Commercial Compliance Hub

13 published records

Business licenses and permits in Providence, Rhode Island

The Board of Licenses' own 'About the Board' page describes licenses issued 'in over 30 different categories' and names no general municipal business license; the Board (not the City Clerk or the Collector of Taxes) administers those activity-specific categories, and the page names Hackney (taxi), Food dispensing, Peddlers, Motor vehicle repair, Nightlife operations, and Liquor licenses among them. A local 'Food dispensing' license, layered on top of the Rhode Island Department of Health's own statewide Food Establishment License (recorded at the state layer), is shown as a $100.00-$110.00 range because the State of Rhode Island Division of Municipal Finance's 2024 fee compilation prints two adjacent figures for Providence under two related columns ('Victualing' $100.00 and 'Tavern, Cookshop, etc.' $110.00). A $200.00/year 'Auto Repair Shop' license (the Board's own 'Motor vehicle repair' category) and a $250.00/year seasonal Sidewalk Dining permit are also recorded from the same state compilation. A food truck instead holds a distinct, City-specific $75.00 Mobile Food Establishment (MFE) Permit, layered on top of a State MFE Registration (RI Department of Business Regulation) and a Mobile Food Service License (RIDOH), as stated on the City's own MFE permitting document. The Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS) administers a Building Permit priced on a valuation-based formula that Rhode Island's own Building Code Commission sets and prices specifically for Providence (510-RICR-00-00-21 §21.12.28: $23.00/$1,000 up to $10,000, $230.00 + $21.00/$1,000 to $50,000, $1,070.00 + $19.00/$1,000 above that, $125.00 minimum) — a state-set, locally-collected fee, as the City's own Permits FAQ also states. The City's Request Certificate of Occupancy page and Permits FAQ state no separate Certificate of Occupancy fee. A $25.00 Zoning Certificate fee and a Zoning Board of Review fee schedule ($115.00 advertising plus a $175.00-$870.00 processing fee, capped at $2,600.00 combined) are both stated in the City's own current Zoning Ordinance and Zoning Board of Review application instructions; the Zoning Ordinance's sign article (Article 16) sets no separate sign-permit fee beyond the same $25.00 Zoning Certificate mechanism. The Providence Fire Department's own Fire Prevention Bureau page states a flat $100.00 fee for 'all fire inspection,' required for business licensing, change of occupancy, and property sales, among other triggers. The City publishes no additional local layer for contractors beyond Rhode Island's own state RICRB registration, for childcare beyond the general commercial process and the state's own Child Care License, or for salons beyond the state's own Barbering/Hairdressing Shop License.

What are you opening in Providence?

Permits that apply to every type of business in Providence

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)only if it applies to youCity of Providence Zoning Board of ReviewA $115.00 advertising fee per application, plus a processing fee scaled by use: $175.00 (one-family dwelling), $345.00 (two-family), $430.00 (three-family), $520.00 for a multi-family building's first four units plus $80.00 for each additional unit, or $870.00 for all other uses (the category covering most commercial applications). Where mixed use codes apply, the higher fee governs. In no case does the combined advertisement-plus-processing fee exceed $2,600.00.one-time, per application2026-09-12
Fire Prevention Bureau Commercial InspectionProvidence Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau$100 per inspectionnot stated in the published fee schedule — billed per inspection whenever a qualifying trigger occurs2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)No feeone-time — issued after final inspections and close-out documentation confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Zoning Certificate / Zoning Certificate for Complianceonly if it applies to youCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)$25 one-time, per applicationone-time, per application — not stated in the published ordinance2026-09-12
Building PermitCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards (DIS)A project-valuation-based fee set specifically for Providence by the Rhode Island Building Code Commission (510-RICR-00-00-21 §21.12.28): $23.00 per $1,000 (or part thereof) of project valuation for the first $10,000; $230.00 plus $21.00 per $1,000 exceeding $10,000, up to $50,000; and $1,070.00 plus $19.00 per $1,000 exceeding $50,000 above that, with a $125.00 minimum fee overall.one-time, per project; the permit expires after six months if no work is performed or inspection conducted2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

What do these permits involve in Providence?

Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit, Appeal)

The Zoning Ordinance's own text states this fee 'is set by the City Council under a separate ordinance' rather than printing a dollar figure directly — the City's own 2024-updated Zoning Board of Review application instructions publish that schedule's current figures. Triggered when a proposed use, structure, or dimensional standard does not conform outright to the Zoning Ordinance and requires a variance, special use permit, or appeal decided by the five-member Zoning Board of Review.

Fire Prevention Bureau Commercial Inspection

The Fire Prevention Bureau's own current page states plainly, 'A fee of $100.00 is charged for all fire inspection,' and lists the reasons an inspection is required, including sale of a business or property, change of use/occupancy, Board of Licenses licensing, complaints or investigations, and an owner's own request. This is separate from the Bureau's own $30.00 smoke/carbon-monoxide detector inspection fee, which applies only to 1- and 2-family home sales and new houses rather than a standing commercial requirement, so is not recorded as its own line here.

Certificate of Occupancy

The Department's own current 'Request Certificate of Occupancy' page and its Permits FAQ document describe the required close-out documentation (architect/engineer affidavits, final testing reports, as-built plans, occupant load, use group) and state no standalone dollar figure for the certificate itself, so this record carries no fee beyond the Building Permit fee already listed.

Zoning Certificate / Zoning Certificate for Compliance

The Zoning Ordinance's own text states plainly: 'The fee for a zoning certificate and for a zoning certificate for compliance is $25.00.' Typically sought before signing a lease, opening a new location, or confirming a change of use complies with the applicable zoning district, and processed by DIS through its online Viewpoint permitting portal.

Building Permit

This fee formula is set statewide by Rhode Island's own Building Code Commission on a per-municipality basis, not by Providence itself — the City's own Permits FAQ confirms this directly, stating 'these fees were set by the State of Rhode Island in July of 2018.' Providence's own DIS administers and collects the fee locally, double-checking a stated construction cost against the International Code Council's own Building Valuation Data table to prevent undervaluation. Separate Mechanical, Electrical, and Plumbing trade permits are priced under the same regulation and require a licensed contractor (or an owner-occupant of a single-family home) to apply.

Sources

Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Zoning Board of Review — Application for Variance and/or Special Use Permit, Instructions and Fee Schedule (2024 update)City of Providence Zoning Board of Review / Department of Inspection and Standards · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. City of Providence Official Zoning Ordinance, Article 18 §1801.G (Fees — $25.00 Zoning Certificate) and Article 16 (Signs)City of Providence, Department of Planning and Development · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  3. Fire Prevention Bureau — the Department's own current page stating the $100.00 fire inspection fee and its required triggersProvidence Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  4. Request Certificate of Occupancy — the Department's own current page, stating no published feeCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  5. Permits: Frequently Asked Questions — building permit fee table, six-month permit expiration, and Certificate of Occupancy requirementsCity of Providence, Department of Inspection and Standards · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  6. 510-RICR-00-00-21, Process for Establishing Statewide Building Permit Fees (current amendment effective 12/10/2023), §21.12.28 — the City of Providence's own fee scheduleRhode Island Building Code Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12

Who issues business permits in Providence?

Permitting in Providence is split across 4 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.

Providence issuing agencies

Other Rhode Island jurisdictions we cover

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.