12 permits · verified 2026-09-12
What permits do you need to open a salon or barber in Newark?
In short
A salon or barber in Newark, DE has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations charges $110 one-time filing for the certificate of formation (llc). 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-12 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a salon or barber in Newark
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| City of Newark Business License — Class IX, Personal Services | City of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department) | $1.00 multiplied by the Class IX license fee ratio of 100 (a base of $100.00), plus the §13-57 employee-count adjustment (the first 5 employees add $0.00, the next 5 add a flat $50.00, then $0.50/$1.00/$1.50 per employee in higher tiers), plus a flat $5.00 technology fee. | annual; exact due date not stated in the published ordinance beyond becoming delinquent after the first month, with a 1.5% monthly penalty thereafter (Code §13-53) | 2026-09-12 |
| Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License | Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Division of Professional Regulation | $142 to open or renew | 2 years — every establishment license expires June 30 of odd-numbered years | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in Newark
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Annual Sign Feeonly if it applies to you | City of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department) | Varies — formula on the Newark page | annual | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Special Use Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Newark Planning and Development Department | Varies — formula on the Newark page | one-time per application; Sec. 32-3.1(a) requires these fees be paid at the time of application and provides that they be reviewed every two years | 2026-09-12 |
| Building Permit | City of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department) | Varies — formula on the Newark page | one-time, per project; expiration not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department) | Varies — formula on the Newark page | one-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance; a Temporary Certificate of Occupancy is capped at 90 days | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
DE registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formation (LLC)only if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | $110 one-time filing | perpetual, but a flat $300 tax is owed every year | 2026-09-04 |
| Certificate of Incorporationonly if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | $109 minimum one-time filing; rises with a larger authorized-share structure | perpetual, but an annual report and franchise tax are due every year | 2026-09-04 |
| LLC Annual Taxonly if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | $300 a year, flat | annual — due every June 1 | 2026-09-04 |
| Business License | Delaware Division of Revenue | $75 a year for most classifications, $90 for general retailers; each additional location adds $25 or $40 | annual, expiring December 31 — a 3-year license may be bought after the first year at exactly three times the annual fee | 2026-09-04 |
| Annual Report and Franchise Taxonly if it applies to you | Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations | Varies — formula on the DE page | annual — due every March 1 | 2026-09-04 |
| Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)only if it applies to you | Delaware Division of Revenue | No fee | not applicable | 2026-09-04 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a salon or barber in Newark?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a salon or barber in Newark, DE, 5 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $217.00. That is a floor, not a total. 6 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
City of Newark Business License — Class IX, Personal Services: $1.00 multiplied by the Class IX license fee ratio of 100 (a base of $100.00), plus the §13-57 employee-count adjustment (the first 5 employees add $0.00, the next 5 add a flat $50.00, then $0.50/$1.00/$1.50 per employee in higher tiers), plus a flat $5.00 technology fee.
The other 5 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Newark permits page and the DE state page.
Which offices issue these permits in Newark?
Permits for a salon or barber in Newark, DE come from 5 separate offices: City of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department), City of Newark Planning and Development Department, Delaware Department of State, Division of Corporations, Delaware Division of Revenue, Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Division of Professional Regulation. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of Newark Code Enforcement Division (Planning and Development Department)Issues 4 permits on this page: Annual Sign Fee, Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, City of Newark Business License — Class IX, Personal Services220 South Main Street, Newark, DE 19711 · (302) 366-7000newarkde.gov/24/Code-Enforcement-Division
- City of Newark Planning and Development DepartmentIssues 1 permit on this page: Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Special Use Permit220 South Main Street, Newark, DE 19711 · (302) 366-7000newarkde.gov/59/Planning-and-Development
- Delaware Department of State, Division of CorporationsIssues 4 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation (LLC), Certificate of Incorporation, LLC Annual Tax, Annual Report and Franchise TaxPO Box 898, Dover, DE 19903 · (302) 739-3073corp.delaware.gov
- Delaware Division of RevenueIssues 2 permits on this page: Business License, Sales Tax Permit — Delaware position (gross receipts tax instead)820 North French Street, Wilmington, DE 19801 · (302) 577-8200revenue.delaware.gov
- Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Division of Professional RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License861 Silver Lake Boulevard, Cannon Building, Suite 203, Dover, DE 19904 · (302) 744-4500dpr.delaware.gov/boards/cosmetology
What does a salon or barber need in Newark that other businesses do not?
2 of the 2 permits particular to a salon or barber here apply to no other business type we cover in Newark: City of Newark Business License — Class IX, Personal Services and Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License.
City of Newark Business License — Class IX, Personal Services
Class IX's own text explicitly names 'barbers, health and beauty care' among its examples — an explicit textual match for a salon. A single-employee business may instead elect a flat $100.00 alternative fee under §13-58 rather than this class-ratio calculation; a business owner should confirm which option applies with Code Enforcement. This City license is layered on top of Delaware's own state Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License, listed on this site's Delaware state page.
Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License
A hundred and forty-two dollars covers a salon, barbershop, mobile salon or combined establishment alike, all sharing the same fee and the same fixed expiration of June 30 in every odd year regardless of when the license was issued. A late renewal costs an additional 50% of the renewal fee.
The other 4 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Newark, DE; what each one involves is set out on the Newark permits page. The 6 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across DE and are covered on the DE state page.
How does a salon or barber compare with other businesses in Newark?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 0 of these permits. A salon or barber also needs City of Newark Business License — Class IX, Personal Services and Cosmetology or Barbering Establishment License. A auto repair shop needs City of Newark Business License — Class VI, Auto Repair, Fire Safety Business Registration, Auto Body Shop Air Quality Permit and Auto Repair Shop License — Delaware position (general business license applies), which a salon or barber does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a salon or barber | Only a salon or barber needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Childcare centres | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Coffee shops | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Contractors and trades | 4 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| Fitness studios | 1 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Food trucks | 5 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| Restaurants | 5 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| Retail stores | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Veterinary clinics | 2 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Newark permits page and the DE state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Code of the City of Newark, Chapter 13 (Fire Prevention and Taxation), Article VII (Business License), §§13-43–13-64 — the full class-ratio fee structure, exemptions, and technology/downtown feesCity of Newark, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — establishment and shop license fee of $142Delaware Division of Professional Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
- Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering — establishment license renewal cycle, June 30 of odd yearsDelaware Division of Professional Regulation · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-04
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
