Commercial Compliance Hub

12 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a childcare centre in Lewiston?

In short

A childcare centre in Lewiston, ME has 3 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department charges $150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permit for the board of appeals petition (variance / administrative appeal / conditional use). 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a childcare centre in Lewiston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator)only if it applies to youLewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention BureauA burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box.not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, City Clerk's DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Family Child Care Home — Zoning Treatment Under State Law (Home Occupation Use Permit does not apply) (Lewiston)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
Child Care Facility LicenseMaine Office of Child and Family Services, Children's Licensing and Investigation Services$240 for a full license or its biennial renewal; a provisional or temporary license is $1202 years for a full license2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Lewiston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentVaries — formula on the Lewiston pageone-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentNo feeone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use2026-09-12
Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department$150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Development Review (Site Plan Review / Conditional Use)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentVaries — formula on the Lewiston pageinitial approval expires if the development has not started within two years; not completed within five years2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

ME registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$145 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions$175 one-time filingperpetual, but an annual report is due every year2026-09-04
Annual Reportonly if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsVaries — formula on the ME pageannual — due 1 June every year2026-09-04
General Business License — Maine Position (town or city level)only if it applies to youMaine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and CommissionsNo feeset by the town or city2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a childcare centre in Lewiston?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a childcare centre in Lewiston, ME, 3 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 3 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $240.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator): A burning permit carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ confirms one is issued on-site at no charge once the proposed site passes inspection. Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the other two permit categories — installing or operating a fire alarm or monitoring system (§ 38-3) and operating an outdoor incinerator (§ 38-35) — beyond § 38-30(b), which makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid; no permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026). Separately, the Council's Fire Alarms policy sets an annual fee of $350 for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Lewiston?

Permits for a childcare centre in Lewiston, ME come from 5 separate offices: City of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department, Lewiston Fire Department, Fire Prevention Bureau, City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department, Maine Department of the Secretary of State, Bureau of Corporations, Elections and Commissions, Maine Office of Child and Family Services, Children's Licensing and Investigation Services. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a childcare centre need in Lewiston that other businesses do not?

2 of the 4 permits particular to a childcare centre here apply to no other business type we cover in Lewiston: Family Child Care Home — Zoning Treatment Under State Law (Home Occupation Use Permit does not apply) (Lewiston) and Child Care Facility License.

Fire Prevention Permit (Alarm System / Burning / Incinerator)

A permit from the Fire Chief is required before installing or operating a fire alarm/monitoring system connected to the Fire Department, before any open-air burning, and before operating an outdoor incinerator — real, codified requirements under Chapter 38, Article III. A burning permit specifically carries no fee: the Fire Department's own current FAQ page states that once Central Station personnel inspect the proposed site, 'the permit will be issued immediately on site. There is no fee for the permit.' Chapter 38 states no dollar fee for the alarm-system and incinerator permit categories: its general provision, § 38-30(b), makes a permit invalid until 'the fees prescribed by the Lewiston City Council' have been paid, and § 38-30(c) applies the same council-schedule phrasing to permits for buildings, structures or alterations. No permit fee for either category appears in Chapter 38 or in the City's business license fee schedule (updated 4/21/2026), unlike the Building Permit Fee Schedule listed separately. The Council's separate Fire Alarms policy (updated 4/5/2016) does set an annual $350 fee for each building connected to the municipal fire alarm system through a master fire alarm box, which covers the Fire Alarm Division's inspection, cleaning, testing and battery replacement. Applies conditionally, only to a building or activity that independently triggers one of these Chapter 38 requirements, not as a flat charge every small business pays automatically.

Family Child Care Home — Zoning Treatment Under State Law (Home Occupation Use Permit does not apply) (Lewiston)

The City's current Home Occupation Application form, at Question 8, explicitly names 'family daycare' among the activities that disqualify an applicant from that permit altogether ('Does this activity not include the following: ...family daycare...?'), with the form stating that a 'No' answer to any Question 8 item means the activity 'does not qualify as a Home Occupation.' Under Maine's statewide statute, 30-A M.R.S. § 4364-D, no additional Lewiston zoning permit reaches a licensed family child care provider, so this record carries no fee: the statute makes such a provider 'a permitted use in a municipal area that is zoned for residential purposes, subject to the same requirements for other residential property,' consistent with the City's own form carving family daycare out of its discretionary Home Occupation review rather than leaving it unaddressed. This is beyond Maine OCFS's own state Child Care Facility License, recorded at the state layer. A stand-alone commercial child care center is not a family child care home and is not shielded by this statute; it instead follows the ordinary Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, and Development Review path listed separately for any other commercial use of comparable size. Chapter 22's own 'Group care facility' license category (§ 22-2) remains a separate, residential group-home/boarding-care category for more than eight individuals, unrelated to an ordinary daytime child care business.

Child Care Facility License

The identical fee structure applies whether a facility cares for a handful of children or well over a dozen — $240 for a full two-year license, $120 for a provisional or temporary one, with a much cheaper $10 fee for a nursery school specifically. A family child care provider, caring for a smaller number of children in their own home, is licensed separately and more cheaply: $160 for a full two-year license, $80 provisional, $10 temporary. Operating without a license where one is required carries a real civil penalty, not less than $500 and not more than $10,000 for every day of violation.

Shared with other businesses in Lewiston

  • Municipal Business License — City of Lewiston position (enumerated categories only) — City of Lewiston, City Clerk's Department, No fee, not applicable. Also required for retail stores, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics, fitness studios and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the retail stores page.

The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Lewiston, ME; what each one involves is set out on the Lewiston permits page. The 4 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across ME and are covered on the ME state page.

How does a childcare centre compare with other businesses in Lewiston?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 2 of these permits. A childcare centre also needs Family Child Care Home — Zoning Treatment Under State Law (Home Occupation Use Permit does not apply) (Lewiston) and Child Care Facility License. A fitness studio needs Sign Permit, which a childcare centre does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Lewiston, ME, compared with a childcare centre
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a childcare centreOnly a childcare centre needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios3221
Retail stores4222
Auto repair shops3132
Salons and barbers3132
Veterinary clinics3132
Coffee shops6135
Restaurants6135
Contractors and trades6046
Food trucks4044

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Lewiston permits page and the ME state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Lewiston Code of Ordinances, Chapter 38 (Fire Prevention and Protection) — Article II (adopted NFPA/Maine Fuel Board/State Fire Marshal codes) and Article III (permits; § 38-30 fees set by City Council schedule)City of Lewiston, Maine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Fire Department FAQs — the Department's own current page confirming a burning permit is issued on-site at no feeCity of Lewiston, Maine, Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
  3. Fire Alarms — Regulations for Installation of Fire Alarm Systems (updated 4/5/2016), the Fire Department's own policy, including the annual Master Fire Alarm Box User FeeCity of Lewiston, Maine, Fire Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
  4. Home Occupation Application — Question 8 explicitly excludes 'family daycare' (among other named activities) from Home Occupation eligibility; the office-use fee field is left blank on the form itselfCity of Lewiston, Maine, Department of Planning & Code Enforcement · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  5. 30-A Maine Revised Statutes § 4364-D (Child care services in residential areas) — the statewide preemption making a licensed child care facility or family child care provider a permitted use in any residential zoneMaine Legislature · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  6. 10-148 CMR chapter 32 — child care facility licensing feesMaine Office of Child and Family Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  7. 10-148 CMR chapter 33 — family child care provider licensing feesMaine Office of Child and Family Services · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.