Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Portland?

In short

A salon or barber in Portland, ME has 4 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department charges $100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspection for the certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Portland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee).one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Municipal Business License — Chapter 15 Activity List (Portland, ME)only if it applies to youCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment LicenseMaine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Program$20 a yearannual2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Portland

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Portland pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department$100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspectionone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use2026-09-12
Planning Board Site Plan Review / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentVaries — formula on the Portland pageone-time, per application2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Appeals Variance / Appeal (fee not published)only if it applies to youCity of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentNo feenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ME registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$145 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$175 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Sales and Use Tax RegistrationMaine Revenue ServicesNo feeno expiration — valid until cancelled by the retailer or revoked by the state2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsVaries — formula on the ME pageannual — due 1 June every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsNo feeset by the town or city2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Portland?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a salon or barber in Portland, ME, 4 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 4 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $120.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: $30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee).

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Portland permits page and the ME state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Portland?

Permits for a salon or barber in Portland, ME come from 5 separate offices: City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development Department, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Revenue Services, Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation, Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Program. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Portland that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here applies to no other business type we cover in Portland: Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License.

Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License

A remarkably low $20 a year covers a fixed salon, a mobile establishment, or an independent booth alike — Maine prices all three the same way. This license is separate from and required in addition to every individual practitioner's own $20 annual license, and a business may not open its doors until the establishment license itself has issued, not merely the individual licenses of the people working there. Renewing more than ninety days late adds a $25 penalty.

Shared with other businesses in Portland

  • Sign Permit — City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, $30.00 plus $2.00 per square foot of sign area for a standard sign; a sidewalk or portable sign is instead $25.00 plus $0.20 per square foot; a further $94.00 Historic Review fee applies to any sign located inside a Historic District (a plain building or window sign outside a Historic District needs no separate Historic Review fee)., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, retail stores, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.
  • Municipal Business License — Chapter 15 Activity List (Portland, ME) — City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, fitness studios and childcare centres; what it involves is set out on the fitness studios page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Portland, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Portland permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Portland?

The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License. A auto repair shop needs Automotive Repair Shop Licensing — Maine Position (29-A M.R.S. §§ 1801–1811), which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Portland, ME, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Auto repair shops3211
Fitness studios3211
Veterinary clinics3211
Retail stores4212
Childcare centres4123
Coffee shops6125
Restaurants6125
Contractors and trades6036
Food trucks4034

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page and fitness studios page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Portland permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. 02-041 CMR chapter 10 — establishment of licence fees, cosmetology and barberingMaine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.