11 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Frisco?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Frisco, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 5 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Frisco Development Services charges $100 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 3 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Frisco
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Backflow Test Fee | City of Frisco Public Works Department | $40 per test | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Permit | Frisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention Office | No fee | not stated in the published material | 2026-08-24 |
| Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027only if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | No fee | not yet in effect — rules being written | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Frisco
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Frisco Development Services | $100 per certificate | does not expire; a new certificate is required on a change of business name, ownership or use | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Frisco Development Services | Varies — formula on the Frisco page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Electrical Permit | City of Frisco Development Services | Varies — formula on the Frisco page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Frisco Development Services | Varies — formula on the Frisco page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Frisco Development Services | $50 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Frisco?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Frisco, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 5 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $140.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all.
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Frisco permits page and the TX state page.
Is Frisco expensive for a veterinary clinic?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Frisco sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: Frisco charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.
Demolition Permit: Frisco charges $50. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 4 charge more and 1 charges exactly the same.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in Frisco?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Frisco, TX come from 6 separate offices: City of Frisco Development Services, City of Frisco Public Works Department, Frisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention Office, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Frisco Development ServicesIssues 5 permits on this page, including Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit, Commercial Electrical PermitGeorge A. Purefoy Municipal Center, 6101 Frisco Square Blvd, 3rd Floor, Frisco, TX 75034 · 972-292-5300www.friscotexas.gov/1647/Apply-for-Commercial-Permits
- City of Frisco Public Works DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Backflow Test Fee11300 Research Road, Frisco, TX 75033 · 972-292-5800www.friscotexas.gov/160/Fee-Schedule
- Frisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Permit8601 Gary Burns Drive, Frisco, TX 75034 · 972-292-6320www.friscotexas.gov/337/Fire-Prevention-Office
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a veterinary clinic need in Frisco that other businesses do not?
1 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Frisco: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027.
Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027
Texas does not currently register veterinary FACILITIES - only individual veterinarians are licensed. SB2155 gave the Board that authority for the first time, and rules are being written for a September 2027 effective date. There is nothing to file today, but a practice opening now should expect this obligation to arrive. Whether mobile and house-call practices fall in scope is still undecided.
Shared with other businesses in Frisco
- Backflow Test Fee — City of Frisco Public Works Department, $40 per test, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, auto repair shops, salons and barbers and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Fire Permit — Frisco Fire Department, Fire Prevention Office, No fee, not stated in the published material. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Frisco, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Frisco permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Frisco?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027. A auto repair shop needs Oil, Grease and Grit Interceptor Permit, which a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 2 | 1 | 5 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Restaurants | 8 | 2 | 1 | 6 |
| Childcare centres | 3 | 1 | 2 | 2 |
| Retail stores | 10 | 2 | 1 | 8 |
| Contractors and trades | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Frisco permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Texas Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersTexas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners / TDLR · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
