Commercial Compliance Hub

12 published records

Business licenses and permits in Lewiston, Maine

Lewiston's City Clerk's Department runs a non-universal business licensing structure: the Clerk licenses over 40 enumerated categories under Code of Ordinances Chapter 22 (Food Service Establishments Classes A-H, Mobile Units, Massage Establishments/Therapists, Peddlers, Secondhand Dealers/Pawnbrokers/Junk Collectors, Mobile Home Parks, Homeless Shelters, Lodging Houses, Syringe Services Programs, Marijuana Businesses, and similar activities), not every business in the city. Unlike Portland, Maine, Lewiston is NOT its own food-permitting authority: the City's own Restaurant Inspection Reports page states food service establishments the City inspects remain 'licensed by the Maine Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS),' with the City's Code Enforcement Officer/Sanitarian performing inspections under a cooperative arrangement rather than being designated the Food Code's regulatory authority the way Portland's health inspector is — so the State's own banded $205.00-$300.00 Eating Establishment License fee (state layer) continues to apply, on top of Lewiston's own separate local Food Service Establishment fee (City Business License Applications fee schedule, updated 4/21/2026), which bands by liquor-license class and square footage rather than by food-prep type: Class A (full liquor) $350.00-$575.00 by square footage, Class B (malt/vinous) $200.00, Class C (malt only) $200.00, Class D (no liquor) $150.00, Class E (bring-your-own) $355.00, with temporary Classes F/G/H at $50.00-$100.00. A real, mandatory Mobile Unit (food truck) license exists under Chapter 22, Division 2, confirmed by the City's own current Food Trucks in Lewiston page (licenses run through April 30 annually), priced at a confirmed $100.00: the fee schedule's own 'Roving diner' line is the pre-2020 name for this same category (Ordinance No. 20-04, effective 3/26/2020, renamed it 'Mobile Unit' throughout Chapter 22 without the fee schedule's own line item ever being relabeled to match). The Planning and Code Enforcement Department's own current Building Permit Fee Schedule (updated 4/16/2013, prices effective 7/1/2013, the version published on the City's site) prices commercial new construction at $25.00 base plus $0.35 per square foot per floor, a flat $40.00 Change of Use fee, a Certificate of Occupancy bundled into the building permit fee (no separate charge, but a $260.00 penalty for occupying without one), and a sign permit at $25.00 base plus $0.50 per square foot. Development Review (site plan review) under Zoning Appendix A, Article XIII is mandatory for qualifying projects, with fees set by the City Council's own Zoning and Land Use Code Application Fee Schedule (2010): $200.00 flat for a minor/staff-reviewed site plan, $500.00 plus advertising costs for a major/Planning-Board-reviewed site plan. A Board of Appeals petition (covering administrative appeals, variances, and conditional use permits on one form) carries a confirmed flat $150.00 fee. Fire Prevention permits (alarm systems, burning, incinerators) are required under Chapter 38: the Fire Department's FAQ states a burning permit is issued on-site at no charge, and Chapter 38 and the business license fee schedule publish no fee for the alarm-system or incinerator permit categories. The City Clerk's Business Licenses page lists no license category for ordinary retail, auto repair, veterinary practices, fitness studios, hair/nail salons (as distinct from the locally-licensed Massage Establishment/Therapist category, $110.00 application/$195.00 license), general contractors, or child care (Chapter 22's 'Group Care Facility' category is a residential group-home/boarding category, not a daycare) beyond this general layer. A family child care home falls outside the City's own Home Occupation Use Permit — its own current application form excludes 'family daycare' by name from that permit's eligibility — consistent with Maine's statewide 30-A M.R.S. § 4364-D preemption making such a provider a permitted use in any residential zone with no additional municipal permit required.

What are you opening in Lewiston?

Permits that apply to every type of business in Lewiston

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentCommercial new construction: $25.00 base plus $0.35 per square foot, per floor. Commercial renovation: $25.00 base plus $7.00 per $1,000.00 of value. A flat $40.00 fee applies for a Change of Use. Work commenced before a permit is issued is charged double the customary fee.one-time, per project — not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentNo feeone-time — issued for a new occupancy or a change of business use2026-09-12
Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement Department$150 flat, per petition, covering an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permitnot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Development Review (Site Plan Review / Conditional Use)only if it applies to youCity of Lewiston, Planning and Code Enforcement DepartmentMinor Site Plan Review (interdepartmental/staff review): $200.00 flat. Major Site Plan Review or Special Exception (including subdivision of an existing structure into 3 or more dwelling units), reviewed by the Planning Board: $500.00, plus a Required Advertising (PRA) surcharge of $100.00 per required public newspaper notice — a Planning Board matter requires 2 notices, i.e. $200.00 — for a combined $700.00. A Site Plan Amendment is $100.00 flat if staff-approved/de minimis, or billed at the same Major Site Plan Review rate if Planning-Board-approved. A Delegated Review (for state stormwater, traffic movement, or Site Law jurisdiction) adds $1,000.00 on top of the applicable Site Plan Review fee where required.initial approval expires if the development has not started within two years; not completed within five years2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

What do these permits involve in Lewiston?

Building Permit

Required for construction, alteration, moving, or changing the occupancy of a building or structure, per § 18-27. The current Building Permit Fee Schedule (updated 4/16/2013, prices effective 7/1/2013) is the version published on the City's own site; electrical and plumbing permits are separately priced on the same schedule. A recipient who never begins the permitted work may request a 75% fee reimbursement within six months, per the same schedule's own reimbursement policy.

Certificate of Occupancy

No fee applies as a separate charge: the Building Permit Fee Schedule's own current text lists the Certificate of Occupancy as 'Included in Permit,' meaning its cost is bundled into the building permit fee recorded above rather than billed separately. The same line names a $260.00 penalty figure, which on its face is a penalty (for occupying a building without the required Certificate) rather than an application fee. No development within the scope of Article XIII, § 2 may receive a building permit or Certificate of Occupancy until development review approval has issued.

Board of Appeals Petition (Variance / Administrative Appeal / Conditional Use)

The City's own current Petition for Appeal form, filed with the Board of Appeals c/o the Code Enforcement Division, states a single flat $150.00 application fee that covers all three of the categories the same form lets a petitioner check: an administrative appeal, a variance, or a conditional use permit. Triggered when a proposed use or structure fails to conform to the Land Use Code's dimensional or use requirements, or when a party appeals a Code Enforcement, electrical, or fire prevention decision, and seeks relief from the Board rather than ordinary Planning Board approval.

Development Review (Site Plan Review / Conditional Use)

Article XIII, § 2(d) states the city council may from time to time establish reasonable application fees for site plan review; the City Council's own Zoning and Land Use Code Application Fee Schedule (updated 4/20/2010, effective 6/28/2010), linked from the Planning Board's own current page under 'Application & Materials,' sets the figures recorded above. Development Review is required — reviewed by the Planning Board (major developments) or the Staff Review Committee (minor developments) — for new nonresidential construction, an expansion of 1,000 or more square feet, conversion of a residential building to nonresidential use, a change to a more intensive nonresidential use, and several other triggers listed in Article XIII, § 2(a); no building permit or Certificate of Occupancy may issue for a covered project until development review approval is obtained. A separate Subdivision Review fee ($750.00 for the first 3 lots plus $100.00 per additional lot) appears on the same schedule for land subdivisions specifically, distinct from this Site Plan Review record. A small tenant fit-out inside an existing building that does not meet any Article XIII, § 2(a) trigger typically proceeds under the ordinary Building Permit process listed separately instead.

Sources

Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.

  1. Building Permit Fee Schedule (updated 4/16/2013, prices effective 7/1/2013) — cost-of-work and per-square-foot formulas for new construction, renovation, Certificate of Occupancy, Change of Use, and sign permitsCity of Lewiston, Maine, Planning and Code Enforcement Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. City of Lewiston Code of Ordinances, Chapter 18 (Buildings and Building Regulations), Article II (Building Codes) — § 18-27 (permits required) and § 18-28 (fees set by City Council schedule)City of Lewiston, Maine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  3. Appendix A — Zoning and Land Use Code, Article XIII (Development Review and Standards) — applicability, minor/major development classification, and § 2(d) (application fees set by a separate City Council schedule)City of Lewiston, Maine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  4. City of Lewiston Petition for Appeal (Board of Appeals application) — confirming the flat $150.00 application fee covering administrative appeals, variances, and conditional use permitsCity of Lewiston, Maine, Board of Appeals / Code Enforcement Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  5. Board of Appeals — the City's own current page describing the board's variance, administrative-appeal, and conditional-use-appeal authorityCity of Lewiston, Maine · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  6. Zoning and Land Use Code Application Fee Schedule (updated 4/20/2010, effective 6/28/2010) — Site Plan Review, Site Plan Amendment, Subdivision Review, Delegated Review, and Required Advertising (PRA) fees, linked from the Planning Board's own current page under 'Application & Materials'City of Lewiston, Maine, City Council · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12

Who issues business permits in Lewiston?

Permitting in Lewiston is split across 3 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.

Lewiston issuing agencies

Other Maine jurisdictions we cover

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.