Anchorage
Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)
In short
Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety) issues 4 permits we publish for Anchorage, last verified 2026-09-14. Each carries the fee as the agency publishes it, with a link to the schedule it was read from.
What this agency issues
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Municipal Contractor License (in addition to the state license) | Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety) | From AMC 23.10.109.11 Table 3-K, as amended by AO No. 2026-33: a contractor license is $400.00 for two years, or $450.00 for two years with a residential endorsement; a journeyman license is $150.00 for two years, a trainee license $85.00 and a special inspector license $150.00. Contractor testing is $100.00 and journeyman testing $75.00. An administrative late fee is $70.00, a backflow assembly tester renewal $150.00 and a duplicate license $25.00. Working unlicensed carries a first-offence fine of $1,000 under Table 3-O, which the Building Official may waive if the license is obtained within thirty days. | a maximum of two years, expiring February 14 | 2026-09-14 |
| Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety) | Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule. | not stated in the published fee tables | 2026-09-14 |
| Commercial Building Permit | Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety) | From AMC 23.10.109.1 Table 3-A, as amended by AO No. 2026-33. Commercial work up to $50,000 of valuation, limited to repairs, decks and minor alterations, is $350.00 and includes four inspections. Commercial work up to $1,000,000 is 1.2 percent of valuation with a $700.00 minimum, including thirty inspections plus five per $100,000. From $1,000,001 to $5,000,000 it is $12,000.00 plus 0.8 percent of the valuation above $1,000,000, including eighty inspections plus five per $250,000. Above $5,000,000 it is $44,000.00 plus 0.6 percent of the valuation above $5,000,000, including one hundred and sixty inspections plus five per $500,000. Affordable housing with at least half its units at or below eighty percent of HUD median pays twenty-five percent of the applicable commercial fee. Plan review under Table 3-B adds 0.31 percent of valuation with a $75.00 minimum, land use plan review fifteen percent of the building safety fee with a $75.00 minimum, and fire department plan review 0.11 percent of valuation with a $75.00 minimum. A trade permit covering plumbing, mechanical or electrical work without structural alteration is $175.00, a change of use without alteration is $350.00 and a demolition permit is $175.00. A digital maintenance fee of $75.00 applies to commercial permits. | not stated in the published fee tables | 2026-09-14 |
| Certificate of Occupancy (charged through the underlying permit) | Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety) | No fee | one-time; a conditional certificate issued because of weather delay expires on September 15 of the following year | 2026-09-14 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
About each permit
Municipal Contractor License (in addition to the state license)
Both layers apply and the state one comes first. Development Services states the requirement plainly — 'Any individual or business engaged in construction within the Municipality of Anchorage Service Area is required to obtain a Municipal Contractors License' — and the sequence — 'Before applying … contact the State of Alaska, Department of Occupational Licensing … to obtain a State of Alaska Contractor License.' The municipal license is also bounded by the state one: 'The Municipality does not license outside the categories stated on your State of Alaska contractors license.' The state layer is separately substantial: 12 AAC 02.180 charges $100 to apply and $250 for the biennial certificate of registration, with a further $250 for a residential contractor endorsement, and bonding runs from $5,000 for a handyman whose contract price is $10,000 or less to $25,000 for a general contractor, with insurance of $20,000 property damage and $50,000 or $100,000 for injury. One conflict is disclosed rather than resolved: the Development Services web page lists exam fees of $90 and $60 against Table 3-K's $100 and $75, and card fees that also differ. Table 3-K was amended in April 2026 and is the adopted authority, so this record follows it and flags the page as apparently stale. Qualification cards with notarised hour requirements apply separately to plumbing, gas and sheet metal trades.
Sign Permit
Anchorage prices signs per inspection rather than per square foot or by valuation, which makes an illuminated sign materially more expensive than an unlit one — three inspections instead of two, a difference of $175.00 before plan review. Plan review is charged per discipline with a half-hour minimum each, so a sign needing land use, structural and electrical review attracts three separate minimum charges on top. A business needing relief from the sign code faces a much larger number: the sign permit variance is $1,370.00.
Commercial Building Permit
The valuation basis is prescribed rather than negotiated and includes an Anchorage-specific multiplier: AMC 23.10.104.14.1 provides that valuation 'shall be based on the Building Valuation Data Chart in the most recent August issue of the Building Safety Journal as published by the International Code Council. The regional multiplier shall be 1.3,' calculated by dollars per square foot. Finished basements are taken at 0.67 of the rate, partially finished at 0.40 and permanent fabric structures at 0.50. Where an applicant declines to produce the construction contract, the Municipality assigns 20, 40, 60 or 80 percent of new-construction valuation by scope. Inspection charges under Table 3-C escalate sharply and are worth planning around: a first or re-inspection is $175.00 per hour with a one-hour minimum, a second re-inspection for the same issue is $265.00 per hour, an unscheduled inspection is $350.00 per hour, out-of-hours is $350.00 with a two-hour minimum and Sundays or holidays are $400.00 with a two-hour minimum. Expedited plan review is the base fee plus sixty percent of the building safety fee, and express review is $280.00 per hour per discipline.
Certificate of Occupancy (charged through the underlying permit)
No fee applies to the certificate itself: the AMC 23.10.109 fee schedule lists no certificate of occupancy line. What is charged instead is the underlying permit: a change of occupancy without alteration is a $350.00 permit under Table 3-A item 3.D, so a business taking over an existing space for a different use pays that rather than a certificate fee. AMC 23.10.107.4 also requires an as-built survey for new structures, moved structures and additions, and permits a conditional certificate where 'substantial hazard will not result from occupancy … before the same is completed,' with weather-delayed conditional certificates expiring September 15 of the following year. Where a permit does not involve occupiable space or a change of occupancy classification, a Certificate of Completion issues instead. Separately, AMC 21.03.060 prices a certification of zoning status, including nonconforming or grandfather rights, at $135.00 per hour with a two-hour minimum.
Contact
- Jurisdiction
- Anchorage
- Phone
- (907) 343-8211
Contact details are taken from the agency’s own site or its published fee schedule. Where we have not verified a phone number we leave it blank rather than guess.
Sources
Every fee and term above was read from one of these government pages on the date shown.
- Anchorage Municipal Code, eCode360 AN6998 — Title 10 (Business Licenses and Regulations, including the repealed chapters 10.30 and 10.35), AMC 16.50 (shops), 16.55 (child care licensing), 16.60 (food establishments, including the §16.60.110 risk-scored fee table), 23.10.109 (building, contractor, sign and inspection fee tables 3-A to 3-O), 23.10.107.4 (certificate of occupancy) and 23.45.108.2 (fire fee tables 1-A to 3-M), all as amended by AO No. 2026-33, 4-14-2026Municipality of Anchorage, codified by General Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
- Contractor Licensing — Development Services' own current page requiring a municipal contractor license for construction within the Municipality, requiring the state license first, and stating the two-year term expiring February 14Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
Other offices serving Anchorage
The full permit list for this jurisdiction
Industry permit lists that include this agency
Alaska jurisdictions
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
