12 published records
Business licenses and permits in Portland, Maine
Portland's Permitting and Inspections Department runs a genuine but non-universal business licensing structure: a common $45.00 application / $35.00 renewal fee applies only to a fixed, enumerated list of activities (Food Service Establishments, mobile food/pushcarts, Massage, Taxicabs, Marijuana, Secondhand/Junk/Flea Market, Farmers' Markets, Entertainment/Amusements, and similar categories under Code of Ordinances Chapter 15), not to every business in the city. Portland is its own local food-permitting authority — Chapter 11 designates the City's own health inspector as the Maine Food Code's regulatory authority, a designation Maine law (22 M.R.S.A. § 2499) permits only for a Department-delegated municipality, which in turn replaces the state's own $205.00-$300.00 banded Eating Establishment License fee with a flat $100.00 state administrative fee — while Portland's own Chapter 15, § 15-12 prices the real local Food Service Establishment fee by preparation type ($181.00 no prep, $230.00 non-alcoholic beverage prep only, $415.00 beer/wine take-out, $459.00 full food prep, with a separate, higher liquor-license track up to $2,326.00). A food truck instead pays a distinct Chapter 19 'street vendor' license at $546.00/year ($322.00/year for a pushcart). Permitting and Inspections' own current Building Permits and Inspections Fee Schedule (revised 7/2026) prices a general building permit at $25.00 for the first $1,000.00 of cost plus $15.00 per additional $1,000.00, a separate flat $100.00 Certificate of Occupancy inspection fee, a sign permit at $30.00 plus $2.00/sq ft, and a commercial fire-suppression/alarm permit at $30.00 plus $10.00 per $1,000.00 of work. The Planning & Urban Development Department separately prices Site Plan, Subdivision, and Conditional Use applications ($100.00-$7,000.00+), though no fee could be found published anywhere for a Zoning Board of Appeals variance or appeal. The Fire Department's own recently revised (6-1-2026) Master Box Alarm ordinance prices a $625.00 new connection and $350.00/year maintenance fee for specific occupancy classes that explicitly include day-care facilities. No additional local license exists for ordinary retail, auto repair, veterinary practices, fitness studios, hair/nail salons (as distinct from the locally-licensed Massage Establishment/Therapist categories), or general contractors beyond this general layer.
What are you opening in Portland?
- RestaurantsFull-service restaurants carry the densest permit load of any small business: food, fire, occupancy, waste, and usually alcohol.See the full permit list
- Coffee shopsCafés are permitted as food service establishments even where no cooking happens, and the plan review step catches most operators by surprise.See the full permit list
- Retail storesRetail is the lightest common permit load, but the sales tax permit and the certificate of occupancy are non-negotiable in every jurisdiction.See the full permit list
- Salons and barbersPersonal care is licensed at state board level as well as locally, so the shop license and the practitioner licenses are separate obligations.See the full permit list
- Food trucksMobile food is the one category with no certificate of occupancy — but it gains a commissary agreement, and the unit itself is inspected rather than the premises.See the full permit list
- Fitness studiosPrepaid memberships trigger state registration and often a surety bond, which catches operators who budgeted only for the fit-out.See the full permit list
- Childcare centresThe heaviest permit load of any small business: state agency licensing, per-person background checks, and a stricter fire standard than ordinary commercial use.See the full permit list
- Contractors and tradesLicensed at state board level rather than locally, and the only common category with no premises permits at all — the bond is usually the long pole.See the full permit list
- Auto repair shopsOrdinary commercial permitting plus an environmental layer: waste oil, solvents and stormwater are each registered separately.See the full permit list
- Veterinary clinicsA state facility permit, controlled substances registration at both state and federal level, and a medical waste manifest — none of which a general business license covers.See the full permit list
Permits that apply to every type of business in Portland
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit | City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department | $25.00 for the first $1,000.00 of estimated construction cost plus $15.00 for each additional $1,000.00 (or part thereof) of cost. Demolition is instead priced at $30.00 for the first $1,000.00 plus $10.00 per additional $1,000.00, and HVAC work the same way. A party who begins work before obtaining the permit is subject to double the fee, per § 6-92(d). Effective July 1, 2026, a commercial permit that also requires a delegated State Fire Marshal's Office Construction permit carries an additional Fire Prevention Cost Recovery Fee of 1% of 1/10 the cost of construction (cost × 0.001) plus a $0.04-per-square-foot delegated-review fee. | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections Department | $100 flat, per Certificate of Occupancy inspection | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use | 2026-09-12 |
| Planning Board Site Plan Review / Conditional Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development Department | Minor Site Plan (Residential) $300.00; Minor Site Plan (Low-Impact Site Development) $600.00; Minor Site Plan (Other) $800.00; Major Site Plan banded by size from $2,750.00 (under 50,000 sq ft) to $7,000.00 (over 300,000 sq ft); Conditional Use (Planning Board) $1,000.00, or $100.00 for an Inclusionary Zoning Conditional Use; a Zoning Map or Land Use Code Text Amendment is $7,500.00 each ($10,000.00 combined, or for a conditional/contract rezoning); Development Review Services are billed separately at $54.00/hour (planning) or $75.00/hour (legal) where applicable. | one-time, per application | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Board of Appeals Variance / Appeal (fee not published)only if it applies to you | City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development Department | No fee | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
What do these permits involve in Portland?
Building Permit
Required for construction, alteration, repair, moving, converting, demolishing, or changing the use of a building or structure. The $15.00-per-$1,000.00 marginal rate is taken from the City's own current (7/2026) fee schedule; an older secondary aggregator page reports a lower $5.00-per-$1,000.00 figure, which is not used here. Electrical and plumbing permits are separately priced on the same current fee schedule with their own itemized fixture/device/service tables.
Certificate of Occupancy
No building, structure, or property may be used or occupied without a Certificate of Occupancy, and § 6-93(c) requires the fire chief's own approval before any final Certificate of Occupancy issues — tying the Fire Prevention Division into every occupancy across all nine of these industries. A genuinely separate, flat $100.00 line item from the cost-of-work building-permit formula recorded above.
Planning Board Site Plan Review / Conditional Use Permit
Triggered by new construction, a significant addition, or a use requiring Planning Board approval — not every business opening; a small tenant fit-out inside an existing building typically proceeds under the Building Permit process recorded above instead. Administered by the Planning & Urban Development Department, a genuinely separate department from Permitting and Inspections with its own fee schedule and phone line.
Zoning Board of Appeals Variance / Appeal (fee not published)
The fee for this application is not published. The Zoning Board of Appeals is its own City board with variance, administrative-appeal, and conditional-use-appeal authority under the Land Use Code, but neither the Planning & Urban Development Department's own current fee schedule nor Chapter 15's own complete § 15-12 licensing fee table prices a Zoning Board of Appeals application; contact the Permitting and Inspections Department for the current fee. Triggered when a proposed use or structure fails to conform to the Land Use Code's dimensional or use requirements and the applicant seeks relief rather than a Planning Board conditional-use approval.
Sources
Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Building Permits and Inspections Fee Schedule (revised 7/2026) — cost-of-work building permit formula, Certificate of Occupancy inspection fee, sign fees, and commercial fire alarm/sprinkler permit feesCity of Portland, Maine, Permitting and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- City of Portland Code of Ordinances, Chapter 6 (Buildings and Building Regulations), Art. II (Building Code) — § 6-92 (Permits and permit fees) and § 6-93 (Certificate of Occupancy)City of Portland, Maine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Planning & Urban Development Fee Schedule — Site Plan, Subdivision, Conditional Use, Zoning Map/Text Amendment, and Historic Preservation application feesCity of Portland, Maine, Planning & Urban Development Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
Who issues business permits in Portland?
Permitting in Portland is split across 3 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.
Portland issuing agencies
- City of Portland, Permitting and Inspections DepartmentBusiness License Administrator — all enumerated Chapter 15 business/activity licenses (Food Service Establishments, mobile food/pushcarts, Massage, Taxicabs, Marijuana, Secondhand/Junk/Flea Market, Farmers' Markets, Entertainment/Amusements) · Building, electrical, plumbing, and mechanical permits; Certificate of Occupancy issuance · Sign permits · Zoning administration and verification · Food Service Inspections (the City's own local health inspector under Code of Ordinances Chapter 11)9 permits
- City of Portland, Planning & Urban Development DepartmentPlanning Board Site Plan, Subdivision, and Conditional Use review · Zoning Map and Land Use Code text amendments · Historic Preservation Board review · Zoning Board of Appeals — variances, administrative appeals, and conditional-use appeals2 permits
- Portland Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionFire alarm and sprinkler/suppression system permits and inspections · Master Box Alarm System connections · Certificate of Occupancy sign-off1 permit
Other Maine jurisdictions we cover
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
