15 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Dover?
In short
A veterinary clinic in Dover, DE has 6 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department charges $320 per licensed veterinarian, per license year (license year runs August 1 to July 31) for the city of dover business license — veterinarian. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Dover
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Dover Business License — Veterinarian | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | $320 per licensed veterinarian, per license year (license year runs August 1 to July 31) | annual — August 1 through July 31 (Dover Code §26-40); fee due by August 1, with a 10%-per-month penalty after August 31 (Dover Code §26-42) | 2026-09-12 |
| Veterinary Facility Permit — Delaware Code position (individual licenses only)only if it applies to you | Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine, Division of Professional Regulation | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Dover
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Planning Commission Conditional Use (fee not published)only if it applies to you | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | No fee | one-time per application; the City's published documents state no specific term | 2026-09-12 |
| Public Occupancy Permit | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Dover page | not stated in the published fee schedule; the City's own Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspection checklist verifies this permit's status as an ongoing item, but the City's published documents state no renewal cycle or expiration date | 2026-09-12 |
| Building Permit | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Dover page | one-time, per project; expiration not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Dover page | one-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance; a temporary C of O is capped at 45 days | 2026-09-12 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | Varies — formula on the Dover page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | $60 one-time, per Zoning Verification Letter | one-time, per request; not further specified in the source form | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Prevention Permit | City of Dover Fire Marshal's Office | Varies — formula on the Dover page | one-time, per project; required before work begins | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
DE registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | $110 one-time filing | perpetual, but a flat $300 tax is owed every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | $109 minimum one-time filing; rises with a larger authorized-share structure | perpetual, but an annual report and franchise tax are due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Taxonly if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | $300 a year, flat | annual — due every June 1 | 2026-09-04 |
| Business License | Delaware Division of Revenue | $75 a year for most classifications, $90 for general retailers; each additional location adds $25 or $40 | annual, expiring December 31 — a 3-year license may be bought after the first year at exactly three times the annual fee | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Report and Franchise Taxonly if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | Varies — formula on the DE page | annual — due every March 1 | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)only if it applies to you | Delaware Division of Revenue | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Dover?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Dover, DE, 6 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 6 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $395.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 3 have no fee published at all.
The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Dover permits page and the DE state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Dover?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in Dover, DE come from 5 separate offices: City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department, City of Dover Fire Marshal's Office, Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations, Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine, Division of Professional Regulation, Delaware Division of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentIssues 7 permits on this page, including City of Dover Business License — Veterinarian, Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Planning Commission Conditional Use (fee not published), Public Occupancy Permit15 Loockerman Plaza, Dover, DE 19901 (mail: P.O. Box 475, Dover, DE 19903-0475) · (302) 736-7010www.cityofdover.com/planning-and-inspections
- City of Dover Fire Marshal's OfficeIssues 1 permit on this page: Fire Prevention Permit15 Loockerman Plaza, Dover, DE 19901 · (302) 736-4457www.cityofdover.com/fire-marshal
- Delaware Department of State, Division of CorporationsIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation (LLC), Certificate of Incorporation, LLC Annual Tax, Annual Report and Franchise TaxPO Box 898, Dover, DE 19903 · (302) 739-3073corp.delaware.gov
- Delaware Board of Veterinary Medicine, Division of Professional RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Permit — Delaware Code position (individual licenses only)861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904 · (302) 744-4500dpr.delaware.gov/boards/veterinarymedicine
- Delaware Division of RevenueIssues 2 permits on this page: Business License, Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)820 North French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 · (302) 577-8200revenue.delaware.gov
What does a veterinary clinic need in Dover that other businesses do not?
2 of the 2 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here apply to no other business type we cover in Dover: City of Dover Business License — Veterinarian and Veterinary Facility Permit — Delaware Code position (individual licenses only).
City of Dover Business License — Veterinarian
Confirmed at $320.00 from the City's own current fee table, listed under the application's own 'Professional Services (per individual unless noted)' heading — meaning this fee is assessed per licensed veterinarian practicing at a location, not per practice premises, a genuinely different structure than a flat per-business fee. A veterinary practice employing several veterinarians may owe multiple $320.00 licenses. This is distinct from the individual veterinarian licensure Delaware's own state Board of Veterinary Medicine issues (listed on the Delaware state page).
Veterinary Facility Permit — Delaware Code position (individual licenses only)
Under Title 24, Chapter 33, Subchapter II of the Delaware Code, the licensing provisions — qualifications (§ 3313), reciprocity (§ 3314) and the temporary license (§ 3315) — attach to the individual veterinarian, not the premises, so no facility fee is shown here. The subchapter's reference to a physical location is in § 3316(a)(9), which makes failing to keep veterinary premises and equipment in clean and sanitary condition a ground for discipline of the veterinarian, not a separate facility registration or fee.
The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Dover, DE; what each one involves is set out on the Dover permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across DE and are covered on the DE state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Dover?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs City of Dover Business License — Veterinarian and Veterinary Facility Permit — Delaware Code position (individual licenses only). A auto repair shop needs City of Dover Business License — Motor Vehicle Serviceman, Auto Body Shop Air Quality Permit and Auto Repair Shop License — Delaware position (general business license applies), which a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 3 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Restaurants | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Retail stores | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Salons and barbers | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Dover permits page and the DE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- City of Dover Business License Application (fillable) — full fee schedule by occupation/business-type categoryCity of Dover, Planning and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Delaware Code Title 24, Chapter 33 — veterinary practice act, licensing individual veterinarians with no separate premises permitDelaware General Assembly · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
