9 permits · verified 2026-08-25
What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in El Paso?
In short
A childcare centre in El Paso, TX has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 3 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department charges $110 per certificate for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 9 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-25 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a childcare centre in El Paso
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Day Care Center Permit | City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement | $79–$170 per year, by capacity | 1 year | 2026-08-25 |
| Child Care License | Texas Health and Human Services | $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity | annual | 2026-08-20 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in El Paso
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the El Paso page | per review | 2026-08-25 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the El Paso page | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | $110 per certificate | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
| Demolition Permitonly if it applies to you | City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department | $115 per permit | not stated in the published schedule | 2026-08-25 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in El Paso?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 9 records listed for a childcare centre in El Paso, TX, 6 apply to every business of this type and 3 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $110.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 9 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Day Care Center Permit: $79–$170 per year, by capacity
Child Care License: $35 application, then an annual fee of $35 plus $1 per child of licensed capacity
The other 2 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the El Paso permits page and the TX state page.
Is El Paso expensive for a childcare centre?
Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — El Paso sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.
Certificate of Occupancy: El Paso charges $110. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 11 charge less and 10 charge more.
Demolition Permit: El Paso charges $115. Across 6 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Grand Prairie to $200 in Arlington, with a median of $106.50. 3 charge less and 2 charge more.
Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.
Which offices issue these permits in El Paso?
Permits for a childcare centre in El Paso, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of El Paso Planning and Inspections Department, City of El Paso Environmental Services Code Enforcement, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Texas Health and Human Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of El Paso Planning and Inspections DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Commercial Plan Review, Commercial Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Demolition Permit811 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901 · (915) 212-0104www.elpasotexas.gov/planning-and-inspections
- City of El Paso Environmental Services Code EnforcementIssues 1 permit on this page: Day Care Center Permit5115 El Paso Drive, El Paso, TX 79905 · (915) 212-6610www.elpasotexas.gov/public-health/services/food-inspection
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
- Texas Health and Human ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Child Care Licensewww.hhs.texas.gov
What does a childcare centre need in El Paso that other businesses do not?
2 of the 2 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in El Paso: Day Care Center Permit and Child Care License.
Day Care Center Permit
$79 for a home child care facility of twelve or fewer, $170 for a day care centre with more than twelve. Related care permits sit on the same schedule: an adult foster care or private care home for four or fewer is $79, and a personal care home is $105 for five to eight recipients and $158 for nine to eighteen. All of these are city permits and sit on top of the state license from Texas Health and Human Services. A health and sanitary site visit for a sack lunch day care without a food permit is $47. Most lines add an unquantified "applicable tech fee"; the schedule never states what it is, so confirm it before budgeting to the dollar.
Child Care License
Worked example: a centre licensed for 100 children pays $135 a year ($35 + $1 x 100). The annual fee falls on the anniversary of the date the initial license was issued, not on a calendar date.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in El Paso, TX; what each one involves is set out on the El Paso permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in El Paso?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Day Care Center Permit and Child Care License. A auto repair shop needs Fire Operational Permit, which a childcare centre does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a childcare centre | Only a childcare centre needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 0 | 2 | 6 |
| Contractors and trades | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 9 | 0 | 2 | 9 |
| Retail stores | 8 | 0 | 2 | 8 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the El Paso permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of El Paso FY 2026 Schedule C, Departmental Fee List (85 pages)City of El Paso · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-25
- 5200, Fees — Child Care Regulation HandbookTexas Health and Human Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
