Commercial Compliance Hub

17 permits · verified 2026-09-12

What permits do you need to open a restaurant in Dover?

In short

A restaurant in Dover, DE has 8 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 9 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department charges $128 per license year (license year runs August 1 to July 31) for the city of dover business license — eating establishment/operator. 6 of the 17 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a restaurant in Dover

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Food Safety Permit — Delaware Office of Food Protection (Dover)only if it applies to youCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentNo feenot applicable2026-09-12
City of Dover Business License — Eating Establishment/OperatorCity of Dover Planning and Inspections Department$128 per license year (license year runs August 1 to July 31)annual — August 1 through July 31 (Dover Code §26-40); fee due by August 1, with a 10%-per-month penalty after August 31 (Dover Code §26-42)2026-09-12
Certified Food Protection ManagerDelaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food ProtectionNo feeset by the accrediting program rather than by state regulation2026-09-04
Food Establishment PermitDelaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food Protection$100 a year for a public eating place; ice manufacturers, food processors and vending machine locations pay $30annual, non-refundable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Dover

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Planning Commission Conditional Use (fee not published)only if it applies to youCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentNo feeone-time per application; the City's published documents state no specific term2026-09-12
Public Occupancy PermitCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Dover pagenot stated in the published fee schedule; the City's own Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspection checklist verifies this permit's status as an ongoing item, but the City's published documents state no renewal cycle or expiration date2026-09-12
Building PermitCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Dover pageone-time, per project; expiration not stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Dover pageone-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance; a temporary C of O is capped at 45 days2026-09-12
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youCity of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentVaries — formula on the Dover pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-09-12
Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to youCity of Dover Planning and Inspections Department$60 one-time, per Zoning Verification Letterone-time, per request; not further specified in the source form2026-09-12
Fire Prevention PermitCity of Dover Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Dover pageone-time, per project; required before work begins2026-09-12

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

DE registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$110 one-time filingperpetual, but a flat $300 tax is owed every year2026-09-04
Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$109 minimum one-time filing; rises with a larger authorized-share structureperpetual, but an annual report and franchise tax are due every year2026-09-04
LLC Annual Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of Corporations$300 a year, flatannual — due every June 12026-09-04
Business LicenseDelaware Division of Revenue$75 a year for most classifications, $90 for general retailers; each additional location adds $25 or $40annual, expiring December 31 — a 3-year license may be bought after the first year at exactly three times the annual fee2026-09-04
Annual Report and Franchise Taxonly if it applies to youDelaware Department of State, Division of CorporationsVaries — formula on the DE pageannual — due every March 12026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)only if it applies to youDelaware Division of RevenueNo feenot applicable2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a restaurant in Dover?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 17 records listed for a restaurant in Dover, DE, 8 apply to every business of this type and 9 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 8 that always apply, 3 carry a flat fee, coming to $303.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 17 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all.

The other 6 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Dover permits page and the DE state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Dover?

Permits for a restaurant in Dover, DE come from 5 separate offices: City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department, City of Dover Fire Marshal's Office, Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations, Delaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food Protection, Delaware Division of Revenue. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a restaurant need in Dover that other businesses do not?

1 of the 4 permits particular to a restaurant here applies to no other business type we cover in Dover: City of Dover Business License — Eating Establishment/Operator.

City of Dover Business License — Eating Establishment/Operator

$128.00, as published in the City's own current Business License Application. Layered on top of (not instead of) Delaware's own state business license and state Office of Food Protection permit, both listed on the Delaware state page. The application's own printed ordinance text requires every licensed premises to stay 'open to inspection of the Fire Marshal and the Executive Officer of the Board of Health during all business hours' — that reference points to the state's own food-safety authority (see the dedicated food/health record elsewhere on this page).

Shared with other businesses in Dover

  • Food Safety Permit — Delaware Office of Food Protection (Dover) — City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department, No fee, not applicable. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Certified Food Protection Manager — Delaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food Protection, No fee, set by the accrediting program rather than by state regulation. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.
  • Food Establishment Permit — Delaware Division of Public Health, Office of Food Protection, $100 a year for a public eating place; ice manufacturers, food processors and vending machine locations pay $30, annual, non-refundable. Also required for coffee shops and food trucks; what it involves is set out on the coffee shops page.

The other 7 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Dover, DE; what each one involves is set out on the Dover permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across DE and are covered on the DE state page.

How does a restaurant compare with other businesses in Dover?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A restaurant also needs City of Dover Business License — Eating Establishment/Operator. A coffee shop needs City of Dover Business License — Eating Establishment/Operator, which a restaurant does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Dover, DE, compared with a restaurant
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a restaurantOnly a restaurant needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops4311
Food trucks4311
Auto repair shops3043
Childcare centres2042
Contractors and trades4044
Fitness studios1041
Retail stores1041
Salons and barbers2042
Veterinary clinics2042

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the coffee shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Dover permits page and the DE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. City of Dover Business License Application (fillable) — full fee schedule by occupation/business-type categoryCity of Dover, Planning and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.