Commercial Compliance Hub

17 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a coffee shop in Dover?

In short

A coffee shop in Dover, DE has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department charges $128 per license year (license year runs August 1 to July 31) for the city of dover business license — eating establishment/operator. 6 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a coffee shop in Dover

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Safety Permit — Delaware Office of Food Protection (Dover)only if it applies to youCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
City of Dover Business License — Eating Establishment/OperatorCity of Dover Planning and Inspections Department$128 per license year (license year runs August 1 to July 31)annual — August 1 through July 31 (Dover Code §26-40); fee due by August 1, with a 10%-per-month penalty after August 31 (Dover Code §26-42)2026-09-12
Certified Food Protection ManagerDelaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food ProtectionNo feeset by the accrediting program rather than by state regulation2026-09-04
Food Establishment PermitDelaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food Protection$100 a year for a public eating place; ice manufacturers, food processors and vending machine locations pay $30annual, non-refundable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Dover

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Planning Commission Conditional Use (fee not published)only if it applies to youCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentNo feeone-time per application; the City's published documents state no specific term2026-09-12
Public Occupancy PermitCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Dover pagenot stated in the published fee schedule; the City's own Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspection checklist verifies this permit's status as an ongoing item, but the City's published documents state no renewal cycle or expiration date2026-09-12
Building PermitCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Dover pageone-time, per project; expiration not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Dover pageone-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance; a temporary C of O is capped at 45 days2026-09-12
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Dover pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Dover Planning and Inspections Department$60 one-time, per Zoning Verification Letterone-time, per request; not further specified in the source form2026-09-12
Fire Prevention PermitCity of Dover Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Dover pageone-time, per project; required before work begins2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

DE registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$110 one-time filingperpetual, but a flat $300 tax is owed every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$109 minimum one-time filing; rises with a larger authorized-share structureperpetual, but an annual report and franchise tax are due every year2026-09-04
LLC Annual Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$300 a year, flatannual — due every June 12026-09-04
Business LicenseDelaware Division of Revenue$75 a year for most classifications, $90 for general retailers; each additional location adds $25 or $40annual, expiring December 31 — a 3-year license may be bought after the first year at exactly three times the annual fee2026-09-04
Annual Report and Franchise Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of CorporationsVaries — formula on the DE pageannual — due every March 12026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)only if it applies to youDelaware Division of RevenueNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a coffee shop in Dover?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a coffee shop in Dover, DE, 8 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $303.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all.

The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Dover permits page and the DE state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Dover?

Permits for a coffee shop in Dover, DE come from 5 separate offices: City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department, City of Dover Fire Marshal's Office, Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations, Delaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food Protection, Delaware Division of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a coffee shop need in Dover that other businesses do not?

1 of the 4 permits particular to a coffee shop here applies to no other business type we cover in Dover: City of Dover Business License — Eating Establishment/Operator.

Food Safety Permit — Delaware Office of Food Protection (Dover)

No fee applies at the city level. Food-establishment permitting for Dover businesses is by the Delaware Division of Public Health's Office of Food Protection, listed on the Delaware state page. The Business License Application's own printed ordinance text requires licensed premises to stay open to inspection by 'the Executive Officer of the Board of Health,' and the City's own Code Chapter 54 is titled 'Health and Sanitation,' but the substantive content listed under that chapter in the City's code table of contents is a smoking-regulations ordinance rather than a food-establishment permitting program. Both references are read here as pointing to Delaware's statewide Office of Food Protection permit rather than a distinct Dover-run inspection.

City of Dover Business License — Eating Establishment/Operator

A coffee shop preparing and serving food or beverages on-site licenses under the same 'Eating Establishment and/or Eating Establishment Operator' category as a restaurant, confirmed at $128.00 from the City's own current fee table. Dover's own schedule has no separate lower-priced category for a coffee shop or cafe distinct from a full-service restaurant.

Certified Food Protection Manager

No fee is charged by the state, because Delaware does not itself certify managers — every permitted food establishment must have at least one certified food protection manager on site as the person in charge, but that certification comes from completing an accredited third-party program such as ServSafe, priced and issued entirely outside state government. There is no separate individual food handler card requirement layered on top of this manager credential.

Food Establishment Permit

A restaurant, listed as a Public Eating Place, pays $100 a year; a retail food store pays the same $100, while an ice manufacturer, commercial food processor or vending machine location each pay $30. New construction or a substantial remodel also triggers a separate one-time plan review fee scaled by square footage, from $50 for 1,000 square feet or less up to $250 for anything over 15,000 square feet. A nonprofit organization holding IRS 501(c)(3) status is exempt from both fees.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Dover, DE; what each one involves is set out on the Dover permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across DE and are covered on the DE state page.

How does a coffee shop compare with other businesses in Dover?

The closest match is a food truck, which shares 3 of these permits. A coffee shop also needs City of Dover Business License — Eating Establishment/Operator. A food truck needs City of Dover Business License — Food Truck, which a coffee shop does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Dover, DE, compared with a coffee shop
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a coffee shopOnly a coffee shop needsOnly it needs
Food trucks4311
Restaurants4311
Auto repair shops3043
Childcare centres2042
Contractors and trades4044
Fitness studios1041
Retail stores1041
Salons and barbers2042
Veterinary clinics2042

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Dover permits page and the DE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Dover Business License Application (fillable) — full fee schedule by occupation/business-type categoryCity of Dover, Planning and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  2. Code of Ordinances — table of contents confirming Chapter 26 (Businesses), Chapter 22 (Buildings and Building Regulations), Appendix B (Zoning), Chapter 46 (Fire Prevention and Protection), and Chapter 54 (Health and Sanitation) as current chapter titlesCity of Dover, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
  3. Delaware Division of Public Health — the certified food protection manager requirement, effective April 1, 2016Delaware Division of Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
  4. Delaware Division of Public Health — food establishment plan review and annual operating permit feesDelaware Division of Public Health · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.