29 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a retail store in Fort Worth?
In short
A retail store in Fort Worth, TX has 14 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 15 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Fort Worth Fire Department charges $390 per permit for the fire operational permit — hazardous materials. 13 of the 29 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a retail store in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly | Fort Worth Fire Department | $80–$390 by occupant load | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materialsonly if it applies to you | Fort Worth Fire Department | $390 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Handler Certificate | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $10–$16 per person, by course route | two years | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Manager Certification | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $85 for the online class | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Change Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Operational Permit — Pyrotechnic Special Effectsonly if it applies to you | Fort Worth Fire Department | $195 per permit | per event | 2026-08-24 |
| Planned Development Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $900 base; $1,350 for 0-5 acres, $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres, $3,712.50 at 10 acres or more plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Vendor Certificate of Occupancy for Temporary Vendorsonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $104.67 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Demolition and Moving Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $84.37–$1,717.87 by floor area | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Operational Permit — High-Piled Storageonly if it applies to you | Fort Worth Fire Department | $165 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Hotel and Motel Permit | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $580–$773 per year, full or limited service | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Annual Farmers Market Food Vendor Permit | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $100 per vendor, per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Food Establishment Plan Review | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $165–$500 by square footage | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Specialized Certificate of Occupancy — Sexually Oriented Business | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $1,125 per application | renewal, amendment and transfer are each charged again at the full rate | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary or Limited Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $378 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround | one-time, per request | 2026-08-24 |
| Swimming Pool, Spa and Aquatic Sprayground Permit | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $580 per pool or spa, per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Kitchen Hood Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $11.65–$31.37 by hood type and component | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Consumer Health Reinspectiononly if it applies to you | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $200 per site inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Annual Farmers Market Permit | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | No fee — per market, per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plan Review Depositonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Change of Occupancy Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $90 per permit | does not expire; a new certificate is required when the occupancy classification changes | 2026-08-24 |
| Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $63 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Inspection | Fort Worth Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Fort Worth?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 29 records listed for a retail store in Fort Worth, TX, 14 apply to every business of this type and 15 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 14 that always apply, 7 carry a flat fee, coming to $1,980.00. That is a floor, not a total. 13 of the 29 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly: $80–$390 by occupant load
Food Handler Certificate: $10–$16 per person, by course route
Zoning Change Application: $1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125
Planned Development Site Plan Review: $900 base; $1,350 for 0-5 acres, $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres, $3,712.50 at 10 acres or more plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125
Demolition and Moving Permit: $84.37–$1,717.87 by floor area
Hotel and Motel Permit: $580–$773 per year, full or limited service
Food Establishment Plan Review: $165–$500 by square footage
Zoning Verification Letter: $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround
Commercial Kitchen Hood Permit: $11.65–$31.37 by hood type and component
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Fort Worth?
Permits for a retail store in Fort Worth, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Fort Worth Development Services, Fort Worth Fire Department, Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Fort Worth Development ServicesIssues 13 permits on this page, including Plan Review Deposit, Zoning Change Application, Sign Permitwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/development-services
- Fort Worth Fire DepartmentIssues 5 permits on this page, including Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly, Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materials, Fire Operational Permit — Pyrotechnic Special Effectswww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/fire
- Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health DivisionIssues 8 permits on this page, including Food Handler Certificate, Food Manager Certification, Hotel and Motel Permit817-392-7255www.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/environmental-services/consumer-health
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a retail store need in Fort Worth that other businesses do not?
2 of the 20 permits particular to a retail store here apply to no other business type we cover in Fort Worth: Hotel and Motel Permit and Specialized Certificate of Occupancy — Sexually Oriented Business.
Food Handler Certificate
$16 for a class at the Consumer Health Division's main office or taught at your own facility by Consumer Health staff, $12 through a contract trainer with approved curriculum, and $10 for the city's own online class — so the online route is nearly 40% cheaper and the difference compounds across a whole kitchen. Valid two years. Note the payment rule for on-site classes: no payments are accepted at the facility, and the full amount is due at the Consumer Health main office.
Hotel and Motel Permit
$773 for a full-service hotel or motel and $580 for a limited-service one — a flat annual permit rather than the per-room charge Arlington levies, which makes Fort Worth dramatically cheaper for a large property and slightly dearer for a small one. Reinspection after closure of a hotel or motel is $200.
Annual Farmers Market Food Vendor Permit
$100 a year for each food vendor at a farmers market, against a free permit for the market itself. For a trader doing a market most weekends this is the cheapest route into Fort Worth by a wide margin — the temporary event booth permit is $52 for up to 14 days, so the annual vendor permit pays for itself in a fortnight of trading.
Specialized Certificate of Occupancy — Sexually Oriented Business
$1,125 for a new specialized certificate, and $1,125 again to amend, modify, renew or transfer it — no reduced renewal rate at all, which is unusual and makes this the most expensive recurring license Fort Worth issues. Compare Frisco at $750 to apply and $350 to renew, and Waco at $350 a year.
Temporary or Limited Certificate of Occupancy
$378 — more than four times the $90 charged for a full change of occupancy, which is an unusual inversion. In most Texas cities the temporary certificate is the cheaper document; in Fort Worth it is decisively the expensive one, so opening on a temporary certificate is a deliberate cost rather than a convenience.
Annual Farmers Market Permit
Free. Fort Worth charges nothing to permit the market itself — the only zero-cost permit in this dataset, and a deliberate policy choice worth knowing about if you are deciding where to run one. Waco charges $200 for the equivalent organiser license plus $100 for the inspection. The vendors trading inside it are permitted separately at $100 each a year.
Shared with other businesses in Fort Worth
- Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly — Fort Worth Fire Department, $80–$390 by occupant load, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, fitness studios and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materials — Fort Worth Fire Department, $390 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Food Manager Certification — Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, $85 for the online class, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Zoning Change Application — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Fire Operational Permit — Pyrotechnic Special Effects — Fort Worth Fire Department, $195 per permit, per event. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Planned Development Site Plan Review — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $900 base; $1,350 for 0-5 acres, $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres, $3,712.50 at 10 acres or more plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, contractors and trades and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Vendor Certificate of Occupancy for Temporary Vendors — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $104.67 per certificate, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for food trucks and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
- Demolition and Moving Permit — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $84.37–$1,717.87 by floor area, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Fire Operational Permit — High-Piled Storage — Fort Worth Fire Department, $165 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Food Establishment Plan Review — Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, $165–$500 by square footage, one-time, per application. Also required for coffee shops and restaurants; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Zoning Verification Letter — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround, one-time, per request. Also required for restaurants, auto repair shops, fitness studios, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Swimming Pool, Spa and Aquatic Sprayground Permit — Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, $580 per pool or spa, per year, one year. Also required for fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
- Commercial Kitchen Hood Permit — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $11.65–$31.37 by hood type and component, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Consumer Health Reinspection — Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, $200 per site inspection, per inspection. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, childcare centres and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Fort Worth, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Fort Worth permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Fort Worth?
The closest match is a restaurant, which shares 15 of these permits. A retail store also needs Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materials, Fire Operational Permit — High-Piled Storage, Hotel and Motel Permit and 2 more. A restaurant needs Food Permit Change of Ownership, Fixed Food Establishment Annual Permit, Pre-Permit Request for Services and 3 more, which a retail store does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a retail store | Only a retail store needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 21 | 15 | 5 | 6 |
| Fitness studios | 8 | 7 | 13 | 1 |
| Coffee shops | 12 | 7 | 13 | 5 |
| Contractors and trades | 7 | 5 | 15 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 3 | 17 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 3 | 17 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 2 | 18 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 19 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 19 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, contractors and trades page, restaurants page, food trucks page, fitness studios page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Consumer Health Division Schedule of Fees, effective 1 September 2025 (revised 26 June 2025)City of Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Development fees schedule — Ordinance No. 27191-09-2024 amending the Code of the City of Fort WorthCity of Fort Worth Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
