Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Portland?

In short

A coffee shop in Portland, ME has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department charges $93 per temporary license: unopened prepackaged food (license period up to three months) or opened/nonprepackaged food (per event, up to fourteen days) for the temporary food service establishment license. 8 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Portland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Temporary Food Service Establishment Licenseonly if it applies to youCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$93 per temporary license: unopened prepackaged food (license period up to three months) or opened/nonprepackaged food (per event, up to fourteen days)one-time, per temporary event or transitory gathering2026-09-12
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee).one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Master Box Fire Alarm System Connectiononly if it applies to youPortland Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division$625.00 new connection fee; $350.00 annual maintenance fee thereafter (due every July 1), reduced to $100.00 for each additional alarm system at the same location; $275.00 to convert an existing mechanical Master Box Alarm System to a wireless one; a $100.00 reconnection fee applies after a voluntary disconnection.annual maintenance fee, due July 1; connection fee one-time2026-09-12
Food Service Establishment LicenseCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$181–$459 annual, banded by what is prepared on-site (non-liquor tiers): $181.00 with no food preparation on the premises, $230.00 where preparation is limited to non-alcoholic beverages only, $415.00 with beer and wine take-out, $459.00 for full food preparation on the premises or a commissary; expires January 31annual — expires January 31 for the non-liquor tiers2026-09-12
Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to youMaine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Inspection ProgramNot a state fee — priced by the private accredited provider, commonly in the range of $89 to $2355 years2026-09-04
Eating Establishment LicenseMaine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Inspection Program$205–$300 a year, banded by seating capacityannual2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Portland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Portland pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspectionone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use2026-09-12
Planning Board Site Plan Review / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Portland pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Appeals Variance / Appeal (fee not published)only if it applies to youCity of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ME registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$145 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$175 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax RegistrationMaine Revenue ServicesNo feeno expiration — valid until cancelled by the retailer or revoked by the state2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsVaries — formula on the ME pageannual — due 1 June every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsNo feeset by the town or city2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Portland?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a coffee shop in Portland, ME, 5 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 8 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee).

Master Box Fire Alarm System Connection: $625.00 new connection fee; $350.00 annual maintenance fee thereafter (due every July 1), reduced to $100.00 for each additional alarm system at the same location; $275.00 to convert an existing mechanical Master Box Alarm System to a wireless one; a $100.00 reconnection fee applies after a voluntary disconnection.

Food Service Establishment License: $181–$459 annual, banded by what is prepared on-site (non-liquor tiers): $181.00 with no food preparation on the premises, $230.00 where preparation is limited to non-alcoholic beverages only, $415.00 with beer and wine take-out, $459.00 for full food preparation on the premises or a commissary; expires January 31

Certified Food Protection Manager: Not a state fee — priced by the private accredited provider, commonly in the range of $89 to $235

Eating Establishment License: $205–$300 a year, banded by seating capacity

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Portland permits page and the ME state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Portland?

Permits for a coffee shop in Portland, ME come from 6 separate offices: City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development Department, Portland Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Inspection Program, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Revenue Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Portland that other businesses do not?

Master Box Fire Alarm System Connection

Only reaches a building that (a) is otherwise required elsewhere in code to carry a fire alarm system, and (b) falls into one of the occupancy classes § 10-101 names — Assembly, Educational, 'Day-care facilities, excluding day-care homes,' Health care, Mercantile, Industrial, Hotels/motels, and High-rise buildings among them. Day-care facilities are named explicitly and without a size threshold; a restaurant, coffee shop, retail store, or fitness studio is reached only where its own occupant load or classification independently triggers a fire-alarm-system requirement in the first place — this is a real, conditional fee tied to occupancy classification, not a flat charge every small business pays automatically. Revised June 1, 2026, the most recent amendment date among the code chapters cited for Portland.

Certified Food Protection Manager

No state-set fee, because Maine runs no certification programme of its own — a valid certificate from an accredited private provider must be submitted with the eating establishment application itself, for new establishments and on a change of ownership. It must be renewed through retesting every five years, and if the certified employee leaves, the establishment has sixty days to have someone else certified before it falls out of compliance. The lowest-risk category of eating establishment is exempt from the requirement altogether.

Shared with other businesses in Portland

  • Temporary Food Service Establishment License — City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, $93 per temporary license: unopened prepackaged food (license period up to three months) or opened/nonprepackaged food (per event, up to fourteen days), one-time, per temporary event or transitory gathering. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the food trucks page.
  • Sign Permit — City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, $30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee)., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Food Service Establishment License — City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, $181–$459 annual, banded by what is prepared on-site (non-liquor tiers): $181.00 with no food preparation on the premises, $230.00 where preparation is limited to non-alcoholic beverages only, $415.00 with beer and wine take-out, $459.00 for full food preparation on the premises or a commissary; expires January 31, annual — expires January 31 for the non-liquor tiers. Also required for restaurants; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
  • Eating Establishment License — Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Inspection Program, $205–$300 a year, banded by seating capacity, annual. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Portland, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Portland permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Portland?

A coffee shop and a restaurant in Portland, ME need exactly the same 6 permits beyond the ones every business needs.

Permits particular to each business type in Portland, ME, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Restaurants6600
Food trucks4331
Fitness studios3241
Retail stores4242
Auto repair shops3152
Salons and barbers3152
Veterinary clinics3152
Childcare centres4153
Contractors and trades6066

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the food trucks page, retail stores page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Portland permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Portland Code of Ordinances, Chapter 10 (Fire Prevention and Protection) — § 10-101 (Certain master box connections required, naming day-care facilities) and § 10-102 (Master box connection fees, rev. 6-1-2026)City of Portland, Maine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Maine CDC Health Inspection Program — the certified food protection manager requirement for eating establishmentsMaine Center for Disease Control and Prevention · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.