15 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Lewiston?
In short
A coffee shop in Lewiston, ME has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 10 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department charges $150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permit for the board of appeals petition (variance / administrative appeal / conditional use). 9 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a coffee shop in Lewiston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Temporary/Special Event Food Service Establishment Licenseonly if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department | $50–$100 per temporary license: Class F, operating up to 30 days, $65.00; Class G, operating up to three days, $50.00; Class H, a prepackaged food vendor selling within City limits at a special event, fair, or festival for up to one year, $100.00 | one-time or up to one year, per Class F/G/H definition | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator)only if it applies to you | Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau | A burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area. | one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Food Service Establishment License | City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department | $150–$575 annual, banded by the class of State of Maine liquor license held and, for Class A, by square footage: Class A (spirituous, vinous and malt) $350.00 up to 3,000 sq ft, $465.00 from 3,001-6,000 sq ft, $575.00 above that; Class B (malt and vinous) $200.00; Class C (malt only) $200.00; Class D (no liquor) $150.00; Class E (patrons may bring their own liquor) $355.00; expires in April | annual — expires in April | 2026-09-12 |
| Certified Food Protection Manageronly if it applies to you | Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Inspection Program | Not a state fee — priced by the private accredited provider, commonly in the range of $89 to $235 | 5 years | 2026-09-04 |
| Eating Establishment License | Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Inspection Program | $205–$300 a year, banded by seating capacity | annual | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lewiston
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Permit | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | Varies — formula on the Lewiston page | one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | No fee | one-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use | 2026-09-12 |
| Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)only if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | $150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permit | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Development Review (Site Plan Review / Conditional Use)only if it applies to you | City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department | Varies — formula on the Lewiston page | initial approval expires if the development has not started within two years; not completed within five years | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
ME registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | $145 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | $175 one-time filing | perpetual, but an annual report is due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales and Use Tax Registration | Maine Revenue Services | No fee | no expiration — valid until cancelled by the retailer or revoked by the state | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Reportonly if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | Varies — formula on the ME page | annual — due 1 June every year | 2026-09-04 |
| General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to you | Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions | No fee | set by the town or city | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Lewiston?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a coffee shop in Lewiston, ME, 5 apply to every business of this type and 10 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
9 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
Temporary/Special Event Food Service Establishment License: $50–$100 per temporary license: Class F, operating up to 30 days, $65.00; Class G, operating up to three days, $50.00; Class H, a prepackaged food vendor selling within City limits at a special event, fair, or festival for up to one year, $100.00
Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator): A burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box.
Sign Permit: $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area.
Food Service Establishment License: $150–$575 annual, banded by the class of State of Maine liquor license held and, for Class A, by square footage: Class A (spirituous, vinous and malt) $350.00 up to 3,000 sq ft, $465.00 from 3,001-6,000 sq ft, $575.00 above that; Class B (malt and vinous) $200.00; Class C (malt only) $200.00; Class D (no liquor) $150.00; Class E (patrons may bring their own liquor) $355.00; expires in April
Certified Food Protection Manager: Not a state fee — priced by the private accredited provider, commonly in the range of $89 to $235
Eating Establishment License: $205–$300 a year, banded by seating capacity
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Lewiston?
Permits for a coffee shop in Lewiston, ME come from 6 separate offices: City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department, City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Inspection Program, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Revenue Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Lewiston, City Clerk's DepartmentIssues 2 permits on this page: Temporary/Special Event Food Service Establishment License, Food Service Establishment LicenseCity Hall, 27 Pine Street, Lewiston, ME 04240 · (207) 513-3124www.lewistonmaine.gov/121/Business-Licenses
- City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentIssues 5 permits on this page, including Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)City Hall, 27 Pine Street, 3rd Floor, Lewiston, ME 04240 · (207) 513-3125www.lewistonmaine.gov/140/Planning-Code-Enforcement
- Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator)2 College Street, Lewiston, ME 04240 · (207) 513-3002www.lewistonmaine.gov/338/Fire-Prevention
- Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Inspection ProgramIssues 2 permits on this page: Certified Food Protection Manager, Eating Establishment License286 Water Street, 3rd Floor, Augusta, ME 04330 · (207) 287-5671www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/services/business-services/health-inspections
- Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsIssues 4 permits on this page: Articles of Incorporation, Certificate of Formation (LLC), Annual Report, General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)6 East Chestnut Street, 5th Floor, Augusta, ME 04333 · (207) 624-7752www.maine.gov/sos/corporations-commissions
- Maine Revenue ServicesIssues 1 permit on this page: Sales and Use Tax RegistrationPO Box 1060, Augusta, ME 04332www.maine.gov/revenue/taxes/sales-use-service-provider-tax
What does a coffee shop need in Lewiston that other businesses do not?
Temporary/Special Event Food Service Establishment License
Covers a food service establishment or prepackaged-food vendor operating only temporarily at a fair, festival, or special event — a separate, shorter-duration credential from the standing annual Food Service Establishment License or the standing Mobile Unit license listed separately, required in addition to them for one-off events outside the normal course of business.
Food Service Establishment License
This is Lewiston's own local fee, separate from and in addition to the State of Maine's Eating Establishment License (banded $205.00-$300.00 by seating, recorded at the state layer): the City's own Restaurant Inspection Reports page states that establishments the City inspects remain 'licensed by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)', so, unlike in Portland, Maine, the state fee continues to apply on top of this local charge. Lewiston bands its own fee by liquor-license class and square footage rather than by food-prep type: Class D (no liquor) at $150.00 is the plain-language fit for an ordinary restaurant or coffee shop holding no state liquor license; an establishment that also holds a state liquor license instead falls into the higher Class A/B/C bands recorded above. At least one employee must be a Certified Food Protection Manager per § 22-151.
Certified Food Protection Manager
No state-set fee, because Maine runs no certification programme of its own — a valid certificate from an accredited private provider must be submitted with the eating establishment application itself, for new establishments and on a change of ownership. It must be renewed through retesting every five years, and if the certified employee leaves, the establishment has sixty days to have someone else certified before it falls out of compliance. The lowest-risk category of eating establishment is exempt from the requirement altogether.
Shared with other businesses in Lewiston
- Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator) — Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, A burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box., not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, childcare centres and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the childcare centres page.
- Sign Permit — City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot of sign area., one-time, per sign — not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, salons and barbers, fitness studios, auto repair shops and veterinary clinics; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
- Eating Establishment License — Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Health Inspection Program, $205–$300 a year, banded by seating capacity, annual. Also required for restaurants and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the restaurants page.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lewiston, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Lewiston permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.
How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Lewiston?
A coffee shop and a restaurant in Lewiston, ME need exactly the same 6 permits beyond the ones every business needs.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a coffee shop | Only a coffee shop needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Restaurants | 6 | 6 | 0 | 0 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 3 | 3 | 1 |
| Fitness studios | 3 | 2 | 4 | 1 |
| Retail stores | 4 | 2 | 4 | 2 |
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 3 | 1 | 5 | 2 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 1 | 5 | 3 |
| Contractors and trades | 6 | 0 | 6 | 6 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the childcare centres page and restaurants page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City Business License Applications — Fees, Penalties and Inspection & Approval Schedule, updated 4/21/2026 — the complete itemized fee table for every enumerated Chapter 22 licenseCity of Lewiston, Maine, City Clerk's Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- City of Lewiston Code of Ordinances, Chapter 22 (Businesses) — all eighteen articles, including Article II (general licensing), Article VI (Food Service Establishments/Mobile Units), Article XIII (Massage), Article XV (Marijuana/home occupation Use Permit), and Article XVII (Lodging Houses, citing 22 M.R.S.A. § 2499)City of Lewiston, Maine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Maine CDC Health Inspection Program — the certified food protection manager requirement for eating establishmentsMaine Center for Disease Control and Prevention · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
