17 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Fort Worth?
In short
A fitness studio in Fort Worth, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Fort Worth Development Services charges $378 per certificate for the temporary or limited certificate of occupancy. 8 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a fitness studio in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly | Fort Worth Fire Department | $80–$390 by occupant load | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Change Applicationonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Planned Development Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $900 base; $1,350 for 0-5 acres, $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres, $3,712.50 at 10 acres or more plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125 | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Temporary or Limited Certificate of Occupancyonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $378 per certificate | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround | one-time, per request | 2026-08-24 |
| Swimming Pool, Spa and Aquatic Sprayground Permit | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $580 per pool or spa, per year | one year | 2026-08-24 |
| Consumer Health Reinspectiononly if it applies to you | Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division | $200 per site inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Health Spa Certificate of Registration | Texas Secretary of State | $100 per location, per year | annual | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Fort Worth
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plan Review Depositonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Change of Occupancy Permit | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $90 per permit | does not expire; a new certificate is required when the occupancy classification changes | 2026-08-24 |
| Reinspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Fort Worth Development Services | $63 per reinspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
| Fire Inspection | Fort Worth Fire Department | Varies — formula on the Fort Worth page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Fort Worth?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a fitness studio in Fort Worth, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $770.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 0 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly: $80–$390 by occupant load
Zoning Change Application: $1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125
Planned Development Site Plan Review: $900 base; $1,350 for 0-5 acres, $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres, $3,712.50 at 10 acres or more plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125
Zoning Verification Letter: $56.25–$112.50 10-day or 3-day turnaround
The other 4 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Fort Worth?
Permits for a fitness studio in Fort Worth, TX come from 5 separate offices: City of Fort Worth Development Services, Fort Worth Fire Department, Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Fort Worth Development ServicesIssues 9 permits on this page, including Plan Review Deposit, Zoning Change Application, Sign Permitwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/development-services
- Fort Worth Fire DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly, Fire Inspectionwww.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/fire
- Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health DivisionIssues 2 permits on this page: Swimming Pool, Spa and Aquatic Sprayground Permit, Consumer Health Reinspection817-392-7255www.fortworthtexas.gov/departments/environmental-services/consumer-health
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 3 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA), Health Spa Certificate of Registrationwww.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a fitness studio need in Fort Worth that other businesses do not?
1 of the 8 permits particular to a fitness studio here applies to no other business type we cover in Fort Worth: Health Spa Certificate of Registration.
Zoning Verification Letter
$56.25 for a 10-day letter or $112.50 for a 3-day one — Fort Worth is the only city in this dataset that sells the turnaround rather than just the letter. Exactly double for a week saved, which is worth paying when a lease or a state alcohol application is waiting on it.
Swimming Pool, Spa and Aquatic Sprayground Permit
$580 per pool or spa per year, plus $5 per employee — so a hotel with a pool and a separate spa pays $1,160 before the employee count is added. This is the most expensive standing aquatic permit in this dataset, against $350 year-round in Arlington and $240 in Abilene. The pool operator's course, valid three years, is $100 and requires pre-registration.
Health Spa Certificate of Registration
Texas law is direct about this: a person may not operate a health spa, or sell a health spa membership, without a certificate of registration. A health spa is defined as a business selling memberships that provide instruction in, or use of facilities for, a physical exercise programme — so an ordinary gym or studio selling memberships is inside the definition. Each location needs its own certificate and the fee is $100, original or renewal, effective for one year. The fee is rarely the real cost. Security must be provided for each location, and the amount is set by the total amount paid for PREPAID memberships at that location, not by how many members you have: $20,000 of security up to $20,000 of prepaid memberships, then $25,000, $30,000, $35,000, $40,000 and $45,000 in steps, reaching $50,000 once prepaid memberships pass $45,000. Two exemptions matter and are worth checking before you post a bond. A facility that does not require memberships longer than 31 days, does not charge an initiation fee and does not take recurring debits can be exempt. So can an established operator with more than $50,000 in assets per location, at least five years of stable ownership and no closure-related complaints, applying on Form 3006. Separately exempt from registration altogether: tax-exempt organisations, member-owned private clubs, businesses teaching only dance or aerobics, those providing only physical rehabilitation, entities operating under a state license, and school activities under the Education Code.
Shared with other businesses in Fort Worth
- Fire Operational Permit — Places of Assembly — Fort Worth Fire Department, $80–$390 by occupant load, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores and coffee shops; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
- Zoning Change Application — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $1,350 under 1 acre; $2,025 to 2 acres; $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres; $3,712.50 for 10.01-25 acres; above 25 acres $3,712.50 plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the contractors and trades page.
- Planned Development Site Plan Review — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $900 base; $1,350 for 0-5 acres, $3,037.50 for 5.01-10 acres, $3,712.50 at 10 acres or more plus $84.37 per acre, capped at $10,125, one-time, per application. Also required for retail stores, restaurants and contractors and trades; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Temporary or Limited Certificate of Occupancy — City of Fort Worth Development Services, $378 per certificate, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops and retail stores; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Consumer Health Reinspection — Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division, $200 per site inspection, per inspection. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Fort Worth, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Fort Worth permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Fort Worth?
The closest match is a retail store, which shares 7 of these permits. A fitness studio also needs Health Spa Certificate of Registration. A retail store needs Fire Operational Permit — Hazardous Materials, Food Handler Certificate, Food Manager Certification and 10 more, which a fitness studio does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a fitness studio | Only a fitness studio needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Retail stores | 20 | 7 | 1 | 13 |
| Restaurants | 21 | 6 | 2 | 15 |
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 2 | 6 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 2 | 6 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 12 | 3 | 5 | 9 |
| Contractors and trades | 7 | 2 | 6 | 5 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 1 | 7 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 7 | 2 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 0 | 8 | 5 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page, contractors and trades page, restaurants page, retail stores page and childcare centres page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Fort Worth permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Development fees schedule — Ordinance No. 27191-09-2024 amending the Code of the City of Fort WorthCity of Fort Worth Development Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Consumer Health Division Schedule of Fees, effective 1 September 2025 (revised 26 June 2025)City of Fort Worth Environmental Services Department, Consumer Health Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Frequently Asked Questions for Health Spas — Texas Secretary of StateTexas Secretary of State · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-22
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
