Commercial Compliance Hub

14 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a contractor or trade in Portland?

In short

A contractor or trade in Portland, ME has 2 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 12 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department charges $100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspection for the certificate of occupancy. 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a contractor or trade in Portland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
General Contractor Registration (not found)only if it applies to youCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Electrician Licenseonly if it applies to youMaine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Electricians' Examining Board$150 for a master, journeyman or limited electrician's license; an apprentice is $252 years2026-09-04
General Contractor Licensing — Maine Positiononly if it applies to youMaine Office of the Attorney General, Consumer Protection DivisionNo feenot applicable2026-09-04
Oil Burner and Solid Fuel Technician Licenseonly if it applies to youMaine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Maine Fuel Board$200 for a master technician; a journeyman is $100 and an apprentice $40, each plus a $21 background check2 years2026-09-04
Internal Plumbing Licenseonly if it applies to youMaine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Plumbers' Examining Board$200 for a master or journeyman plumber's license; a trainee is $1002 years2026-09-04
Home Construction Written Contract Requirementonly if it applies to youMaine Office of the Attorney General, Consumer Protection DivisionNo feenot applicable — a contract-law duty, not a license2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Portland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Portland pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspectionone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use2026-09-12
Planning Board Site Plan Review / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Portland pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Appeals Variance / Appeal (fee not published)only if it applies to youCity of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ME registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$145 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$175 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsVaries — formula on the ME pageannual — due 1 June every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsNo feeset by the town or city2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a contractor or trade in Portland?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 14 records listed for a contractor or trade in Portland, ME, 2 apply to every business of this type and 12 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 2 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 3 of the 14 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 5 have no fee published at all.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Portland permits page and the ME state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Portland?

Permits for a contractor or trade in Portland, ME come from 7 separate offices: City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development Department, Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Electricians' Examining Board, Maine Office of the Attorney General, Consumer Protection Division, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Maine Fuel Board, Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Plumbers' Examining Board. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a contractor or trade need in Portland that other businesses do not?

6 of the 6 permits particular to a contractor or trade here apply to no other business type we cover in Portland: General Contractor Registration (not found), Electrician License, General Contractor Licensing — Maine Position and 3 more.

General Contractor Registration (not found)

No fee applies. Maine has no statewide general contractor license (confirmed at this project's own state layer), and Portland's own Code of Ordinances Chapter 15 names no general-contracting category among its complete enumerated licensable activities either. A Portland contractor's local obligation is the same building, electrical, and plumbing permit process recorded elsewhere in this file, pulled per project, rather than a standing local contractor registration.

Electrician License

Master, journeyman and limited electrician licenses all share the same $150 fee on a two-year cycle, with renewal priced the same as the original. An apprentice registers far more cheaply at $25, and a senior licensee aged seventy or older pays a reduced $20 across every category.

General Contractor Licensing — Maine Position

No fee, and the Attorney General's own consumer guidance says so directly: general contractors, and trades such as roofing and framing, are not licensed or regulated in Maine. What the state does regulate is the contract itself — see the home construction contract record — plus the specific licensed trades of electrical, plumbing and oil burner or solid fuel work below.

Oil Burner and Solid Fuel Technician License

Maine licenses this trade through the Fuel Board's oil burner and solid fuel technician categories rather than under any separately named general HVAC license — an apprentice pays $40, a journeyman $100 and a master $200, each figure repeated at renewal every two years, with a further $21 background check fee due at initial application.

Internal Plumbing License

This license covers internal plumbing, meaning the pipework inside a building, at $200 for a master or journeyman and $100 for a trainee, all on a two-year cycle — a journeyman-in-training credential is a one-time, four-year, non-renewable exception to that pattern. Designing a septic system is a genuinely separate matter: that work needs a Site Evaluator license issued not by this board but by the health department's own drinking water programme, at $25 for the written exam, $75 for the field exam, and $100 to renew every two years. A plumber holding only the internal plumbing license above is not authorised to design a subsurface wastewater system on the strength of that credential alone.

Home Construction Written Contract Requirement

No fee, because this is not a registration or a license at all — it is a mandatory contract-content law, easy to mistake for a licensing scheme because it sits in the same part of the code that a home improvement registry would occupy in another state. Any home construction contract worth more than $3,000 in labour and materials combined must be in writing, must contain fourteen specific pieces of information the statute lists, and cannot demand a down payment of more than a third of the total price. There is no state body that registers contractors under this law, and no application to file — the obligation runs directly to whoever signs the contract, enforced through the Attorney General's consumer protection powers or private civil action rather than through license discipline.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Portland, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Portland permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.

How does a contractor or trade compare with other businesses in Portland?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A contractor or trade also needs General Contractor Registration (not found), Electrician License, General Contractor Licensing — Maine Position and 3 more. A auto repair shop needs Sign Permit, Municipal Business License — Chapter 15 Activity List (Portland, ME) and Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811), which a contractor or trade does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Portland, ME, compared with a contractor or trade
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a contractor or tradeOnly a contractor or trade needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops3063
Childcare centres4064
Coffee shops6066
Fitness studios3063
Food trucks4064
Restaurants6066
Retail stores4064
Salons and barbers3063
Veterinary clinics3063

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Portland permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Portland Code of Ordinances, Chapter 15 (Licenses and Permits), revised 5-19-2025 — §§ 15-2 through 15-6 (applicability, license required, fees) and the complete § 15-12 fee table for every enumerated licensed activityCity of Portland, Maine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Maine Electricians' Examining Board — master electrician license fee and termMaine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  3. Maine Attorney General — home construction consumer guidance, stating general contractors are not licensedMaine Office of the Attorney General · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  4. Maine Fuel Board — oil burner and solid fuel technician license feesMaine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  5. Maine Plumbers' Examining Board — internal plumbing license fees and termsMaine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  6. Maine CDC — subsurface wastewater site evaluator licensing, a separate credential from internal plumbingMaine Center for Disease Control and Prevention · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  7. 10 Maine Revised Statutes section 1487 — the mandatory written home construction contractMaine Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.