Commercial Compliance Hub

13 permits · verified 2026-09-14

What permits do you need to open a retail store in Anchorage?

In short

A retail store in Anchorage, AK has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing charges $250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 tax for the articles of incorporation. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-09-14 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a retail store in Anchorage

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Retail Store — Merchant Chapter Reaches Pawnbrokers and Used-Car Lots Only (Anchorage)only if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's OfficeNo feenot applicable2026-09-14
Sign Permitonly if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule.not stated in the published fee tables2026-09-14
Food Establishment Permit (municipal, not state)Anchorage Health Department, Environmental Services — Food Safety and SanitationRisk-scored under AMC 16.60.110 Table Two: an establishment scoring 0 to 5 points is Risk Type 1 at $260.00, 6 to 9 points is Risk Type 2 at $460.00, and 10 or more points is Risk Type 3 at $660.00 annually. A full-service restaurant typically scores 10 or more and pays $660.00. Catering adds $150.00. Plan review for a new or remodelled establishment is $220.00 up to 1,000 square feet, $330.00 from 1,001 to 4,000 and $550.00 above 4,000, with revisions taking more than half an hour charged at $150.00 per hour. A change of ownership is $150.00 for each physical location and an enforcement inspection is $300.00. A food worker card is $10.00, with training at $25.00 and the examination at $10.00. Late payment adds ten percent, rising to twenty-five percent more than thirty days past due.annual — AMCR R15.05.001 provides that all permits, unless otherwise provided, expire on December 31 of the year of issuance2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Anchorage

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Conditional Use Permit / Variance / Site Plan Reviewonly if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Planning DepartmentVaries — formula on the Anchorage pageone-time per application2026-09-14
General Business License — Anchorage Position (state license is universal)only if it applies to youMunicipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's OfficeNo feenot applicable municipally; the separate State of Alaska business license expires December 31 of the licensing period purchased2026-09-14
Fire and Life Safety InspectionAnchorage Fire Department, Fire Prevention DivisionVaries — formula on the Anchorage pagecommercial, industrial, institutional and multi-family buildings may be inspected annually or every other year2026-09-14
Commercial Building PermitMunicipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)Varies — formula on the Anchorage pagenot stated in the published fee tables2026-09-14
Certificate of Occupancy (charged through the underlying permit)Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety)No feeone-time; a conditional certificate issued because of weather delay expires on September 15 of the following year2026-09-14

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

AK registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Articles of Incorporationonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filing — a $150 fee plus a $100 taxperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Biennial Reportonly if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$100 every other year, domestic — $200 for a foreign entity; late filing after February 2 raises these to $137.50 and $247.50every 2 years — due January 2, with filing open from the preceding October 22026-09-04
Business LicenseAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$50 a year, or $100 for a 2-year term1 or 2 years, selectable at application2026-09-04
Articles of Organization (LLC)only if it applies to youAlaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing$250 one-time filingperpetual, but a biennial report is due every other year2026-09-04
Sales Tax Permit — Alaska position (local sales taxes only)only if it applies to youAlaska Remote Seller Sales Tax CommissionNo feenot applicable at the state level2026-09-04

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a retail store in Anchorage?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 13 records listed for a retail store in Anchorage, AK, 5 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 5 that always apply, 1 carry a flat fee, coming to $50.00. That is a floor, not a total. 5 of the 13 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 4 have no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Sign Permit: Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule.

Food Establishment Permit (municipal, not state): Risk-scored under AMC 16.60.110 Table Two: an establishment scoring 0 to 5 points is Risk Type 1 at $260.00, 6 to 9 points is Risk Type 2 at $460.00, and 10 or more points is Risk Type 3 at $660.00 annually. A full-service restaurant typically scores 10 or more and pays $660.00. Catering adds $150.00. Plan review for a new or remodelled establishment is $220.00 up to 1,000 square feet, $330.00 from 1,001 to 4,000 and $550.00 above 4,000, with revisions taking more than half an hour charged at $150.00 per hour. A change of ownership is $150.00 for each physical location and an enforcement inspection is $300.00. A food worker card is $10.00, with training at $25.00 and the examination at $10.00. Late payment adds ten percent, rising to twenty-five percent more than thirty days past due.

The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Anchorage permits page and the AK state page.

Which offices issue these permits in Anchorage?

Permits for a retail store in Anchorage, AK come from 7 separate offices: Municipality of Anchorage, Planning Department, Municipality of Anchorage, Municipal Clerk's Office, Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety), Anchorage Fire Department, Fire Prevention Division, Anchorage Health Department, Environmental Services — Food Safety and Sanitation, Alaska Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a retail store need in Anchorage that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a retail store here applies to no other business type we cover in Anchorage: Retail Store — Merchant Chapter Reaches Pawnbrokers and Used-Car Lots Only (Anchorage).

Retail Store — Merchant Chapter Reaches Pawnbrokers and Used-Car Lots Only (Anchorage)

No fee applies: AMC chapter 10.20 is headed MERCHANTS, but its section list licenses only pawnbrokers and used automobile display lots, each at $100.00 under AMCR R10.20.001. A general retailer needs the state business license at $50 per year and nothing municipal by way of license. Its municipal obligations are the building permit for fit-out, the sign permit, the fire and life safety inspection — Table 2-B by floor area, with the forty percent discount available to Group M occupancies where an inspection finds zero violations — and a food permit only if it sells food, in which case the risk-scored schedule in the food establishment record for Anchorage applies. Without a general municipal sales tax — Anchorage's selective taxes are on rooms, vehicle rentals, alcohol, marijuana and cigarettes — a retailer has no municipal sales tax registration either.

Food Establishment Permit (municipal, not state)

This is the only municipal retail food programme in Alaska, as the state's own environmental health office describes it. DEC's own contact page states that within the Municipality of Anchorage, 'If you are selling food in the Municipality of Anchorage and your food activities are retail-only (no manufacturing or processing), please contact the Anchorage Health Department's Food Safety and Sanitation program.' The boundary matters: a business that manufactures, processes or wholesales food remains DEC-regulated even inside Anchorage, so a restaurant that also produces packaged goods for resale may hold both. The risk score rather than the seat count or floor area drives the fee — a coffee shop with a limited menu may fall in Type 1 or Type 2, and which one is an Anchorage Health Department determination rather than a published figure. Two provisions catch operators out. A bar pays a food permit even if it serves no food: AMC 16.60.070C provides that 'A business licensed as a beverage dispensary by the State of Alaska shall obtain a permit under this chapter for service of beverages, even if other food is not served.' And a Certified Food Protection Manager is required for Risk Type 2 or 3.

Shared with other businesses in Anchorage

  • Sign Permit — Municipality of Anchorage, Development Services Department (Building Safety), Charged by inspection rather than by sign area. AMC 23.10.109.10 Table 3-J prices the sign or art permit at $175.00 per inspection, with all signs requiring zoning and structural inspections and electrical signs additionally requiring an electrical inspection — so a non-illuminated sign is two inspections at $350.00 and an illuminated sign three at $525.00. Sign plan review for land use, structural and electrical disciplines as applicable is $175.00 per hour with a half-hour minimum per discipline. A digital maintenance fee of $15.00 applies. A sign permit variance is $1,370.00 on the Planning Department's schedule., not stated in the published fee tables. Also required for restaurants, coffee shops, fitness studios, auto repair shops, veterinary clinics and salons and barbers; what it involves is set out on the salons and barbers page.

The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Anchorage, AK; what each one involves is set out on the Anchorage permits page. The 5 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across AK and are covered on the AK state page.

How does a retail store compare with other businesses in Anchorage?

The closest match is a coffee shop, which shares 2 of these permits. A retail store also needs Retail Store — Merchant Chapter Reaches Pawnbrokers and Used-Car Lots Only (Anchorage). A coffee shop needs Food Worker Card and Food Establishment Permit, which a retail store does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Anchorage, AK, compared with a retail store
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a retail storeOnly a retail store needsOnly it needs
Coffee shops4212
Restaurants4212
Fitness studios2121
Auto repair shops3122
Salons and barbers3122
Veterinary clinics3122
Childcare centres2032
Contractors and trades4034
Food trucks3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the salons and barbers page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Anchorage permits page and the AK state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Business Licenses — the Municipality's own current page stating that a state business license is universal while only certain industries need a municipal license, and enumerating the licenses the Clerk issuesMunicipality of Anchorage · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  2. Anchorage Municipal Code, eCode360 AN6998 — Title 10 (Business Licenses and Regulations, including the repealed chapters 10.30 and 10.35), AMC 16.50 (shops), 16.55 (child care licensing), 16.60 (food establishments, including the §16.60.110 risk-scored fee table), 23.10.109 (building, contractor, sign and inspection fee tables 3-A to 3-O), 23.10.107.4 (certificate of occupancy) and 23.45.108.2 (fire fee tables 1-A to 3-M), all as amended by AO No. 2026-33, 4-14-2026Municipality of Anchorage, codified by General Code · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  3. Find Your Local Environmental Health Officer — Alaska DEC's own statement that retail-only food activities within the Municipality of Anchorage are regulated by the Anchorage Health Department rather than by DEC, the only such carve-out in the stateAlaska Department of Environmental Conservation, Food Safety and Sanitation Program · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14
  4. Food Safety and Sanitation — the Anchorage Health Department's own current page for the municipal retail food programme, food permits, plan review and food worker cardsMunicipality of Anchorage, Anchorage Health Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-09-14

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.