12 permits · verified 2026-08-24
What permits do you need to open a veterinary clinic in San Antonio?
In short
A veterinary clinic in San Antonio, TX has 5 permits that apply to every business of this type, plus 7 more that depend on your premises, signage or how you are set up. City of San Antonio Development Services Department charges $200 per certificate for the commercial certificate of occupancy. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or formula rather than a flat fee. Verified 2026-08-24 against the issuing agencies’ published fee schedules.
Permits particular to a veterinary clinic in San Antonio
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| On-Premises Sign Permitonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Zoning Verification Letteronly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $350 per letter | one-time, per letter | 2026-08-24 |
| Conditional Use Authorisationonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $300 per application | one-time, per application | 2026-08-24 |
| Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027only if it applies to you | Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation | No fee | not yet in effect — rules being written | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
Local permits that apply to every type of business in San Antonio
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial Plan Review | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | a plan review extension costs 25% of the plan review fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Building Permit | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | an extension costs 50% of the permit, in addition to the permit cost | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Trade Permit — Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | Varies — formula on the San Antonio page | not stated in the published fee schedule | 2026-08-24 |
| Commercial Certificate of Occupancy | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $200 per certificate | does not expire, but an expired certificate carries a $500 fine plus the certificate fee | 2026-08-24 |
| Re-inspection Feeonly if it applies to you | City of San Antonio Development Services Department | $50 per re-inspection | per inspection | 2026-08-24 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
TX registrations that apply to every type of business
| Permit | Issuing agency | Fee | Renews | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Certificate of Formationonly if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $300 one-time filing | no expiry | 2026-08-20 |
| Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)only if it applies to you | Texas Secretary of State | $25 one-time filing | up to ten years, renewable | 2026-08-21 |
| Texas Sales and Use Tax Permit | Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts | No fee — there is no fee for this permit | no expiry while actively engaged in business | 2026-08-21 |
Fees shown as a range or formula are set that way by the issuing agency — we do not average them into a single number.
How much does it actually cost to permit a veterinary clinic in San Antonio?
There is no single figure, and any site quoting one is rounding away the part that matters. Of the 12 records listed for a veterinary clinic in San Antonio, TX, 5 apply to every business of this type and 7 are conditional. Adding every fee on the page together would overstate what most operators pay, because it would include permits they never need.
Of the 5 that always apply, 2 carry a flat fee, coming to $200.00. That is a floor, not a total. 4 of the 12 are charged as a range or a formula set by the issuing agency, and 1 has no fee published at all. The ones particular to this business that vary:
On-Premises Sign Permit: $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height
The other 3 variable fees belong to permits that apply to every type of business here; their formulas are set out on the San Antonio permits page and the TX state page.
Which offices issue these permits in San Antonio?
Permits for a veterinary clinic in San Antonio, TX come from 4 separate offices: City of San Antonio Development Services Department, Texas Secretary of State, Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. No single office issues them all, which is why an opening means filing in several places rather than one.
- City of San Antonio Development Services DepartmentIssues 8 permits on this page, including Commercial Plan Review, Commercial Building Permit, Commercial Trade Permit — Mechanical, Electrical and Plumbing(210) 207-1111www.sa.gov/Directory/Departments/DSD/Resources/Fees
- Texas Secretary of StateIssues 2 permits on this page: Certificate of Formation, Assumed Name Certificate (DBA)www.sos.state.tx.us
- Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationIssues 1 permit on this page: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027(800) 803-9202www.tdlr.texas.gov
- Texas Comptroller of Public AccountsIssues 1 permit on this page: Texas Sales and Use Tax Permitcomptroller.texas.gov/taxes/permit
What does a veterinary clinic need in San Antonio that other businesses do not?
1 of the 4 permits particular to a veterinary clinic here applies to no other business type we cover in San Antonio: Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027.
Zoning Verification Letter
$350 per letter — by far the most expensive zoning verification letter in this dataset, against $75 in Arlington and $56.25 in Fort Worth. A variance verification letter and a non-conforming use verification letter are $150 each, and an expedited verification letter is $250. If what you actually need is confirmation of a variance rather than the zoning itself, the cheaper letter may be the right one to ask for. Eligible for the city Fee Waiver Programme.
Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027
Texas does not currently register veterinary FACILITIES - only individual veterinarians are licensed. SB2155 gave the Board that authority for the first time, and rules are being written for a September 2027 effective date. There is nothing to file today, but a practice opening now should expect this obligation to arrive. Whether mobile and house-call practices fall in scope is still undecided.
Shared with other businesses in San Antonio
- On-Premises Sign Permit — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $10.80 up to 32 sq ft of sign area, then $10.80 plus $0.22 per sq ft above 32; plus a height fee of $2.00 per foot of height, not stated in the published fee schedule. Also required for retail stores, restaurants, coffee shops, salons and barbers, auto repair shops and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
- Conditional Use Authorisation — City of San Antonio Development Services Department, $300 per application, one-time, per application. Also required for restaurants, retail stores, auto repair shops, childcare centres and fitness studios; what it involves is set out on the auto repair shops page.
The other 5 local permits in the tables apply to every type of business in San Antonio, TX; what each one involves is set out on the San Antonio permits page. The 3 state-level registrations apply to every type of business across TX and are covered on the TX state page.
How does a veterinary clinic compare with other businesses in San Antonio?
The closest match is a auto repair shop, which shares 3 of these permits. A veterinary clinic also needs Veterinary Facility Registration - not in force until September 2027. A auto repair shop needs Non-Conforming Use Registration and Zoning Change, which a veterinary clinic does not.
| Business | Its own permits | Shared with a veterinary clinic | Only a veterinary clinic needs | Only it needs |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Auto repair shops | 5 | 3 | 1 | 2 |
| Salons and barbers | 3 | 2 | 2 | 1 |
| Childcare centres | 4 | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Fitness studios | 10 | 3 | 1 | 7 |
| Restaurants | 19 | 3 | 1 | 16 |
| Retail stores | 21 | 3 | 1 | 18 |
| Coffee shops | 7 | 1 | 3 | 6 |
| Contractors and trades | 9 | 0 | 4 | 9 |
| Food trucks | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 |
Sources
Every figure for the permits explained on this page was read from one of these government pages on the date shown. Sources for the permits shared with other businesses are listed with their explanations on the auto repair shops page. Sources for the permits that apply to every type of business are listed on the San Antonio permits page and the TX state page. Confirmed by Editorial Team.
- Development Fee Schedule, rev. October 2025City of San Antonio Development Services Department · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-24
- Texas Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersTexas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners / TDLR · primary source · retrieved 2026-08-20
Related
Commercial Compliance Hub publishes information, not legal advice. Requirements change — confirm anything you rely on with the issuing agency before you file.
