15 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Dover?
In short
A salon or barber in Dover, DE has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department charges $60 one-time, per Zoning Verification Letter for the zoning verification letter. 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a salon or barber in Dover
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Dover Business License — Barber/Beautician | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | $64.00 for the first two chairs (Barber or Beautician category), plus $4.00 for each additional chair beyond two. | annual — August 1 through July 31 (Dover Code §26-40); fee due by August 1, with a 10%-per-month penalty after August 31 (Dover Code §26-42) | 2026-09-12 |
| Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License | Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Division of Professional Regulation | $142 to open or renew | 2 years — every establishment license expires June 30 of odd-numbered years | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Dover
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Planning Commission Conditional Use (fee not published)only if it applies to you | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | No fee | one-time per application; the City's published documents state no specific term | 2026-09-12 |
| Public Occupancy Permit | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Dover page | not stated in the published fee schedule; the City's own Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspection checklist verifies this permit's status as an ongoing item, but the City's published documents state no renewal cycle or expiration date | 2026-09-12 |
| Building Permit | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Dover page | one-time, per project; expiration not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Dover page | one-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance; a temporary C of O is capped at 45 days | 2026-09-12 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Dover page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | $60 one-time, per Zoning Verification Letter | one-time, per request; not further specified in the source form | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Prevention Permit | City of Dover Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Dover page | one-time, per project; required before work begins | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
DE registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | $110 one-time filing | perpetual, but a flat $300 tax is owed every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | $109 minimum one-time filing; rises with a larger authorized-share structure | perpetual, but an annual report and franchise tax are due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Taxonly if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | $300 a year, flat | annual — due every June 1 | 2026-09-04 |
| Business License | Delaware Division of Revenue | $75 a year for most classifications, $90 for general retailers; each additional location adds $25 or $40 | annual, expiring December 31 — a 3-year license may be bought after the first year at exactly three times the annual fee | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Report and Franchise Taxonly if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | Varies — formula on the DE page | annual — due every March 1 | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)only if it applies to you | Delaware Division of Revenue | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Dover?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a salon or barber in Dover, DE, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $217.00. That is a floor, not a total. 7 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 2 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
City of Dover Business License — Barber/Beautician: $64.00 for the first two chairs (Barber or Beautician category), plus $4.00 for each additional chair beyond two.
The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Dover permits page and the DE state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Dover?
Permits for a salon or barber in Dover, DE come from 5 separate offices: City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department, City of Dover Fire Marshal's Office, Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations, Delaware Division of Revenue, Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Division of Professional Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentIssues 7 permits on this page, including Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Planning Commission Conditional Use (fee not published), Public Occupancy Permit, Building Permit15 Loockerman Plaza, Dover, DE 19901 (mail: P.O. Box 475, Dover, DE 19903-0475) · (302) 736-7010www.cityofdover.com/planning-and-inspections
- City of Dover Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention Permit15 Loockerman Plaza, Dover, DE 19901 · (302) 736-4457www.cityofdover.com/fire-marshal
- Delaware Department of State, Division of CorporationsIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation (LLC), Certificate of Incorporation, LLC Annual Tax, Annual Report and Franchise TaxPO Box 898, Dover, DE 19903 · (302) 739-3073corp.delaware.gov
- Delaware Division of RevenueIssues 2 permits on this page: Business License, Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)820 North French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 · (302) 577-8200revenue.delaware.gov
- Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Division of Professional RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904 · (302) 744-4500dpr.delaware.gov/boards/cosmetology
What does a salon or barber need in Dover that other businesses do not?
2 of the 2 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Dover: City of Dover Business License — Barber/Beautician and Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License.
City of Dover Business License — Barber/Beautician
Confirmed at $64.00 plus $4.00 per additional chair from the City's own current fee table, listed as separate Barber and Beautician categories priced identically. This City license is layered on top of Delaware's own state Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License ($142.00/2 years, listed on the Delaware state page).
Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License
A hundred and forty-two dollars covers a salon, barbershop, mobile salon or combined establishment alike, all sharing the same fee and the same fixed expiration of June 30 in every odd year regardless of when the license was issued. A late renewal costs an additional 50% of the renewal fee.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Dover, DE; what each one involves is set out on the Dover permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across DE and are covered on the DE state page.
How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Dover?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs City of Dover Business License — Barber/Beautician and Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License. A auto repair shop needs City of Dover Business License — Motor Vehicle Serviceman, Auto Body Shop Air Quality Permit and Auto Repair Shop License — Delaware position (general business license applies), which a salon or barber does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a salon or barber | Only a salon or barber needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Retail stores | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Dover permits page and the DE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Dover Business License Application (fillable) — full fee schedule by occupation/business-type categoryCity of Dover, Planning and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — establishment and shop license fee of $142Delaware Division of Professional Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — establishment license renewal cycle, June 30 of odd yearsDelaware Division of Professional Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
