11 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Fort Worth?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Fort Worth, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Fort Worth Development Services charges $90 per permit for the change of occupancy permit. 5 of the 11 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround | one-time, per request | 2026-08-24 |
| Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027only if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | No fee | not yet in effect — rules being written | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plan Review Depositonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Change of Occupancy Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $90 per permit | does not expire; a new certificate is required when the occupancy classification changes | 2026-08-24 |
| Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $63 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Inspection | Fort Worth Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Fort Worth?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 11 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Fort Worth, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $90.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 11 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Zoning Verification Letter: $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Fort Worth?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Fort Worth, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Fort Worth Development Services, Fort Worth Fire Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Fort Worth Development ServicesIssues 6 permits on this page, including Plan Review Deposit, Sign Permit, Zoning Verification Letterwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/development-services
- Fort Worth Fire DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Inspectionwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/fire
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a veterinary clinic need in Fort Worth that other businesses do not?
1 of the 2 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Fort Worth: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027.
Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027
Texas does not currently register veterinary FACILITIES - only individual veterinarians are licensed. SB2155 gave the Board that authority for the first time, and rules are being written for a September 2027 effective date. There is nothing to file today, but a practice opening now should expect this obligation to arrive. Whether mobile and house-call practices fall in scope is still undecided.
Shared with other businesses in Fort Worth
- Zoning Verification Letter — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround, one-time, per request. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, fitness studios, childcare centres and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Fort Worth, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Fort Worth permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Fort Worth?
The closest match is a salon or barber, which shares 1 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027. A salon or barber needs Grease Trap or Interceptor Permit and Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License, which a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Fitness studios | 8 | 1 | 1 | 7 |
| Retail stores | 20 | 1 | 1 | 19 |
| Restaurants | 21 | 1 | 1 | 20 |
| Coffee shops | 12 | 0 | 2 | 12 |
| Contractors and trades | 7 | 0 | 2 | 7 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Texas Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersTexas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners / TDLR · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
