13 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Fort Worth?
In short
A auto repair shop in Fort Worth, TX has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Fort Worth Fire Department charges $390 per permit for the fire operational permit — hazardous materials. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materialsonly if it applies to you | Fort Worth Fire Department | $390 per permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Change Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Grease Trap or Interceptor Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $9.85 per trap or interceptor | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround | one-time, per request | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plan Review Depositonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Change of Occupancy Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $90 per permit | does not expire; a new certificate is required when the occupancy classification changes | 2026-08-24 |
| Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $63 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Inspection | Fort Worth Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Fort Worth?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a auto repair shop in Fort Worth, TX, 4 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $90.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Zoning Change Application: $1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125
Zoning Verification Letter: $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Fort Worth?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Fort Worth, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of Fort Worth Development Services, Fort Worth Fire Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Fort Worth Development ServicesIssues 8 permits on this page, including Plan Review Deposit, Zoning Change Application, Sign Permitwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/development-services
- Fort Worth Fire DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materials, Fire Inspectionwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/fire
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a auto repair shop need in Fort Worth that other businesses do not?
Shared with other businesses in Fort Worth
- Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materials — Fort Worth Fire Department, $390 per permit, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Zoning Change Application — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Grease Trap or Interceptor Permit — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $9.85 per trap or interceptor, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Zoning Verification Letter — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround, one-time, per request. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, fitness studios, childcare centres, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Fort Worth, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Fort Worth permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Fort Worth?
The closest match is a salon or barber, which shares 2 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materials and Zoning Change Application. A salon or barber needs Barbering and Cosmetology Establishment License, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Contractors and trades | 7 | 2 | 2 | 5 |
| Fitness studios | 8 | 2 | 2 | 6 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 3 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Retail stores | 20 | 3 | 1 | 17 |
| Restaurants | 21 | 3 | 1 | 18 |
| Coffee shops | 12 | 1 | 3 | 11 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 0 | 4 | 5 |
Sources
Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the contractors and trades page, coffee shops page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
