Commercial Compliance Hub

18 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Frisco?

In short

A retail store in Frisco, TX has 12 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 6 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Frisco Development Services charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 6 of the 18 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Frisco

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Limited Food Establishment Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Frisco Environmental Health Services$200 per yearone year2026-08-24
Backflow Test FeeCity of Frisco Public Works Department$40 per testnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Short-Term Rental PermitCity of Frisco Development Services$300 per yearone year2026-08-24
Multi-Family Registration LicenseCity of Frisco Development Services$10 per unit, per yearone year, prorated on initial issuance2026-08-24
Sexually Oriented Business LicenseCity of Frisco Development Services$750 application feerenewed annually at $3502026-08-24
Food Establishment PermitCity of Frisco Environmental Health Services$300–$773 per year, by risk levelone year2026-08-24
Food Establishment Variance Requestonly if it applies to youCity of Frisco Environmental Health Services$200 for the first hour, then $50 per hourone-time, per application2026-08-24
Fire PermitFrisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention OfficeNo feenot stated in the published material2026-08-24
Grocery Store PermitCity of Frisco Environmental Health Services$555–$773 per year, by number of departmentsone year2026-08-24
Commercial Pool Operating PermitCity of Frisco Environmental Health Services$225 per year, per body of waterone year2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Frisco

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Frisco Development Services$100 per certificatedoes not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of business name, ownership or use2026-08-24
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Frisco Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Frisco pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Electrical PermitCity of Frisco Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Frisco pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Frisco Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Frisco pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Demolition Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Frisco Development Services$50 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Frisco?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 18 records listed for a retail store in Frisco, TX, 12 apply to every business of this type and 6 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 12 that always apply, 7 carry a flat fee, coming to $1,425.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 18 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Food Establishment Permit: $300–$773 per year, by risk level

Food Establishment Variance Request: $200 for the first hour, then $50 per hour

Grocery Store Permit: $555–$773 per year, by number of departments

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Frisco permits page and the TX state page.

Is Frisco expensive for a retail store?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Frisco sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Short-Term Rental Permit: Frisco charges $300. Across 4 jurisdictions it runs from $75 in Pearland to $500 in Arlington, with a median of $250. 2 charge less and 1 charges more.

Certificate of Occupancy: Frisco charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.

Demolition Permit: Frisco charges $50. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Short-Term Rental Permit varies by $425 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Frisco?

Permits for a retail store in Frisco, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Frisco Development Services, City of Frisco Environmental Health Services, City of Frisco Public Works Department, Frisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Frisco that other businesses do not?

4 of the 10 permits particular to a retail store here apply to no other business type we cover in Frisco: Short-Term Rental Permit, Multi-Family Registration License, Sexually Oriented Business License and Grocery Store Permit.

Short-Term Rental Permit

$300 to apply and $300 on each annual renewal, with no reduction for renewing — $200 a year less than Arlington charges for the same thing.

Multi-Family Registration License

$10 per unit annually, including initial issuance, which may be prorated, and $10 per unit again on renewal — so a 200-unit complex is $2,000 a year. Reinspection is $100 and a late renewal $150.

Sexually Oriented Business License

$750 to apply, $75 for the license itself and $350 to renew. The application fee is the highest in this dataset and more than twice the renewal — Frisco front-loads the cost onto the application rather than the annual term.

Grocery Store Permit

$555, $664 or $773 by type, where the type is set by how many additional departments the store runs: none or one is type I, two or three is type II, four or more is type III. Frisco prices a grocery store separately from a restaurant, and the entry point is higher — a small grocer starts at $555 where a small restaurant starts at $300, because the department count rather than the risk level drives the band.

Shared with other businesses in Frisco

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Frisco, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Frisco permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Frisco?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 5 of these permits. A retail store also needs Short-Term Rental Permit, Multi-Family Registration License, Sexually Oriented Business License and 2 more. A coffee shop needs Temporary Event Food Permit and Oil, Grease and Grit Interceptor Permit, which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Frisco, TX, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops7552
Restaurants8553
Fitness studios4371
Auto repair shops3281
Veterinary clinics3281
Salons and barbers2191
Childcare centres3192
Contractors and trades20102
Food trucks20102

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page, coffee shops page, childcare centres page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Frisco permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Permit, Inspection and Miscellaneous Consolidated Fee Schedule, updated 7 October 2025City of Frisco Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.