NAICS 722330
What permits does a food truck need?
In short
We hold 1736 verified records for a food truck across 443 jurisdictions, counting statewide registrations, a median of 3 per place. The most widely required is the general business license, held in 208 of them, with a median fee of $100. The exact set depends on your city and county, so the table below shows the spread rather than a single national figure.
The permits a food truck usually carries
Each row groups the permits of one type, whatever the local name. 1282 differently named permits fall into 196 types; the 25 most widely required are shown here.
| Permit type | Jurisdictions | Typical fee (middle half) | Median fee | Usual term |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General business licensealways applies in 75 of 208 | 208 | $45 – $150 | $100 | not applicable |
| Mobile food vendor permitalways applies in 145 of 186 | 186 | $100 – $355 | $200 | annual |
| Temporary food establishment permitalways applies in 11 of 155 | 155 | $52 – $179 | $80.56 | per event |
| Food service establishment permitalways applies in 99 of 122 | 122 | $105 – $400 | $240 | annual |
| Sales and use tax permitalways applies in 44 of 56 | 56 | $0 – $50 | $20 | not applicable |
| Mobile food preparation vehicle permitalways applies in 41 of 45 | 45 | $100 – $360 | $200 | annual |
| Food manager certificationalways applies in 16 of 41 | 41 | $25 – $45 | $33.56 | 5 years |
| Building permitalways applies in 4 of 33 | 33 | $75 | $75 | per project (one-time) |
| Fire inspection permitalways applies in 10 of 33 | 33 | $45 – $90 | $59.82 | not stated in the published fee schedule |
| Food handler trainingalways applies in 24 of 26 | 26 | $10 – $16 | $15 | not stated in the published schedule |
| Onsite sewage system permitdepends on premises or set-up | 26 | $200 – $551 | $300 | per permit |
| Food establishment plan reviewalways applies in 3 of 21 | 21 | $50 – $425 | $273 | One-time, before opening a new facility or completing a remodel. |
| Occupational license taxalways applies in 14 of 20 | 20 | $8.50 – $16 | $16 | annual, October 1 to September 30; due October 1 and delinquent November 1, with a 15 percent penalty plus interest; a new business starting after April 1 pays half the year's amount |
| Farmers market permitdepends on premises or set-up | 19 | $50 – $100 | $100 | 1 year |
| Plan review feealways applies in 8 of 17 | 17 | $200 – $1,044 | $640 | one-time per project |
| Zoning permitalways applies in 5 of 15 | 15 | $30 – $270 | $75 | per application |
| Alcohol licensealways applies in 1 of 14 | 14 | $5 – $52 | $25 | collected with the TABC permit or license |
| Fire operational permitalways applies in 1 of 14 | 14 | $50 – $100 | $100 | construction permits per project; operational permits annual |
| Certificate of occupancyalways applies in 3 of 11 | 11 | $35 – $104.67 | $75 | not stated in the published fee schedule |
| Conditional use permitdepends on premises or set-up | 11 | $350 – $10,268.02 | $775 | per application |
| Zoning verification letterdepends on premises or set-up | 11 | $40 – $60 | $50 | not applicable |
| Commercial building permitalways applies in 2 of 9 | 9 | Set by formula | — | per project |
| Food handler permitalways applies in 7 of 9 | 9 | $10 | $10 | 3 years |
| Special event permitdepends on premises or set-up | 9 | $100 – $500 | $225 | per event |
| Commercial alteration permitalways applies in 5 of 8 | 8 | Set by formula | — | per permit, for the addition or alteration it covers |
171 further permit types are each held in fewer jurisdictions. They are listed, with their fees and sources, on the page for each jurisdiction below.
Do the requirements change between cities?
Substantially. 0 permit types are held in at least half of the 443 jurisdictions we cover for a food truck; the other 196 appear in fewer. The categories of permit are broadly consistent nationally, but the issuing agency, the fee, the renewal term and the filing order all change at city and county level. This is why a national checklist is a starting point rather than an answer.
General business license: 198 published fees, from $0 to $550,000. Half fall between $45 and $150, and the median is $100.
Mobile food vendor permit: 92 published fees, from $13 to $1,457.35. Half fall between $100 and $355, and the median is $200.
Temporary food establishment permit: 107 published fees, from $0 to $12,633. Half fall between $52 and $179, and the median is $80.56.
Food trucks by state
We publish a full permit list for a food truck in 392 jurisdictions across 50 states and DC. Each state page lists them all.
- Alabama 19
- Alaska 3
- Arizona 8
- Arkansas 3
- California 24
- Colorado 8
- Connecticut 3
- Delaware 5
- District of Columbia 1
- Florida 15
- Georgia 8
- Hawaii 4
- Idaho 6
- Illinois 9
- Indiana 8
- Iowa 8
- Kansas 6
- Kentucky 3
- Louisiana 2
- Maine 3
- Maryland 8
- Massachusetts 2
- Michigan 9
- Minnesota 9
- Mississippi 3
- Missouri 8
- Montana 3
- Nebraska 7
- Nevada 5
- New Hampshire 3
- New Jersey 9
- New Mexico 8
- New York 8
- North Carolina 7
- North Dakota 3
- Ohio 9
- Oklahoma 7
- Oregon 5
- Pennsylvania 9
- Rhode Island 3
- South Carolina 4
- South Dakota 3
- Tennessee 8
- Texas 66
- Utah 8
- Vermont 3
- Virginia 8
- Washington 8
- West Virginia 3
- Wisconsin 7
- Wyoming 3
Food trucks by city
- Guilford County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Forsyth County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Durham County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- King County, WAPublished permit listFull permit list
- Montgomery County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- Summit County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- Fort Worth, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Grand Prairie, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Mecklenburg County, NCPublished permit listFull permit list
- Arlington, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
- Hamilton County, OHPublished permit listFull permit list
- San Antonio, TXPublished permit listFull permit list
Showing the 12 jurisdictions where we publish the most. See all 392.
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
