Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a fitness studio in Portland?

In short

A fitness studio in Portland, ME has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department charges $100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspection for the certificate of occupancy. 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a fitness studio in Portland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee).one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Municipal Business License — Chapter 15 Activity List (Portland, ME)only if it applies to youCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Master Box Fire Alarm System Connectiononly if it applies to youPortland Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division$625.00 new connection fee; $350.00 annual maintenance fee thereafter (due every July 1), reduced to $100.00 for each additional alarm system at the same location; $275.00 to convert an existing mechanical Master Box Alarm System to a wireless one; a $100.00 reconnection fee applies after a voluntary disconnection.annual maintenance fee, due July 1; connection fee one-time2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Portland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Portland pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspectionone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use2026-09-12
Planning Board Site Plan Review / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Portland pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Appeals Variance / Appeal (fee not published)only if it applies to youCity of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ME registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$145 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$175 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax RegistrationMaine Revenue ServicesNo feeno expiration — valid until cancelled by the retailer or revoked by the state2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsVaries — formula on the ME pageannual — due 1 June every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsNo feeset by the town or city2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a fitness studio in Portland?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a fitness studio in Portland, ME, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee).

Master Box Fire Alarm System Connection: $625.00 new connection fee; $350.00 annual maintenance fee thereafter (due every July 1), reduced to $100.00 for each additional alarm system at the same location; $275.00 to convert an existing mechanical Master Box Alarm System to a wireless one; a $100.00 reconnection fee applies after a voluntary disconnection.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Portland permits page and the ME state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Portland?

Permits for a fitness studio in Portland, ME come from 5 separate offices: City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development Department, Portland Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Revenue Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a fitness studio need in Portland that other businesses do not?

Municipal Business License — Chapter 15 Activity List (Portland, ME)

No fee applies. Under Chapter 15, § 15-12, the City's license fee table lists a fixed set of licensable activities — Food Service Establishments (including mobile/temporary), Massage Establishments/Therapists, Taxicabs/Liveries and related vehicles-for-hire, Marijuana licenses, Secondhand Dealers/Junk Dealers/Pawnbrokers/Flea Markets, Farmers' Markets, Street Vendors/Transient Sellers, Entertainment/Amusement Devices/Gaming/Bowling/Billiards/Motion Picture Theatres/Roller Skating Rinks/Circuses, Bottle Clubs and Brewery/Winery/Distillery licenses, Wreckers and Vehicle Towing, Valet Parking, and Booting of Motor Vehicles — and that table names no license for an ordinary retail store, auto repair shop, veterinary practice, fitness studio, hair/nail salon, or (beyond the Home Occupation permit recorded separately) a child care business. An auto repair shop that also runs a wrecker or towing service falls under the Chapter 28 wreckers and vehicle towing license in the same table. Massage Establishment and Massage Therapist are locally licensed by name ($65.00/$55.00/$38.00), but the table does not extend that to ordinary hair/nail salons, which are licensed by Maine's own state Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (recorded at the state layer). Each of these industries' Portland-specific obligations are instead the same commercial building permit, Certificate of Occupancy, sign permit (where applicable), and zoning/site-plan approvals listed elsewhere for this jurisdiction.

Shared with other businesses in Portland

  • Sign Permit — City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, $30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee)., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Master Box Fire Alarm System Connection — Portland Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, $625.00 new connection fee; $350.00 annual maintenance fee thereafter (due every July 1), reduced to $100.00 for each additional alarm system at the same location; $275.00 to convert an existing mechanical Master Box Alarm System to a wireless one; a $100.00 reconnection fee applies after a voluntary disconnection., annual maintenance fee, due July 1; connection fee one-time. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Portland, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Portland permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.

How does a fitness studio compare with other businesses in Portland?

The closest match is a retail store, which shares 3 of these permits. A retail store needs Food Establishment License (manufacturing, processing or retail sale), which a fitness studio does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Portland, ME, compared with a fitness studio
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a fitness studioOnly a fitness studio needsOnly it needs
Retail stores4301
Auto repair shops3211
Salons and barbers3211
Veterinary clinics3211
Childcare centres4212
Coffee shops6214
Restaurants6214
Contractors and trades6036
Food trucks4034

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Portland permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Portland Code of Ordinances, Chapter 15 (Licenses and Permits), revised 5-19-2025 — §§ 15-2 through 15-6 (applicability, license required, fees) and the complete § 15-12 fee table for every enumerated licensed activityCity of Portland, Maine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Business Licensing — the City's own current page describing the Business License Administrator, the complete list of licensable activities and their application PDFs/online forms, and the $45.00 application / $35.00 renewal feeCity of Portland, Maine, Permitting and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.