Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Portland?

In short

A childcare centre in Portland, ME has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department charges $100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspection for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Portland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Municipal Business License — Chapter 15 Activity List (Portland, ME)only if it applies to youCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Master Box Fire Alarm System Connectiononly if it applies to youPortland Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division$625.00 new connection fee; $350.00 annual maintenance fee thereafter (due every July 1), reduced to $100.00 for each additional alarm system at the same location; $275.00 to convert an existing mechanical Master Box Alarm System to a wireless one; a $100.00 reconnection fee applies after a voluntary disconnection.annual maintenance fee, due July 1; connection fee one-time2026-09-12
Home Occupation Permit (Home-Based Child Care)only if it applies to youCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$150 flatnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Child Care Facility LicenseMaine Office of Child and Family Services, Children's Licensing and Investigation Services$240 for a full license or its biennial renewal; a provisional or temporary license is $1202 years for a full license2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Portland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Portland pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspectionone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use2026-09-12
Planning Board Site Plan Review / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Portland pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Appeals Variance / Appeal (fee not published)only if it applies to youCity of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ME registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$145 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$175 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsVaries — formula on the ME pageannual — due 1 June every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsNo feeset by the town or city2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Portland?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a childcare centre in Portland, ME, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $340.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Master Box Fire Alarm System Connection: $625.00 new connection fee; $350.00 annual maintenance fee thereafter (due every July 1), reduced to $100.00 for each additional alarm system at the same location; $275.00 to convert an existing mechanical Master Box Alarm System to a wireless one; a $100.00 reconnection fee applies after a voluntary disconnection.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Portland permits page and the ME state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Portland?

Permits for a childcare centre in Portland, ME come from 5 separate offices: City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development Department, Portland Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Office of Child and Family Services, Children's Licensing and Investigation Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Portland that other businesses do not?

2 of the 4 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Portland: Home Occupation Permit (Home-Based Child Care) and Child Care Facility License.

Home Occupation Permit (Home-Based Child Care)

This is not a childcare-specific ordinance category — it is the Land Use Code's general Home Occupation permit, applied here to a family child care provider operating a business out of a residential dwelling, as the local land-use permit closest to a childcare-specific local requirement beyond Maine OCFS's own state Child Care Facility License (recorded at the state layer). A stand-alone commercial child care center instead follows the ordinary Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, and Site Plan Review path listed elsewhere for this jurisdiction, not this fee.

Child Care Facility License

The identical fee structure applies whether a facility cares for a handful of children or well over a dozen — $240 for a full two-year license, $120 for a provisional or temporary one, with a much cheaper $10 fee for a nursery school specifically. A family child care provider, caring for a smaller number of children in their own home, is licensed separately and more cheaply: $160 for a full two-year license, $80 provisional, $10 temporary. Operating without a license where one is required carries a real civil penalty, not less than $500 and not more than $10,000 for every day of violation.

Shared with other businesses in Portland

  • Municipal Business License — Chapter 15 Activity List (Portland, ME) — City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, fitness studios and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
  • Master Box Fire Alarm System Connection — Portland Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, $625.00 new connection fee; $350.00 annual maintenance fee thereafter (due every July 1), reduced to $100.00 for each additional alarm system at the same location; $275.00 to convert an existing mechanical Master Box Alarm System to a wireless one; a $100.00 reconnection fee applies after a voluntary disconnection., annual maintenance fee, due July 1; connection fee one-time. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Portland, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Portland permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Portland?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Home Occupation Permit (Home-Based Child Care) and Child Care Facility License. A fitness studio needs Sign Permit, which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Portland, ME, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios3221
Retail stores4222
Auto repair shops3132
Salons and barbers3132
Veterinary clinics3132
Coffee shops6135
Restaurants6135
Contractors and trades6046
Food trucks4044

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the fitness studios page and coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Portland permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Building Permits and Inspections Fee Schedule (revised 7/2026) — cost-of-work building permit formula, Certificate of Occupancy inspection fee, sign fees, and commercial fire alarm/sprinkler permit feesCity of Portland, Maine, Permitting and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. 10-148 CMR chapter 32 — child care facility licensing feesMaine Office of Child and Family Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  3. 10-148 CMR chapter 33 — family child care provider licensing feesMaine Office of Child and Family Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.