Commercial Compliance Hub

15 permits · verified 2026-10-09

What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in Odessa?

In short

A veterinary clinic in Odessa, TX has 7 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 8 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. Odessa Fire Marshal's Office charges $150 per annual inspection for the annual fire inspection. 9 of the 15 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-10-09 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.

Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in Odessa

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Commercial Plumbing PermitCity of Odessa Inspection Division$50 base plus $0.05 per square foot for complete plumbing, or $0.025 for finish-out or rough-in onlynot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Licensed Facility Fire InspectionOdessa Fire Marshal's Office$50–$200 by facility typenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027only if it applies to youTexas Department of Licensing and RegulationNo feenot yet in effect — rules being written2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

Local permits that apply to every type of business in Odessa

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Fire Sprinkler Permitonly if it applies to youOdessa Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Odessa pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Fire Alarm Permitonly if it applies to youOdessa Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Odessa pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Annual Fire Inspectiononly if it applies to youOdessa Fire Marshal's Office$150 per annual inspectionannual2026-10-09
Commercial Building PermitCity of Odessa Inspection DivisionVaries — formula on the Odessa pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Commercial Remodel and Finish-Out PermitCity of Odessa Inspection DivisionVaries — formula on the Odessa pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Certificate of OccupancyCity of Odessa Inspection Division$100 change of use, owner or namethe fee schedule charges for a new certificate on a change of use, owner or business name2026-10-09
Commercial Electrical PermitCity of Odessa Inspection DivisionVaries — formula on the Odessa pagenot stated in the published fee schedule2026-10-09
Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to youCity of Odessa Inspection DivisionVaries — formula on the Odessa pageper inspection2026-10-09
False Alarm Feeonly if it applies to youOdessa Fire Marshal's OfficeVaries — formula on the Odessa pagecounted 1 January to 31 December2026-10-09

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

TX registrations that apply to every type of business

Permits required, with issuing agency, fee, renewal term and the date each record was last verified against its source
Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$300 one-time filingno expiry2026-08-20
Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to youTexas Secretary of State$25 one-time filingup to ten years, renewable2026-08-21
Texas Sales and Use Tax PermitTexas Comptroller of Public AccountsNo fee — there is no fee for this permitno expiry while actively engaged in business2026-08-21

Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.

How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in Odessa?

There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 15 records listed for a veterinary clinic in Odessa, TX, 7 apply to every business of this type and 8 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.

Of the 7 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $100.00. That is a floor, not a total. 9 of the 15 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:

Commercial Plumbing Permit: $50 base plus $0.05 per square foot for complete plumbing, or $0.025 for finish-out or rough-in only

Licensed Facility Fire Inspection: $50–$200 by facility type

The other 7 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the Odessa permits page and the TX state page.

Is Odessa expensive for a veterinary clinic?

Comparing like with like — only the permits charged as a single flat fee, since a valuation formula has no figure to rank — Odessa sits where the table below puts it against every other TX jurisdiction covered here that publishes the same permit.

Certificate of Occupancy: Odessa charges $100. Across 22 jurisdictions it runs from $50 in Waco to $425 in Universal City, with a median of $105. 5 charge less, 11 charge more and 5 charge exactly the same.

Read the spread rather than the rank. Certificate of Occupancy varies by $375 between the cheapest and dearest jurisdiction here, which is the sort of gap worth knowing before you sign a lease on one side of a city line rather than the other.

Which offices issue these permits in Odessa?

Permits for a veterinary clinic in Odessa, TX come from 5 separate offices: Odessa Fire Marshal's Office, City of Odessa Inspection Division, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.

What does a veterinary clinic need in Odessa that other businesses do not?

1 of the 3 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in Odessa: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027.

Commercial Plumbing Permit

$50 plus five cents a square foot for complete plumbing, halving to $0.025 where the work is finish-out or rough-in only. An irrigation permit, a swimming pool permit and a water well permit are $50 each. Electrical and mechanical follow the same $50-plus-per-square-foot pattern, with mechanical adding $10 per unit.

Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027

Texas does not currently register veterinary FACILITIES - only individual veterinarians are licensed. SB2155 gave the Board that authority for the first time, and rules are being written for a September 2027 effective date. There is nothing to file today, but a practice opening now should expect this obligation to arrive. Whether mobile and house-call practices fall in scope is still undecided.

Shared with other businesses in Odessa

The other 9 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in Odessa, TX; what each one involves is set out on the Odessa permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.

How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in Odessa?

The closest match is a childcare centre, which shares 1 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Commercial Plumbing Permit and Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027. A childcare centre needs Child Care Centre Inspection — Ector County and Child Care License, which a veterinary clinic does not.

Permits particular to each business type in Odessa, TX, compared with a veterinary clinic
BusinessIts own permitsShared with a veterinary clinicOnly a veterinary clinic needsOnly it needs
Childcare centres3122
Fitness studios3122
Salons and barbers3122
Auto repair shops4123
Coffee shops5124
Contractors and trades6125
Retail stores6125
Restaurants9128
Food trucks3033

Sources

Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the retail stores page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the Odessa permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.

  1. Master Permit Fee Schedule, 16 January 2018City of Odessa Inspection Division · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
  2. Texas Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersTexas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners / TDLR · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20

Related

Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.