18 published records
Business licenses and permits in Dover, Delaware
Dover's own current Business License Application confirms a City of Dover general business license, layered on top of Delaware's own state business license, priced by dozens of named occupation/business-type categories rather than one flat fee, administered by the Planning and Inspections Department (Public Inspections Division) under Dover Code Chapter 26, Article II, §26-35 — a genuinely different administrative model than Wilmington's dedicated Finance Department license division. Figures for the ten industries covered here: Eating Establishment/Operator $128.00 (restaurant, coffee shop), Merchant $64.00 minimum with a 0.00046-of-gross-purchases renewal formula (retail store), Food Truck $180.00, Day Care Operator $52.00 (Home Day Care Operator $28.00 for a family child care home), Health Spa or Health Club $192.00 (fitness studio), Contractor $128.00 minimum with a 0.00046-of-gross-receipts renewal formula, Motor Vehicle Serviceman $96.00 (the closest named category to auto repair), Veterinarian $320.00 (assessed per individual professional, not per practice), and Barber/Beautician $64.00 plus $4.00 per chair beyond two (salon). The license year runs August 1 to July 31, due by August 1 with a 10%-per-month late penalty after August 31. A single 'Planning and Inspections Department' — not Wilmington's two-department split — houses both zoning administration (Planning Division) and building/business-license/sign permitting (Public Inspections Division); the Fire Marshal's Office is a separate department under Emergency Management and Communications. A 'Permit Fees' brochure (7/2022), not the application forms themselves, is the confirmed source for a Building Permit priced at $25.00 for the first $1,000 of construction value plus $8.00/$1,000 up to $10 million (tapering above that), a commercial Certificate of Occupancy at $75.00 for the first 20,000 sq ft plus $15.00/10,000 sq ft, and a Sign Permit at $0.75/sq ft with a $50.00 minimum. A genuinely separate 'Public Occupancy Permit' (effective 1/1/2022, issued jointly by Planning and Inspections and the Fire Marshal) prices by building-code occupancy classification, with no fee stated for Mercantile/Business/Storage occupancies under 10,000 sq ft. A Fire Prevention Permit for fire alarm/sprinkler/suppression system work is confirmed at $25.00/$1,000 of cost with a $150.00 minimum, cross-confirmed across two City documents. A $60.00 Zoning Verification Letter fee is confirmed; a Zoning Board of Adjustment variance and a Planning Commission conditional-use review both exist, and no current fee for either is published in the City's current fee documents. Food-safety permitting is by Delaware's Office of Food Protection. The City's Business License Application prices food trucks under its general Food Truck category, unlike Wilmington's two-tier structure.
What are you opening in Dover?
- RestaurantsFull-service restaurants carry the densest permit load of any small business: food, fire, occupancy, waste, and usually alcohol.See the full permit list
- Coffee shopsCafés are permitted as food service establishments even where no cooking happens, and the plan review step catches most operators by surprise.See the full permit list
- Retail storesRetail is the lightest common permit load, but the sales tax permit and the certificate of occupancy are non-negotiable in every jurisdiction.See the full permit list
- Salons and barbersPersonal care is licensed at state board level as well as locally, so the shop license and the practitioner licenses are separate obligations.See the full permit list
- Food trucksMobile food is the one category with no certificate of occupancy — but it gains a commissary agreement, and the unit itself is inspected rather than the premises.See the full permit list
- Fitness studiosPrepaid memberships trigger state registration and often a surety bond, which catches operators who budgeted only for the fit-out.See the full permit list
- Childcare centresThe heaviest permit load of any small business: state agency licensing, per-person background checks, and a stricter fire standard than ordinary commercial use.See the full permit list
- Contractors and tradesLicensed at state board level rather than locally, and the only common category with no premises permits at all — the bond is usually the long pole.See the full permit list
- Auto repair shopsOrdinary commercial permitting plus an environmental layer: waste oil, solvents and stormwater are each registered separately.See the full permit list
- Veterinary clinicsA state facility permit, controlled substances registration at both state and federal level, and a medical waste manifest — none of which a general business license covers.See the full permit list
Permits that apply to every type of business in Dover
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Planning Commission Conditional Use (fee not published)only if it applies to you | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | No fee | one-time per application; the City's published documents state no specific term | 2026-09-12 |
| Public Occupancy Permit | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | Fee is set by the applicant's building-code occupancy classification: Assembly occupancy with an occupant load under 75 persons, no charge; 75 or more, $100.00 (plus $10.00 per each additional 50 fixed seats beyond the first 200); Day Care, $50.00 for a family day care home (6 or fewer children) or large family day care home (7-12 children) as defined at Zoning Appendix B, Article 5, §§14.22-14.23, otherwise $100.00; Health Care, $100.00 for the first 25 rooms plus $5.00 per additional room; Educational, Ambulatory Health Care, Residential Board and Care, and Industrial occupancies, $100.00 each; Residential, $100.00 per building; Mercantile, Business, and Storage occupancies of 10,000 square feet or more, $100.00 each. The published schedule states no fee for Mercantile, Business, or Storage occupancies under 10,000 square feet. | not stated in the published fee schedule; the City's own Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspection checklist verifies this permit's status as an ongoing item, but the City's published documents state no renewal cycle or expiration date | 2026-09-12 |
| Building Permit | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | $25.00 for the first $1,000 of construction value, plus $8.00 for each additional $1,000 of value up to $10,000,000; $6.00 per $1,000 of value from $10,000,000 to $20,000,000; and $5.00 per $1,000 of value above $20,000,000. | one-time, per project; expiration not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Certificate of Occupancy | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | $75.00 for the first 20,000 square feet of a non-residential occupancy, plus $15.00 for each additional 10,000 square feet, for a permanent Certificate of Occupancy. A Temporary Certificate of Occupancy for the same non-residential use costs $100.00, capped at 45 days. | one-time — issued after final inspections confirm code compliance; a temporary C of O is capped at 45 days | 2026-09-12 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | $0.75 per square foot of sign area for each sign, with a minimum fee of $50.00 for all signs. | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-09-12 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of Dover Planning and Inspections Department | $60 one-time, per Zoning Verification Letter | one-time, per request; not further specified in the source form | 2026-09-12 |
| Fire Prevention Permit | City of Dover Fire Marshal's Office | $25.00 per $1,000.00 of system cost or fraction thereof, with a minimum fee of $150.00 per permit. | one-time, per project; required before work begins | 2026-09-12 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
What do these permits involve in Dover?
Zoning Board of Adjustment Variance / Planning Commission Conditional Use (fee not published)
No current fee is published in the City's current fee documents, so no fee is recorded here. The most recent adopted schedule with published text is Ordinance #2015-22, adopted December 14, 2015 and effective January 1, 2016, which deleted Appendix F (Fees and Fines) in its entirety and substituted a replacement schedule; its figures are given here as background rather than as today's fee: under Appendix B Zoning Article 9 (Board of Adjustment) §3.4, all variance requests for residential uses were set at $300.00, all variance requests for nonresidential uses at $600.00, and all appeals from an order, requirement, decision or determination of an administrative official, board or agency at $300.00, with the Board given discretion to refund part or all of the fee where an interpretation appeal under §2.1 succeeds and with variance fees under §2.2 expressly non-returnable regardless of outcome; under Article 10 (Planning Commission) §1.52, a conditional use permit was set at $425.00 plus $25.00 per acre of the area or multiple thereof involved in the application. Those 2015 figures are not today's fee: the City's own chronological ordinance list shows Appendix F amended repeatedly since, including Ordinance #2016-16 (comprehensive amendments touching both Appendix B Zoning and Appendix F together) and Ordinance #2018-01 (zoning and fee amendments), and the currently codified Appendix F is not publicly viewable on the City's Municode code site. The Zoning Board of Adjustment and the Planning Commission are both sitting bodies. A business owner should confirm the current application and fee directly with Planning and Inspections at (302) 736-7196 (zoning).
Public Occupancy Permit
This is a separate, newer local credential from the Certificate of Occupancy listed elsewhere on this page — issued jointly by Planning and Inspections and the Fire Marshal's Office and priced by building-code occupancy classification rather than by construction activity or square footage alone. A typical small retail store, salon, or fitness studio under 10,000 square feet in a Mercantile or Business occupancy classification falls into the schedule's own unpriced gap; a business owner should confirm the applicable fee directly with Planning and Inspections or the Fire Marshal's Office.
Building Permit
Neither the City's own Building Permit Application nor its Sign Permit Application carries a fee table on the form itself; this figure comes from a separate 'Permit Fees' brochure dated 7/2022. The application must be filled out by a City-licensed contractor or by the property owner directly. A separate Fire Prevention Permit (listed elsewhere on this page) applies on top of this permit for fire alarm, sprinkler, or suppression-system work. A $50.00 demolition permit and separate mechanical/plumbing/heat-pump trade-permit fees appear on the same brochure but are not separately recorded here.
Certificate of Occupancy
This is the Certificate of Occupancy tied to the Building Permit / construction process, distinct from the separate 'Public Occupancy Permit' listed elsewhere on this page, which is priced by building-code occupancy classification rather than square footage and is jointly administered with the Fire Marshal's Office. A one-family residential C of O is priced separately and lower ($60.00 permanent, $75.00 temporary) but does not apply to the commercial industries covered here.
Sign Permit
The City's own Sign Permit Application form itself leaves the fee line blank for staff to calculate; the $0.75-per-square-foot rate and $50.00 minimum come from the separate Permit Fees brochure (7/2022). A sign requiring structural or electrical work would separately require the standard Building Permit listed elsewhere on this page. A temporary sign (inflatable, under 100 square feet) is capped at 90 continuous days per calendar year per the City's own Planning FAQ.
Zoning Verification Letter
The City's own current Zoning Verification Request Form states plainly: 'There is a $60.00 fee per Zoning Verification Letter.' This confirms whether a proposed use is allowed at a given parcel under Dover's own zoning ordinance (Appendix B) before a business commits to a location.
Fire Prevention Permit
Required for installing or modifying a fire alarm system, sprinkler or standpipe system, or a cooking-hood suppression system, and for underground/aboveground fire-protection-related storage tanks. This $25.00/$1,000-with-$150.00-minimum figure, listed on the Fire Marshal's own permit description, matches the identical rate the separate Permit Fees brochure lists under 'Fire Sprinkler Permits' — an independent cross-confirmation across two of the City's own documents. The Fire Marshal's Office also conducts a separate Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspection that checks a business's Public Occupancy Permit status (listed elsewhere on this page) alongside fire-code compliance items, but no distinct fee for that annual inspection itself is published.
Sources
Every figure in the table above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Code of Ordinances — table of contents confirming Chapter 26 (Businesses), Chapter 22 (Buildings and Building Regulations), Appendix B (Zoning), Chapter 46 (Fire Prevention and Protection), and Chapter 54 (Health and Sanitation) as current chapter titlesCity of Dover, via Municode · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- City of Dover Ordinance #2015-22, adopted December 14, 2015 and effective January 1, 2016 — deletes Appendix F (Fees and Fines) in its entirety and substitutes a replacement schedule, including the Appendix B Zoning Article 9 (Board of Adjustment) §3.4 variance and appeal fees and the Article 10 (Planning Commission) §1.52 conditional use permit feeCity of Dover, Delaware · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- City of Dover — Ordinances, Resolutions and Tributes, full chronological list by year (showing Appendix F amended repeatedly after Ordinance #2015-22, including #2016-16 and #2018-01)City of Dover, City Clerk's Office · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-18
- Application for Public Occupancy Permit (effective 1/1/2022) — fee schedule by building-code occupancy classificationCity of Dover, Planning and Inspections Department and Office of the Fire Marshal · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Permit Fees brochure (dated 7/2022) — Building Permit, Certificate of Occupancy, Sign Permit, Demolition, and trade-permit fee schedulesCity of Dover, Planning and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Building Permit Application — permit process and licensed-contractor requirements (no fee table on the form itself)City of Dover, Planning and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Sign Permit Application (effective 8/14/2012)City of Dover, Planning and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
- Zoning Verification Request Form — confirms the $60.00 fee per Zoning Verification LetterCity of Dover, Planning and Inspections Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-12
Who issues business permits in Dover?
Permitting in Dover is split across 2 agencies we hold records for, with tax registration handled at state level. No single office issues everything, which is why an opening usually means filing in several places rather than one.
Dover issuing agencies
- City of Dover Planning and Inspections DepartmentCity of Dover general business license (all industries, Dover Code Chapter 26) · Building, sign, demolition, and mobile home permits · Certificate of Occupancy · Zoning administration (Appendix B), Zoning Verification Letters · Zoning Board of Adjustment and Planning Commission staffing · Public Occupancy Permit (jointly with the Fire Marshal's Office)17 permits
- City of Dover Fire Marshal's OfficeFire Prevention Permits (fire alarm, sprinkler/standpipe, and hood suppression system installation) · Annual Fire and Life Safety Inspections · Public Occupancy Permit (jointly with Planning and Inspections) · Fire investigation and code enforcement1 permit
Other Delaware jurisdictions we cover
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
