Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-08-24

What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Fort Worth?

In short

A contractor or trade in Fort Worth, TX has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Fort Worth Fire Department charges $390 per permit for the fire operational permit — hazardous materials. 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Fort Worth

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materialsonly if it applies to youFort Worth Fire Department$390 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Zoning Change Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Fort Worth Development Services$1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125one-time, per application2026-08-24
Planned Development Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youCity of Fort Worth Development Services$900 base; $1,350 for 0-5 acres, $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres, $3,712.50 at 10 acres or more plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125one-time, per application2026-08-24
Demolition and Moving Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Fort Worth Development Services$84.37–$1,717.87 by floor areanot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Annual Contractor RegistrationCity of Fort Worth Development Services$168.75–$562.50 per year, by contractor classone year2026-08-24
Fire Operational Permit — High-Piled Storageonly if it applies to youFort Worth Fire Department$165 per permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Electrical Contractor Licenseonly if it applies to youTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation$110 non-refundable applicationannual2026-08-20

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Fort Worth

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Plan Review Depositonly if it applies to youCity of Fort Worth Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Fort Worth pageone-time, per application2026-08-24
Commercial Building PermitCity of Fort Worth Development ServicesVaries — formula on the Fort Worth pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-08-24
Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to youCity of Fort Worth Development Services$63 per reinspectionper inspection2026-08-24

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Fort Worth?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a contractor or trade in Fort Worth, TX, 2 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

6 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Zoning Change Application: $1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125

Planned Development Site Plan Review: $900 base; $1,350 for 0-5 acres, $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres, $3,712.50 at 10 acres or more plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125

Demolition and Moving Permit: $84.37–$1,717.87 by floor area

Annual Contractor Registration: $168.75–$562.50 per year, by contractor class

The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Fort Worth?

Permits for a contractor or trade in Fort Worth, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Fort Worth Development Services, Fort Worth Fire Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a contractor or trade need in Fort Worth that other businesses do not?

2 of the 7 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Fort Worth: Annual Contractor Registration and Electrical Contractor License.

Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materials

$390 for hazardous materials and the same $390 for an HMM facility — jointly the most expensive operational permits Fort Worth issues, alongside a place of assembly above 1,000 occupants. Lumber yards and woodworking plants are $305. Flammable and combustible liquids are $110, cutting and welding $110, industrial ovens $110, and repair garages and motor fuel-dispensing facilities $110.

Zoning Change Application

Banded by acreage and capped at $10,125. Two things are worth knowing before filing. The fee DOUBLES where double noticing and special City Council consideration are required or requested outside the normal processing schedule — and the ordinance is explicit that the doubled charge is not waived by any incentive programme the project qualifies for. And there is a genuine discount in the other direction: an application under one acre that down-zones to a one- or two-family district consistent with the adopted Comprehensive Plan is $506.25 rather than $1,350.

Annual Contractor Registration

$168.75 a year for a building or sign contractor and $562.50 for a parkway and utility contractor — over three times as much, reflecting the work in the public right of way. Sec. 118.2.1 requires every individual or business registering under the Code to pay the prescribed fee.

Fire Operational Permit — High-Piled Storage

$165. The same $165 covers compressed gases, cryogenic fluids, LP-gas, amusement buildings, aviation facilities, explosives, magnesium, pyroxylin plastics, tire rebuilding plants, waste handling, and liquid or gas-fuelled vehicles inside assembly buildings. At the cheaper end, $80 covers hot work operations, spraying and dipping, combustible dust-producing operations, combustible fibres, energy storage systems, open flames and candles, organic coatings, cellulose nitrate film and miscellaneous combustible storage. Storage of scrap tyres is $60.

Electrical Contractor License

Texas licenses no general contractor - there is no statewide builder license. Individual trades are licensed instead: electrical, plumbing and HVAC, each under its own programme. The $110 is the application fee. Published renewal figures conflict between $110 and $165 depending on license subtype, so no renewal amount is recorded until a reviewer confirms which applies.

Shared with other businesses in Fort Worth

  • Planned Development Site Plan Review — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $900 base; $1,350 for 0-5 acres, $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres, $3,712.50 at 10 acres or more plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125, one-time, per application. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Demolition and Moving Permit — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $84.37–$1,717.87 by floor area, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 3 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Fort Worth, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Fort Worth permits page. The 2 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Fort Worth?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 5 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs Annual Contractor Registration and Electrical Contractor License. A retail store needs Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly, Food Handler Certificate, Food Manager Certification and 12 more, which a contractor or trade does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Fort Worth, TX, compared with a contractor or trade
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a contractor or tradeOnly a contractor or trade needsOnly it needs
Retail stores205215
Auto repair shops4252
Fitness studios8256
Restaurants213418
Childcare centres4074
Coffee shops120712
Food trucks5075
Salons and barbers3073
Veterinary clinics2072

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Development fees schedule — Ordinance No. 27191-09-2024 amending the Code of the City of Fort WorthCity of Fort Worth Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. Apply for a New Electrical Contractor License - TDLRTexas Department of Licensing and Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.