Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Wilmington?

In short

A salon or barber in Wilmington, DE has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning charges $25 one-time, per written zoning certification request for the zoning certificate (written zoning verification). 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a salon or barber in Wilmington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Sign Permit (erection permit plus annual maintenance renewal)only if it applies to youCity of Wilmington Department of Licenses and InspectionsTwo distinct charges under §41-65. First, an erection permit: $6.00 for each $1,000.00 of valuation or fraction thereof, based on the total valuation of all work and material involved to complete the sign, charged again on any alteration or relocation; an illuminated sign adds a separate flat $6.00 for the electric wiring and installation. Second, an annual renewal permit to maintain the sign: $10.00 for a sign not exceeding 50 square feet of face area plus $5.00 for each additional 50 square feet or fraction thereof; marquees, fixed awnings, canopies and similar fixed structures over public property are charged on the same $10.00-plus-$5.00 basis but measured by horizontal projected area; clocks, barberpoles and similar advertising devices are a flat $5.00; and no fee is ever less than a $5.00 minimum. Temporary signs are $10.00 up to 50 square feet plus $10.00 for each additional 50 square feet or fraction, with no permit required at all for a temporary sign of 25 square feet or less whose longest dimension is eight feet or less. Sign area is the product of the extreme vertical and extreme horizontal dimensions, measured from the building face or support on a projecting sign and between the outer limits of the letters where freestanding letters are used, and face area is counted on each face on which the sign is readable or has value as an advertisement.the erection permit lapses if the work is not completed within six months of issuance; the maintenance permit renews annually on or before July 1 for the period ending the following June 302026-09-12
City of Wilmington Business License — Beauty Parlors-Barber ShopCity of Wilmington Department of Finance, Wage/Business License Division$200 per license period (license type code 4005); renewal cycle not stated in the published fee schedulenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment LicenseDelaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Division of Professional Regulation$142 to open or renew2 years — every establishment license expires June 30 of odd-numbered years2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Wilmington

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Building PermitCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and PlanningVaries — formula on the Wilmington pageone-time, per project; expiration not separately stated in the published schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Certificate (Written Zoning Verification)only if it applies to youCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning$25 one-time, per written zoning certification requestone-time, per application; not further specified in the source guide2026-09-12
Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance Applicationonly if it applies to youCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and PlanningVaries — formula on the Wilmington pageone-time per application; a variance once granted gives the applicant six months to apply for a building permit2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning$100 one-time (the commercial rate; a lower $75.00 rate applies only to a residential dwelling); a $250.00 Temporary Commercial Certificate of Occupancy, maximum 30 days, is available separatelyone-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance2026-09-12
Fire Protection Plan ReviewWilmington Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office (Fire Prevention Division)Varies — formula on the Wilmington pageone-time, per project; required at least prior to beginning work2026-09-12
Fire Annual Permit (activity-based schedule)only if it applies to youWilmington Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office (Fire Prevention Division)Varies — formula on the Wilmington pageannual for the activities carrying an express annual fee; the City bills these through its own 'Fire Annual Permits Bills' category2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

DE registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$110 one-time filingperpetual, but a flat $300 tax is owed every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$109 minimum one-time filing; rises with a larger authorized-share structureperpetual, but an annual report and franchise tax are due every year2026-09-04
LLC Annual Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$300 a year, flatannual — due every June 12026-09-04
Business LicenseDelaware Division of Revenue$75 a year for most classifications, $90 for general retailers; each additional location adds $25 or $40annual, expiring December 31 — a 3-year license may be bought after the first year at exactly three times the annual fee2026-09-04
Annual Report and Franchise Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of CorporationsVaries — formula on the DE pageannual — due every March 12026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)only if it applies to youDelaware Division of RevenueNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Wilmington?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a salon or barber in Wilmington, DE, 6 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 6 that always apply, 4 carry a flat fee, coming to $517.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit (erection permit plus annual maintenance renewal): Two distinct charges under §41-65. First, an erection permit: $6.00 for each $1,000.00 of valuation or fraction thereof, based on the total valuation of all work and material involved to complete the sign, charged again on any alteration or relocation; an illuminated sign adds a separate flat $6.00 for the electric wiring and installation. Second, an annual renewal permit to maintain the sign: $10.00 for a sign not exceeding 50 square feet of face area plus $5.00 for each additional 50 square feet or fraction thereof; marquees, fixed awnings, canopies and similar fixed structures over public property are charged on the same $10.00-plus-$5.00 basis but measured by horizontal projected area; clocks, barberpoles and similar advertising devices are a flat $5.00; and no fee is ever less than a $5.00 minimum. Temporary signs are $10.00 up to 50 square feet plus $10.00 for each additional 50 square feet or fraction, with no permit required at all for a temporary sign of 25 square feet or less whose longest dimension is eight feet or less. Sign area is the product of the extreme vertical and extreme horizontal dimensions, measured from the building face or support on a projecting sign and between the outer limits of the letters where freestanding letters are used, and face area is counted on each face on which the sign is readable or has value as an advertisement.

The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Wilmington permits page and the DE state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Wilmington?

Permits for a salon or barber in Wilmington, DE come from 7 separate offices: City of Wilmington Department of Land Use and Planning, Wilmington Fire Department, Fire Marshal's Office (Fire Prevention Division), City of Wilmington Department of Licenses and Inspections, City of Wilmington Department of Finance, Wage/Business License Division, Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations, Delaware Division of Revenue, Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Division of Professional Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a salon or barber need in Wilmington that other businesses do not?

2 of the 3 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Wilmington: City of Wilmington Business License — Beauty Parlors-Barber Shop and Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License.

Sign Permit (erection permit plus annual maintenance renewal)

Confirmed from Chapter 41 of the City Code, read in full from the codified text current to Supplement No. 72 (July 2026). This closes a gap that had persisted because the rate is genuinely not published as a fee schedule anywhere on the City's website: the L&I 'Approved Fee Increases' table is effective June 1, 2014 and its own 'Annual License Permits' block lists only Theaters, Movie Picture Theaters and Assembly Halls, naming no sign line, and the City's bill-search portal exposes 'License and Inspection Annual Bills: Elevators, Public Assembly, Signs' only as a per-account lookup. The rate lives in the Code instead. Two structural points worth recording: §41-43 provides that all signs are inspected to determine the annual permit fee, so the renewal amount follows from a measured face area rather than a self-declared one; and Ordinance #0288, the July 2023 fee increase that raised this city's building, business license and fire fees, amended Chapters 4, 5 and 12 but did not touch Chapter 41, which is why these figures still trace to Ord. No. 92-053 (7-2-92) and remain comparatively low. Section 41-13 exempts several sign types from the chapter entirely, including a professional name plate or occupational sign on a commercial building not exceeding ten square feet and projecting not more than three inches from the wall line, and a construction sign naming the architect, engineer or contractor not exceeding 25 square feet. A sign erector must separately hold a City license backed by a $2,000.00 continuing bond or equivalent liability insurance under §41-4, and carries its own $200.00 business license under the Chapter 5 'Sign, billboard erectors' category listed elsewhere for this jurisdiction. A sign requiring structural or electrical work also requires the standard Building Permit listed elsewhere for this jurisdiction.

City of Wilmington Business License — Beauty Parlors-Barber Shop

Confirmed at $200.00 from the City's own current fee table. The same fee table separately confirms 'Bath-Massage-Tanning Salons' (code 4004) and 'Beautician/Cosmetologist' (code 4023) at the identical $200.00 rate, for a spa or independent cosmetologist operating outside a traditional shop. This City license is layered on top of Delaware's own state Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License ($142.00/2 years, recorded at the state layer).

Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License

A hundred and forty-two dollars covers a salon, barbershop, mobile salon or combined establishment alike, all sharing the same fee and the same fixed expiration of June 30 in every odd year regardless of when the license was issued. A late renewal costs an additional 50% of the renewal fee.

The other 6 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Wilmington, DE; what each one involves is set out on the Wilmington permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across DE and are covered on the DE state page.

How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Wilmington?

The closest match is a fitness studio, which shares 1 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs City of Wilmington Business License — Beauty Parlors-Barber Shop and Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License. A fitness studio needs City of Wilmington Business License — Health Spa/Club, which a salon or barber does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Wilmington, DE, compared with a salon or barber
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a salon or barberOnly a salon or barber needsOnly it needs
Fitness studios2121
Retail stores2121
Veterinary clinics3122
Auto repair shops4123
Coffee shops5124
Restaurants5124
Childcare centres2032
Contractors and trades4034
Food trucks5035

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Wilmington permits page and the DE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Wilmington City Code Chapter 41 (Signs), read in full from the Municode export of Supplement No. 72 (export footer: 'Wilmington, Delaware, Code of Ordinances / Created: 2026-07-31 (Supp. No. 72)') — §41-4 sign erector licensing and bond, §41-13 exempt signs, §41-42 registration, §41-43 inspection to determine the annual permit fee, §41-61 erection permit required, §41-64 annual permit for maintenance and its July 1 renewal date, and §41-65 the complete permit fee scheduleCity of Wilmington · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Business License Search / bill-payment portal — confirms Sign, Public Assembly, and Elevator annual L&I bills and a separate Fire Annual Permits bill categoryCity of Wilmington · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  3. City of Wilmington Application for Business License, fee table effective 1/1/2024 (~90 named license-type codes)City of Wilmington, Department of Finance, Wage/Business License Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  4. Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — establishment and shop license fee of $142Delaware Division of Professional Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  5. Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — establishment license renewal cycle, June 30 of odd yearsDelaware Division of Professional Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.