12 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a auto repair shop in Portland?
In short
A auto repair shop in Portland, ME has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department charges $100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspection for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a auto repair shop in Portland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department | $30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee). | one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Municipal Business License — Chapter 15 Activity List (Portland, ME)only if it applies to you | City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-12 |
| Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of Public Safety, Bureau of State Police, Traffic Division | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Portland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit | City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Portland page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department | $100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspection | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use | 2026-09-12 |
| Planning Board Site Plan Review / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development Department | Varies — formula on the Portland page | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Board of Appeals Variance / Appeal (fee not published)only if it applies to you | City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development Department | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
ME registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | $145 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | $175 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Registration | Maine Revenue Services | No fee | no expiration — valid until cancelled by the retailer or revoked by the state | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | Varies — formula on the ME page | annual — due 1 June every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | No fee | set by the town or city | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a auto repair shop in Portland?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a auto repair shop in Portland, ME, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Sign Permit: $30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee).
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Portland permits page and the ME state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Portland?
Permits for a auto repair shop in Portland, ME come from 5 separate offices: City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development Department, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Revenue Services, Maine Department of Public Safety, Bureau of State Police, Traffic Division. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentIssues 4 permits on this page: Building Permit, Sign Permit, Municipal Business License — Chapter 15 Activity List (Portland, ME), Certificate of Occupancy389 Congress Street, Room 315, Portland, ME 04101 · (207) 874-8703www.portlandmaine.gov/permitting-inspections
- City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Planning Board Site Plan Review / Conditional Use Permit, Zoning Board of Appeals Variance / Appeal (fee not published)389 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04101 · (207) 874-8719www.portlandmaine.gov/609/Zoning-Board-of-Appeals
- Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Formation (LLC), Annual Report, General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)6 East Chestnut Street, 5th Floor, Augusta, ME 04333 · (207) 624-7752www.maine.gov/sos/corporations-commissions
- Maine Revenue ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax RegistrationPO Box 1060, Augusta, ME 04332www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/sales-use-service-provider-tax
- Maine Department of Public Safety, Bureau of State Police, Traffic DivisionIssues 1 permit on this page: Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811)20 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333 · (207) 624-8935legislature.maine.gov/statutes/29-a/title29-Asec1762.html
What does a auto repair shop need in Portland that other businesses do not?
1 of the 3 permits particular to a auto repair shop here applies to no other business type we cover in Portland: Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811).
Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811)
No fee applies: 29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811, the statute governing motor vehicle repair facilities, imposes consumer-protection duties directly, such as capping charges above an estimate and disclosing the use of used parts, without ever requiring the shop itself to register or be licensed. A shop that also wants to perform official state safety inspections has a separate, genuinely optional path: becoming a state police-licensed inspection station, on a two-year cycle, and employing a certified inspection mechanic, whose own fee is confirmed directly at $1 for a five-year certificate. A shop that also buys or sells vehicles, or salvages and dismantles them, needs a further dealer or recycler license from the Secretary of State — a different requirement again, triggered by sales rather than repair.
Shared with other businesses in Portland
- Sign Permit — City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, $30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee)., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
- Municipal Business License — Chapter 15 Activity List (Portland, ME) — City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, veterinary clinics, fitness studios, salons and barbers and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Portland, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Portland permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.
How does a auto repair shop compare with other businesses in Portland?
The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A auto repair shop also needs Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811). A fitness studio needs Master Box Fire Alarm System Connection, which a auto repair shop does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a auto repair shop | Only a auto repair shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 4 | 2 | 1 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Coffee shops | 6 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| Restaurants | 6 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Portland permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- 29-A Maine Revised Statutes section 1801 — motor vehicle repair facility consumer duties, with no licensing mechanismMaine Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
