Commercial Compliance Hub

13 published records

Business licenses and permits in Warwick, Rhode Island

The City's Board of Public Safety page states that the three-member, mayor-appointed Board 'acts as the licensing authority for the City of Warwick,' with the Police Department's Licensing Division serving as the administrative intake point by appointment; the City Clerk's Office page covers vital records, land recordings and dog licenses and refers trade-name certificates to the Rhode Island Secretary of State. Chapter 18, Sec. 18-2 ('Miscellaneous license fees') of the Code of Ordinances (Supplement No. 32) prices the Board-of-Public-Safety-administered activity licenses: a First class victualer pays no fee where a liquor license is held (expiring 12/1) while a Second class victualer pays $100.00 to midnight, $150.00 to 2:00 a.m. or $250.00 for 24 hours (expiring 2/1); every mobile-food and peddler category — food peddler/hot dog, truck caterer, general peddler, fruit peddler, ice cream peddler, frozen lemonade — is $200.00, with the food line adding that a state hawker's and health license is required on top; and massage parlors are $100.00 for a year from issue. Rhode Island's own Division of Municipal Finance compilation, read positionally, independently reports Victualing $100.00, Massage Therapy $100.00 and Misc. Peddler/Hawkers & Peddlers $200.00 for Warwick, agreeing with the ordinance. The City's own published PDFs price a Building Permit on a valuation formula ($10.00/$8.00/$6.00 per $1,000 across three brackets, $75.00 minimum), matching Rhode Island's own Building Code Commission regulation (510-RICR-00-00-21 §21.12, item 35), plus a further 'CE/ADA fee' add-on Warwick's own document prints literally as $0.002 per $1,000 of valuation; a Zoning Certificate ($50.00 residential/$100.00 commercial); a Zoning Board of Review variance/special-use-permit filing fee ($102.00 residential/$302.00 commercial, plus $0.78 per abutter, under a fee schedule adopted November 2005); and a Building Board of Appeals fee ($50.00 residential/$250.00 commercial). A standalone Certificate of Occupancy fee, sign permit fee or commercial fire-inspection fee is not published in the City's Permit Fees schedule or on its Building Department and Fire Prevention pages; the Fire Prevention page addresses a residential smoke/CO detector inspection tied to home sales. The City's Permit Fees schedule publishes no childcare-specific inspection line (unlike Cranston's $75.00 Day Care Inspection), and the Police Department's Licensing Division page lists no auto-repair-specific or contractor license; contractors register with Rhode Island's state Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board (RICRB), which is headquartered in Warwick.

What are you opening in Warwick?

Permits that apply to every type of business in Warwick

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Warwick Building DepartmentNo feeone-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Zoning Certificateonly if it applies to youCity of Warwick Zoning Board of Review$100 one-time, per application (the 'Multi-Family Dwelling or Commercial Property' rate; a lower $50.00 rate applies only to a single-family residential dwelling)one-time, per application; the City's own form states a minimum of fifteen business days to process2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit)only if it applies to youCity of Warwick Zoning Board of ReviewA Commercial Filing Fee of $302.00 ($250.00 base fee plus a $52.00 recording fee) plus $0.78 for each abutter on the required mailing list, under the fee schedule adopted November 2005. (A Residential Filing Fee of $102.00 — $50.00 plus the same $52.00 recording fee — plus the same $0.78 per abutter applies to a single-family dwelling, not to the commercial uses covered on this page.)one-time, per application2026-09-12
Fire Prevention/Commercial Fire Inspection (fee not published)only if it applies to youWarwick Fire DepartmentNo feenot stated on the Fire Department's Fire Prevention page2026-09-12
Building PermitCity of Warwick Building DepartmentA project-valuation-based fee: $10.00 per $1,000 of valuation for the first $10,000; $100.00 plus $8.00 per $1,000 exceeding $10,000, up to $50,000; and $420.00 plus $6.00 per $1,000 exceeding $50,000, with a $75.00 minimum fee overall. A further add-on applies for the 'State of Rhode Island CE/ADA fee,' printed in the City's own current schedule as '$.002 per thousand of the Project Valuation' (updated as of January 2025) and quoted here as printed; the levy is mandated by R.I. Gen. Laws §23-27.3-108.2, and the Building Department can confirm how it applies the figure to a given project.one-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

What do these permits involve in Warwick?

Certificate of Occupancy

A standalone Certificate of Occupancy fee is not published in Warwick's current Permit Fees schedule, which lists only the project-valuation building permit brackets, the $75.00 minimum and the State CE/ADA add-on; the Building Department page and its residential and commercial Building Permit checklists state no separate Certificate of Occupancy charge either. A Certificate of Occupancy remains a required close-out step confirming code compliance for new construction or a change of use, issued by the Building Department after final inspections; contact the Building Department at (401) 738-2007 to confirm whether any charge applies beyond the Building Permit fee recorded above.

Zoning Certificate

The City's own current Zoning Certificate Request form prices this at $50.00 for a residential single-family dwelling and $100.00 for a multi-family dwelling or commercial property — every commercial business type covered on this page falls in the $100.00 commercial band. The form itself states plainly, 'THIS CERTIFICATE DOES NOT SIGNIFY BUILDING APPROVAL AND IS NOT AN AUTHORIZATION TO UNDERTAKE ANY WORK WITHOUT THE ISSUANCE OF THE PROPER PERMITS FROM THE BUILDING DEPARTMENT.' Typically sought before signing a lease, opening a new location, or confirming a change of use complies with the applicable zoning district; the City verifies current use against its own records as part of processing.

Zoning Board of Review Application (Variance, Special Use Permit)

The Zoning Board of Review is a five-member board deciding variances (relief from dimensional requirements such as setbacks, parking, or density) and special use permits (a regulated use, such as a gas station, requiring Board approval before being permitted). Payment is by check only, made to the City of Warwick. If the property is owned by an LLC or corporation, an attorney must represent the applicant at the hearing. The City's own instructions warn that a Zoning Board approval does not itself authorize construction and does not guarantee a building permit will issue, since it does not address curb cuts, flood plain, building code, fire safety, or wetlands/coastal-resource management requirements. Since March 2025, applications must also be filed online in addition to the paper copies. This fee structure is genuinely different from both Cranston's (scaled by building type and, for commercial buildings, by square footage) and Providence's (a flat $115.00 advertising fee plus a use-scaled processing fee capped at $2,600.00) own Zoning Board fee schedules.

Fire Prevention/Commercial Fire Inspection (fee not published)

A commercial fire-inspection fee is not published by the Warwick Fire Department. Its current 'Fire Prevention' page addresses a residential smoke/carbon-monoxide detector inspection required at the point of a one- or two-family home sale — with a $150.00 escrow-account alternative to an in-person inspection under a March 18, 2020 Rhode Island Fire Safety Code Board of Appeal and Review ruling — not a standing commercial fire-inspection or life-safety-use permit fee. By comparison, Cranston publishes a $75.00 annual life-hazard-use permit and a separate valuation-based fire safety plan review fee, and Providence publishes a flat $100.00 all-fire-inspection fee, but Warwick's own Fire Department pages publish no comparable commercial fee. A business owner should confirm current commercial fire-inspection requirements and any associated fee directly with the Fire Department.

Building Permit

Warwick's own current fee schedule states it is 'State Mandated as of July 1, 2018,' with bracket rates that match Rhode Island's own Building Code Commission regulation (510-RICR-00-00-21 §21.12, item 35, 'City of Warwick') — the identical $10.00/$8.00/$6.00-per-$1,000 brackets and $75.00 minimum appear in both documents. These figures are genuinely different from both Cranston's ($20.00/$18.00/$16.00 per $1,000, $75.00 minimum) and Providence's ($23.00/$21.00/$19.00 per $1,000, $125.00 minimum) own city-specific schedules under the same statewide regulation. A separate Building Board of Appeals (also called the Building Code Board of Appeals) fee applies only if a State Building Code decision is petitioned for variation: $50.00 for a one- or two-family residential structure, $250.00 for a commercial structure, per the City's own current application form. Commercial submittals are filed through Rhode Island's own statewide e-permitting portal (permits.ri.us) with plans stamped by a registered architect or engineer.

Sources

Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Building Department — the department's own current page; no standalone Certificate of Occupancy fee or contractor-registration category is statedCity of Warwick Building Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Zoning Certificate Request (Revised Dec. 2023) — the $50.00 residential/$100.00 commercial feeCity of Warwick Zoning Board of Review · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  3. Requirements for Filing a Zoning Application (Updated 2026) — the $102.00 residential/$302.00 commercial filing fee schedule adopted November 2005, plus $0.78 per abutterCity of Warwick Zoning Board of Review · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  4. Zoning Board of Review — the Board's own current departmental pageCity of Warwick Zoning Board of Review · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  5. Fire Prevention — the department's own current page, addressing only a residential smoke/CO detector inspection with a $150.00 escrow alternativeWarwick Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  6. City of Warwick Permit Fees (State Mandated as of July 1, 2018) — the building permit valuation formula and the 'State of Rhode Island CE/ADA fee' add-onCity of Warwick Building Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  7. 510-RICR-00-00-21, Process for Establishing Statewide Building Permit Fees (current amendment effective 12/10/2023), §21.12.28 — the City of Providence's own fee scheduleRhode Island Building Code Commission · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  8. Building Board of Appeals Application — the $50.00 residential/$250.00 commercial fee for a petition to vary the State Building CodeCity of Warwick Building Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12

Who issues business permits in Warwick?

Permitting in Warwick is split across 4 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.

Warwick issuing agencies

Other Rhode Island jurisdictions we cover

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.