Commercial Compliance Hub

18 published records

Business licenses and permits in Allen, Texas

Allen puts every fee the city charges into one thirty-page schedule, which makes it unusually easy to price a whole opening rather than just the permit you came for. Food permits are flat bands by what the kitchen does — $200 with no preparation up to $450 for a grocery store — while construction runs off a valuation table with a 25 per cent plan review surcharge on top. Two lines are worth knowing before you sign a lease. A certificate of occupancy is $125 and is charged again for a change in occupancy or business use, so taking over existing premises is not free. And a grocery department permit at $250 is charged per counter inside a store, on top of the store's own $450.

What are you opening in Allen?

Permits that apply to every type of business in Allen

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Building PermitCity of Allen Building and Permitting DivisionFee Table 1 on total valuation, plus 25% of that fee for plan reviewper permit2026-08-27
Fire Protection System Construction PermitCity of Allen Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office$0.015 per square foot of building area up to 100,000 sq ft, minimum $50per permit2026-08-27
Commercial Trade and Over-the-Counter Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Allen Building and Permitting Division$50–$300 per permit, by work typeper permit2026-08-27
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Allen Planning and Development$30–$300 per permit, by sign type1 year for temporary and billboard permits; not stated for permanent signs2026-08-27
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Allen Building and Permitting Division$125 per certificatenot stated in the published schedule2026-08-27

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

What do these permits involve in Allen?

Commercial Building Permit

New construction, a shell building, a finish-out, an addition and an alteration are all priced the same way: Fee Table 1 on total valuation, then 25 per cent of that again for plan review. The table runs from $23.50 at the bottom to $5,608.75 for the first $1m plus $3.15 per additional $1,000. A $250,000 restaurant fit-out therefore works out at roughly $1,744 in permit fee plus about $436 in plan review. Two surcharges are easy to miss: an early plan review before the development permit issues, and a foundation-only permit, each add the greater of 10 per cent of the plan review fee or $500. Multifamily is priced per unit instead, at $450 plus the same 25 per cent.

Fire Protection System Construction Permit

Charged on building area, not on the cost of the system: $0.015 a square foot to 100,000 square feet with a $50 floor, then $1,500 for the first 100,000 plus $0.014 for each further foot to 300,000, and $3,700 for the first 300,000 plus $0.009 beyond. A 4,000 square foot restaurant therefore pays the $60 the formula produces, while a 250,000 square foot warehouse pays about $3,600. It covers new installation or modification of automatic extinguishing, detection and fire command systems. Reinspections are free first time, then $50, $75 and $100.

Commercial Trade and Over-the-Counter Permit

Flat prices for work that does not need the valuation table: $75 over the counter for an electrical, mechanical or plumbing trade permit, $175 for a complete HVAC system, $75 for a water heater, $75 for demolition, $150 for re-roofing, $75 for a screening wall or fence, $200 for an arbor, patio or carport, $300 for an outdoor kitchen and $50 for anything classed as miscellaneous. Landscape irrigation is $10 a zone with a $75 minimum and a $500 cap. Reinspections escalate: $75, then $100, then $125, with after-hours work at $75 an hour on a two-hour minimum.

Sign Permit

$100 for an illuminated freestanding or wall sign and $50 for a non-illuminated one — the illumination, not the size, is what doubles the price. Temporary signage is $100 a year, dropping to $30 for banners, special events and grand openings. A billboard renews at $200 per face annually. If you are permitting a whole frontage at once, ask about the sign plan at $300, which the schedule prices at the lesser of $300 or 80 per cent of what the signs would cost permitted individually. One provision worth knowing: if the application is refused, half the fee is refunded.

Certificate of Occupancy

$125, and the schedule charges the same $125 again for a change in occupancy or business use — so taking over premises that already trade is not a formality, even where you are changing nothing physical. A temporary certificate is $200, which is the more expensive of the two and worth avoiding by finishing inspections rather than trading early. A duplicate permit document is $5.

Sources

Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. City of Allen Fee Schedule, last updated 10 June 2026 through Res. No. 4218-5-26(R)City of Allen · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-27

Who issues business permits in Allen?

Permitting in Allen is split across 4 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.

Allen issuing agencies

Other Texas jurisdictions we cover

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.