant band, and a fixed rate rather than a risk-banded one. This is the food side only; the childcare license itself is a state matter.
Fire Permit
Required for a fire alarm, a commercial or residential sprinkler, underground fire mains, access control systems, hood suppression systems, storage tanks, fireworks, emergency responder radio coverage and firefighter air replenishment systems — the list the Fire Prevention Office publishes is explicitly not exhaustive. Submittals go through electronic plan review and must include the applicable state registration certificate for the responsible agency or design professional, plans signed and dated by the appropriate state-licensed professional, and all related specifications and calculations. Fees are paid after approval and before the documents are released. No amount is published: the consolidated Development Services schedule states in terms that its fees do not include fire prevention permit fees, and the Fire Prevention Office publishes no schedule of its own.
Child Care License
Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Frisco, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Frisco permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Frisco?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 1 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Daycare Food Operating Permit and Child Care License. A auto repair shop needs Backflow Test Fee and Oil, Grease and Grit Interceptor Permit, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 1 | 2 | 6 |
| Restaurants | 8 | 1 | 2 | 7 |
| Retail stores | 10 | 1 | 2 | 9 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Frisco permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Permit, Inspection and Miscellaneous Consolidated Fee Schedule, updated 7 October 2025City of Frisco Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Fire Permit Guidelines — permit submittal requirementsFrisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
